We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced, cramped in, too expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Verona

Bella Verona
Ranked #25 of 228 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, cramped in, too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Recently had dinner here. It was very cramped, out of the 4 dinners we had, 3 were disappointing , (veal dishes) 1 was just OK, ( a shrimp dinner) considering the 22 dollar price tag. They were supposed to be the nightly specials which in most places you can count on being good. Overpriced appetizers and stale hard bread which you would not expect from what is supposed to be an outstanding Italian restaurant. Overall 2 out of a 10. Too many other good places in Salem to eat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    84
    33
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We didn't have reservations on a Saturday and we were seated anyway it was a bit empty about 5pm which was perfect for us. The waiter was very informative and served us well. At first we were hesitant when we walked in and he looked at his watch before he even agreed to seat us there was no one except one other couple eating so that turned me off a bit in the beginning but then he seated us and the service was good the food was delicious true Italian cuisine. The spicy tomato sauce was delicious with Penne and NY strip steak. Everything we ordered was delicious. Would eat here everytime I come to Salem!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvhauntedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

very pleasantly surprised to taste fresh shrimps and scallops

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best Salem has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Consistently excellent food. Very pleasant and accomodating staff. My husband and I always ask for a ceasar salad (not on the menu) and there is never a problem. I am addicted to the bolognese and my husband always has a fish dish. We have tried the steak and a couple of chicken dishes - again always excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tables are just too close.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We went for a quiet Sunday anniversary dinner. The tables for two were so close that it was uncomfortable and awkward. We wanted to talk to each other and it felt rude not to talk to the couple that were literally at our table. While the food was good, I don't think we'll be back. Jamming diners into a restaurant shows no respect by the proprietor for his customers.

Helpful?
Thank BBGulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Verona also viewed

 

Been to Bella Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing