We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average hotel, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel is clean, the location is fine and the people are ok. Here's why I don't think it deserves a special rating:
1) The air conditioner in our room (429) was LOUD! and it didn't cool the room very well. We had to leave it on high fan full cool to be able to get the room cool enough (in October) cool enough to sleep in. I think this is a common issue in the hotel as our friends in the room below us had the same complaint. Barely acceptable for a cheap hotel but for a premium hotel this was completely unacceptable.
2) The "Suites" are not suites in my view. They are slightly (only slightly) larger than normal hotel rooms with a fridge and Keurig. One TV, 1 bed, 1 desk, 1 chair. That's fine for a basic hotel room but it's not a suite.
3) It's nothing special from the window views or the lobby or the pool etc. For a place with "Waterfront" in its name I would have expected to see water from somewhere, right? I guess that's because it's not realy on the water. It's behind a bunch of condos with a view of the back of some of them and a parking lot/garage on the other side.
4) The coffee selection is a keurig which worked fine. I unfortunately relied on another review that said that there was a decent selection of coffees to choose from. There are 2 breakfast blend regular coffees, a decaf and a tea. Perhaps they changed since that review, but if you decide to stay here I would recommend bringing your own K-cups, half and half and sweeteners if you use them.
5) The water pressure is the shower is workable but not very strong. It's a disappointing shower experience but it will work.

On the positive side, it was very clean and would probably have been quiet if the A/C didn't roar and clatter all night long. The selection of soaps, etc. was very nice, towels and linens were fine. I wouldn't return, though. I'll be beack to Salem often but plan to try some of the other places instead.

Room Tip: Bring your own K-cups and supplies, bring ear plugs if noisy A/C's bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

This place is beautiful and in walking distance to the whole town of Salem. It has friendly staff but a tad expensive I would have to say. Prolly worth it cause it so close to everything. I would recommend staying here

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The girls and I did our annual fall weekend. We stayed here from Saturday to Monday. It was the start of Halloween season. Crowded but not terrible. The place was immaculate and beautifully decorated. People at the front desk were polite and helpful.
The location could not have been more perfect. You could walk to everything once you're parked your car. Housecleaning wasn't the greatest. The beds were made and the towels were replaced but the extra blankets were put on the bottom of the bed not even folded. Pub downstairs was great for breakfast and in the evening we sat outside at fire pits and had drinks and appetizers? if you're looking for a really nice place to stay I suggest you make a reservation here!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank gneebeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed in Salem for 3 nights. This hotel was very clean, had a restaurant/bar attached
Very conveniently located for walking and dining
No free breakfast but there are other places nearby (Reds Sandwich Shop)
The only issue we had was that at the end of each day we would go to our room after walking all day and our door card wouldn't work
This meant a trip to the desk to have new cards made. The 1st time, the clerk said, oh are you staying longer?
Inconvenient and annoying
Hotel was quiet, but housekeeping don't replenish our towels so we had to call down for more
I would stay again, but hope the front desk gets their act together

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel. Not really on the waterfront but close enough. Staff average. Not overly friendly but not rude. Walking distance to everything. Best thing here was their restaurant. Awesome breakfast and awesome staff. Food was great and well priced. Staff not in a hurry to get you out.
Hotel also offered great bathroom amenities including bath salts which was a nice touch. Would stay here again if visiting Salem

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KimFfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.4 km away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
5.6 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: RM572 - RM1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing