We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
269
184
69
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
184
69
21
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationvalet parkingfront deskthe river walkfull kitchenwaffleswithin walking distancethe breakfast areatwo blocksmajestic theaterfree breakfastper nightcouple blockssmall roomrivercenter mallvalet serviceking room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Very bad customer service at the front desk, and way over priced for the ground floor room they gave me, right on the street! I had to move to another hotel which was better quality and cheaper!! This place sucks.

Room Tip: ask for high floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank your for your review of the hotel. The hotel does its best to meet every guests request unfortunately, there was no request noted on your reservation hence placing you in a room that was available.

In the future it may be beneficial to place your requests on file so that the hotel is aware and can accommodate when they can.

Again, thanks for the review. We appreciate the time you took to write it.

Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at this brand hotel before in other towns, but we had never stayed at this location before. We have stayed at many downtown San Antonio hotels before, so we were looking for a change.

The price wasn’t bad, so we gave it a try. We were sorely disappointed with our room and the overall presentation of the hotel. It is out dated, and the rooms look old and dirty. And the restroom lacked basic cleanliness. The sink was missing a strainer (which allowed my wife to lose a ring), the shower drain had a loose strainer, and there was blood on one of the pillows.

I am very particular about my vehicle and didn’t like that the hotel did not have a designated parking garage. They explained that the lot was secure, but it was a few blocks from the hotel. Valet parking was 30 bucks and there was almost no option regarding that. Parking in downtown San Antonio is a nightmare, so kind of stuck between a rock and a hard place in that aspect.

Overall, I probably wouldn’t stay there again, although Denise at the front desk was very understanding of our complaints and situation. She compensated us fairly and promised to speak to management about our concerns. It’s always good to see them hear you out and say they will attempt to rectify the problems you bring to them.

Overall, not the worst hotel, but I wouldn’t stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Rocco2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. This is not standard of the product nor service we provide and I'm sorry we fell short.

Again, thank you for uour feedback. We will work towards making necessary changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I have stayed here twice with coworkers. The first time (November) we had an ok stay until they could not get our checkout correct. After calls for a month, I finally ate the difference in what my school paid and what they incorrectly billed after we checked in late in the night and the clerk did not know how to take a school check and put the bill on my credit card.

I decided to go ahead and give them another chance for our 3 night stay in February, because the location was convenient and they were affordable. Check in was a breeze. That ended our good experience. 2 of the 3 mornings they were out of breakfast with a line out the door. One night 4 of our 6 rooms had air conditioning issues (78 degrees in the room), 2 of which never got fixed that evening. Yes, complaints were made.... no offer to move them, bring in a fan....nothing. One room had a constantly running toilet. All had dirty toilets and showers with mold growing in spots. Most days the housekeeping left at least one full trash can, and made up the bed to a barely passable state.
The main, and biggest issue was a theft of over $1,000 in cash from one room. That suitcase was left open and unzipped, as were two jackets, and two other bags by the thief, not even hiding the fact that everything had been gone through. It was obvious as soon as we walked in. The manager had the door reader scanned, and only the maid, who was still on the floor had been in. They searched her with the police and didn't find it on her person. There are COUNTLESS places to hide money in a hotel!! The police suggested casing the room to see if she had hid it in there to get later. The manager never stopped defending her employee, saying she had no record, and no complaints. SHE WAS THE ONLY ONE WHO HAD BEEN IN THE ROOM. The housekeeper stayed at work and was back the next morning. How is this acceptable?
Again, no offer of restitution was offered. No discount on our stay, no refund. Absolutely nothing.
If the location and price draw you in, please don't leave anything of value in your room. They will do nothing to make it right. The manager, Denise, is just as guilty as the maid as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: Stay Away. They will rob you blind.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback. The AC issue in the hotel was throughout the entire hotel and our guests were notified unless they were not on property. Had the hotel moved you to another room the problem would have still existed. If the AC goes down at your house, this is something that is unforeseen and must be fixed, this works the same in a hotel. The AC company was out to fix the issue and within 2 hours the AC was back on in the hotel.
To respond to the alleged theft issue. The hotel cannot compensate every guest who walks in stating cash was stolen from their room. This would then be an all too common practice. If you can prove the room attendant stole the alleged cash then the hotel would take action however, there was no proof that the room attendant took any cash nor that the money ever existed. In fact, the police also questioned the room attendant and came to the conclusion that she cannot be held responsible.
I will leave this response with this, in the future the hotel does have safes. Most if not all hotels have safes that you are able to store valuables in.
I apologize that you feel this way but this hotel does not have an issue with theft.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

While this hotel has an amazingly fantastic location, being within a couple blocks of the Majestic Theater, Riverwalk, several fun bakeries, coffee shops, & bars. It is a fairly dated hotel that is showing it's age. The front staff was friendly & professional. Valet parking is required, lack of adequate parking in middle of downtown. With the minimalist breakfast and the lack of staff to keep up with refilling coffee & food, it wasn't my best stay at a TownPlace Suites. Although we didn't use the full kitchen, it was nice to have available as an option, and was excited for a regular 10-cup coffee pot, until I realized there were no filters!

Room Tip: Stay higher up to avoid street noise, esp during Mardi Gras
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bc_clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are sorry to hear about the issues that you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This hotel is a block from Alamo and Mall, also block from Riverwalk and easy to get to anywhere downtown. Room was adequate as was breakfast. I could hear water running from room above but that was really only negative about the room. Parking is quite expensive. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for 4th or 5th floor
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel it is appreciated.

We hope that when you are back in San Antonio you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews