We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An welcome oasis from the Riverwalk”

Las Canarias Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 4,713 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped here for a drink before having dinner at another place on the Riverwalk and we were delighted. After walking over to the other restaurant and finding it crowded and noisy, we returned to the quiet, uncrowded atmosphere of Las Canarias for a wonderful meal. Ulysses at the bar made great drinks, Chris soothed us with classical guitar pieces, and Mark the manager was very generous with his time, answering all our questions about the city and the food. We sat inside because of the heat, but the outdoor tables are above the walkway and looked very pleasant. We will certainly return here on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Marie M, Manager at Las Canarias Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Newton 72,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent to Las Canarias.
We take great pride in the excellent food and services that we provide all of our guests. Our team of caring associates is dedicated to providing you with the highest levels of service excellence so that your experience is memorable.
Thank you for visiting Las Canarias we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Rose Marie Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only ate breakfast here but it was delicious. They make omelettes as part of the breakfast buffet. It was all good. The fresh fruit was truly great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Marie M, Manager at Las Canarias Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tim M,

Thank you for responding to the Trip Advisor survey regarding your visit to Las Canarias restaurant.
I will share your gracious comments with the Food and Beverage team, as they are committed to service excellence.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Rose Marie Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

My wife planned this romantic evening while I attended a seminar. And I was completely amazed at the ambiance of this restaurant.
As an appetizer we shared the spicy shrimp dish which was delicious. My wife enjoyed the chicken pot pie which was quite large. We shared the Brussel sprouts which were floating in butter. I enjoyed the pork shoulder with sausage which was prepared in a very tasty sauce.
Our wait staff was super friendly and kept us informed.
This is another must place to dine when in San Antonio.

1  Thank gramps3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Marie M, Manager at Las Canarias Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear gramps3421

Thank you for responding to the Trip Advisor survey regarding your visit to Las Canarias.
We are very grateful the your wife chose our restaurant to make beautiful memories during your visit to San Antonio and Las Canarias.
Our staff takes great pride in the excellent food and services that they provide all of our guests. Our team of caring associates is dedicated to providing you with the highest levels of service excellence so that your experience is one for the memory books.
We look forward to your next visit to San Antonio and Las Canarias.
Warmest regards,
Rose Marie Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

only speaking about their sunday buffet but i would go every sunday for the $42 bucks. mimosa included with the meal. if you want to waste your appetite on the excellent salads go ahead but the prime rib cuts, the shrimp, crab, oysters, bacon, eggs benedict, freshes fruit i have seen at a buffet and a dessert bar to die for. if you every wanted to try the bananas foster then go to this brunch. we had to hit it twice it was so good. 5 stars and a winner food excursion on our trip. located in the Omni Hotel if you forget the restaurant name.
if the other meals are up to this level this place is a home run!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Marie M, Manager at Las Canarias Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Kathleen S,

Thank you for responding to the Trip Advisor survey regarding your visit to Las Canarias.
The staff appreciates the gracious comments regarding your visit; they take great pride in the excellent food and services that they provide all of our guests. Our team of caring associates is dedicated to providing you with the highest levels of service excellence so that your experience is memorable.
Thank you for visiting Las Canarias we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Rose Marie Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Went here on Saturday for the buffet and then on Sunday for the brunch. The food was delicious and the service great. You get up to 3 Mimosas for Brunch included in the price along with a seafood option for the brunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Marie M, Manager at Las Canarias Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear jordansbulls,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are truly honored that you have chosen Las Canarias for your dining pleasure.
We take great pride in the excellent food and services that we provide all of our guests. Our team of caring associates is dedicated to providing you with the highest levels of service excellence so that your experience is memorable.
Thank you for visitingLas Canarias we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Rose Marie Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing