We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Delicious and Great Service!”
Review of Cappy's Restaurant

Cappy's Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 25/07
20:00
Ranked #8 of 4,843 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Uptown Broadway
Cross street: Mary D
Transit: VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.
Description: This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Kobe beef burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chip or potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, fire-roasted prime rib, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, and top entree salads, chicken and seafood dishes. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

We were celebrating an anniversary and birthdays at Cappy's. It was the first time sitting upstairs. We had a really nice time. We had the shrimp, the chicken, the mussels and the fish special. All were very good and perfectly prepared. We celebrated with several desserts: carrot cake, warm Texas Sheet Cake with ice cream, and the sticky pudding with ice cream. Loved the Texas Sheet Cake. The sticky pudding was very tasty. While the carrot cake was good, I wished it weren't so cold. The server recommended an apertif pairing with dessert which was spot on. We had the tawny port; an excellent choice! Will definitely go back!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

great food and service! you cannot go wrong! everything is delicious and the kind staff makes it a wonderful experience. Special thanks to our seever Haley from Colorado! She was phenomenal!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 425marthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

We were in San Antonio for a week, playing the tourist. Tried many different restaurants. This was by far our best experience. Food quality,and service, were superior. Glad we came! Hot food was hot,with hgih quality ingredients, and sticky toffee pudding melted in your mouth.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MollyGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021

It was my birthday and my boyfriend's as well since we have our birthdays around the same time in April, one after the other. We went to Cappy's from my researching places to go in San Antonio and it was our first time. I reserved a table on OpenTable and check in and seating was fast and easy. We had Taylor who took great care of us, fantastic and on top of everything we needed. He had the special lamb chops with Tikki Masala, I had the prime rib. Both were delicious, bread was hot and fresh, and then dessert was fantastic with him getting the sticky pudding (it's their specialty) and I got the creme brulee. Both were great, sticky pudding I'll definitely be back to try and get next time. We got old fashioned drinks which were strong and well done, just everything was delicious, we were well taken care of, we'll be back. Taylor did an amazing job waiting on us and I'd recommend her for sure!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geekyu2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2021

My husband and I stopped in during our recent visit to San Antonio and were not disappointed. We ordered off of the brunch menu. My husband got one of the breakfast dishes and said it was delicious. My husband is not one to leave things on his plate, but even he couldn't finish it all. I had the Mustang Chicken, and it is one of the best things I have ever eaten. The chicken was excellent and the sauce they put on top of it was to die for. Even better was the fact that it wasn't just a little drizzle of it, but a ladle full. It was the perfect compliment to the chicken, and I was even dipping the vegetables in it. I still think of this meal several weeks later. If we ever find ourselves in the area again, you better believe I'll be finding my way back.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Meghin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.