We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is utter perfection!”

San Juan Island Cheese
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: CLOSED FOR THE SEASON! Welcome to San Juan Island Cheese. We are your local cheese counter and lunch bistro with an ideal location across from the Brickworks Farmer's Market and within walking distance to the ferry. Sit outside in our patio oasis and enjoy a glass of wine, beer, cider or shrub with our ever changing cheese and meat boards. Here for lunch? Try one of our house made quiches, salads, daily soup made with seasonal ingredients or panini for lunch! Room for dessert? We offer cheesecake and chocolate cheese truffles, just to name a few. San Juan Island Cheese showcases artisan cheese, beers, and wines from the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Explore and take home amazing cheeses custom cut and wrapped by knowledgeable and passionate mongers for your enjoyment.
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We have eaten here several times, and enjoyed a lovely lunch again yesterday. They make their own in-house bread which melts in your mouth. The wine, the cheese, the desserts, the soup...everything is an absolute "10". Great service, and a warm and cozy atmosphere top it off. Just GO.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alohagirl1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D, Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks for sharing!
We're happy to hear that you keep coming back for more!
Thank you for the glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Local cheeses and eatery. We got the Manchego, 2 types of Gouda, Humbolt Fog. Deliscious on olive bread with apples.
Also got Marcona olives and Fennell salami.

1  Thank opie1Poulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D, Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks for writing a review!

We agree those are some very delicious cheeses from our cheese case.

Our cheese counter offers artisan cheeses from the Pacific NW and across the globe, as well as cheese plate accoutrements: almonds, olives, salami, house-made crackers & baguettes...

We hope you return to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We hadn't been here in a while and had another delightful lunch at "San Juan Island Cheese" today.. The food and wine is still superb and the service is top notch. We love the cheese plates and how they tell you what all the different cheeses are. The presentation is a work of art. The sandwiches and soup is amazing, and don't get me started on the "apple pie cheesecake" - it was DIVINE. A lunch so lovely it felt like a celebration. I highly recommend this place. YUM.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alohagirl1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review!
We strive to create a memorable experience for all of our guests.
We're delighted that you returned to enjoy another special lunch with us.

Our apple pie cheesecake is a real winner. Glad you enjoyed it!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We noticed this outpost when dining across the street and decided to investigate the next day. We ordered sandwiches to take on a whale watch and had an unusual request, "could you cut them in four pieces". Done, and with a smile! Each sandwich combination was so interesting each one of us wanted a taste. their cheese selection is excellent and word has it that their quiche is to die for. Check them out when in Friday Harbor.

1  Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D, Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks for sharing!
We are so glad you found us!

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your picnic on the whale watch tour.
We are always happy to make any of our lunch items, cheese & meat boards, or small plates "to-go".

We hope you return soon to try one of our signature quiches!

Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped in to pick up some supplies for a picnic lunch. The gentleman who greeted us was great. We told him what we were looking at doing and he made several great food suggestions. We decided on 2 of their cheese plates and he suggested a Reisling to go with it. He also loaned us 2 wine glasses for our picnic. I asked him for his idea on where to enjoy our picnic lunch, he suggested Lime Kiln park because it's beautiful with picnic tables and there has been killer whale sittings. Our boxes of food had, grapes, crackers, bread, salami and different cheeses. The blue cheeses were excellent. The bottom line is everything was superb, we can't wait to return. Thanks

1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Island Cheese also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing