We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and educational”

El Rancho de las Golondrinas
Ranked #18 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This living history museum, located just south of Santa Fe, recreates 18th-century ranch life. Guides, dressed in period clothing, show how people lived in early New Mexico.
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Wonderful place, I learned a lot about life in New Mexico during the 1800's. The kids loved it, too.

Thank Anastasia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your comments.

We are also pleased to learn that you and your children loved El Rancho de las Golondrinas. Every day we have activities that can be enjoyed by everyone, the young and the young at heart! All of our festivals are family friendly and provide an atmosphere where people of all ages can learn and be entertained at the same time. Our core group of costumed interpreters love talking with visitors and imparting their knowledge of northern New Mexico history from the 1700s through the 1900s.

Thanks again for visiting and we hope that you will come by the Ranch again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife and I recently attended this festival at Las Golondrinas, and it was a delight all around. The Ranch's excellent and friendly staff, the guest speakers --who discussed ancient New Mexican foodways, the history of chocolate, and crop cultivation techniques,among other subjects; the great New Mexican food: chile, chicharrones, carne adobada, panocha, all superb. Live local music, and all in a storybook setting. Just walking around the Ranch itself is reason enough to go, but this food festival made it particularly enjoyable. Highly recommended for all ages. This would be a great family outing for Santa Fe vacationers. Check out their website golondrinas.org.

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your comments!

This was the first time we put on the Panza Llena festival, though we have wanted to do so for several years. We are so pleased to learn that our visitors, and there were 951 of them, enjoyed the festival! We thought it was a grand turnout for a first time festival, and we hope to make year's Panza Llena even bigger and better with more restaurants participating in the posole smack down and more vendors.

Thanks again for visiting and we hope you will come back soon and see us all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

A wonderful "touching hands with the past" experience with docents in period costumes talking and demonstrating life and survival skills of early New Mexico. When we attended they had a food festival with a posole contest. It was a good time.

Thank 2937redrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor and your kind comments. We sincerely appreciate them.

This was the first time we have put on the Panza Llena food festival and it is so good to hear comments back that folks enjoyed it -- particularly the posole smack down contest. Next year, we hope to have more restaurants participate in the contest to make it bigger and better! We had 951 visitors at Panza Llena which we felt was a great turn out for a first time festival. Thank YOU for attending!

Our costumed interpreters do such a fabulous job, letting our visitors know the history of our 200+ acre Ranch and the 34 historic buildings situated on the grounds. We just couldn't exist without them!

We hope to see you again soon at El Ranch de las Golondrinas, maybe for another one of our great festivals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

El Rancho de las Golondrinas (Swallows) is south of Santa Fe. Dating from the early 1700s, the ranch was an important stopping point along El Camino Real from Mexico City. It's now a living history museum consisting of 33 historic buildings on 200 acres. On the day of this fiesta - Panza Llena, Corazon Contento - there were docents and guides everywhere to tell you how the people lived back then. ❤️ New Mexico!

Thank zeke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed Panza Llena!

This was our first season to offer the Panza Llena, Corazón Contento (full belly, happy heart) festival. We were so pleased that 951 visitors came out to participate in this, our first ever food festival. We have had all positive comments on the festival, so we hope to make it even bigger and better next season! And who doesn't like food and music! It was the perfect pairing!

Our costumed interpreters do so enjoy interacting with our visitors. Your review sounds like you met many of them around the property.

Thanks again for coming out and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Visited during their summer festival.Very well-done! Great way to get a sense of the area's history; much more interesting than going through a museum.

Thank Washingtondrysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate the 5 star rating!

Yes, our summer festival season which runs from June to October, is a great way to learn about northern New Mexico history while enjoying a festival atmosphere. We try to have something for everyone at each festival -- for the young and the young at heart -- that is interesting, educational, entertaining and enlightening. I am so pleased to hear that it all came together for you during your visit.

Please come back and visit us again soon. We have five more festivals scheduled for this season, including the local's favorite, The Harvest Festival, September 30 and October 1!

Thanks again for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rancho de las Golondrinas also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho de las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing