We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a very slow start, it ended up being a very good and satisfying experience. ”
Review of Amaya Restaurant

Amaya Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amaya Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 595 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Looking to go out to dinner on New Year’s Eve, and seeking a reservation just the day before, we only had a few choices in our hometown. Amaya could take us on short notice at a desired time, so we were grateful. When we arrived, they didn’t see a reservation for us. After checking Open Table, they saw that we did have a reservation. We were relieved. When they offered us an table in a remote room off the main dining area, we requested another table that was in a far superior location in the main dining room. They said it wasn’t available to us, as a family had been waiting for it for 45 minutes. When we reminded the host that we had a reservation, he, after some hesitation, did seat us in the desired table. 2 small victories under our belts. After being at the table for about 15 minutes a server finally showed up to take our drink order. Given that things weren’t going too smoothly and we had plenty of time to consider the menu and drink/wine list, we decided to order drinks and dinner. About 30 minutes after we ordered, our first courses arrived. This was after our server updated us 3 times to tell us that the bartender was backed up and she wasn’t sure when our drinks would be brought to our table. After waiting for another 5-10 minutes, our drinks arrived. Finally, things began to move. Our first courses were very good. Our entrees arrived next, and they were very good to excellent. We shared two desserts, and they also were excellent. Our server was very pleasant and seemed to find her rhythm after our drinks arrived. Our first drinks were graciously comped, which was a nice and appreciated gesture. New Years Eve can be a difficult night to dine out, so our expectations were pretty moderate. The first 45 minutes at Amaya caused us to wonder if we had made a mistake being there on that night. However, after a rocky start, it was actually a very good meal and experience. It wasn’t perfect, but it was New Year’s Eve perfect, and that was easily good enough. We’ll return on a less busy night, and enjoy the excellent food.

8  Thank NMLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you so much for your patience and understanding!! It was indeed a little too busy from our standpoint, as well, but I am glad to know that you will return now that everything has "calmed down".

My apologies for the slow service.

Wishing you and your family a very happy and healthy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We visited on New Year’s Day, in part because many restaurants were closed. We were able to reserve through Open Table, which was great. Amaya totally blew me away! The service was incredible; we asked to split a starter and an entree, and they came to us split on separate plates, plated with all the care you could imagine. All of the staff was attentive and cheerful—we never wanted for water, wine, or bread. And the food was excellent—squash bisque, duck quesadillas, and venison were cooked and seasoned perfectly. Kudos to everyone!

9  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com with your kind review and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed our Amaya Restaurant. Please come back again, soon!

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Food and service were pretty average on the whole. It was New Years Eve and very busy so perhaps that was why it seemed a bit disorganized. The staff was friendly. The green chile chicken enchiladas were very good. The steak was fair. Overall a good but not great experience.

Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Many thanks for dining with us and apologies that we were perhaps not up to our usual standards.

Wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

I have written elsewhere about a very bad experience trying to have a simple dinner for two at another luxury hotel we were staying at near the Plaza. Leaving without being seated, we walked the few blocks to Amaya, in the Hotel Santa Fe. Passing through the rather large and comfortable Bar area, we were seated immediately in the Amaya Restaurant. We made a Tapas menu selection after ordering a light Prosecco to settle us in. From then on, we just had a wonderful, intimate, and calm experience. Our server Beth was available with impeccable timing to check on us, offer menu advice, and make the experience well worth the extra few steps from our Hotel. Our "small plate" portions were more than generous, and I'm not sure how much the regular entree servings were, but I'm certain we would not have been able to finish them.
The wine selection, light dessert menu, and ambiance were perfect.
If you are interested in a low-stress, calm and reflective evening dinner, this restaurant should be a serious contender. Be advised, the portions appear very generous, but so is the hospitality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Huhwhatduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com with your kind review and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed our Amaya Restaurant and we have passed your comments on to Beth. Please come back again, soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Our party of five enjoyed a festive and delicious Christmas brunch/dinner seated in the lovely glassed-in patio. Ambience and service were great. Buffet food was delicious, with many tempting choices. I ate mostly seafood--perfectly cooked shrimp, oysters on the half-shell and baked salmon. With the medley of roasted vegetables and selections of salads, I had a scrumptious meal and managed to stay within Weight Watchers points--almost. The small crème brulee was too good to pass up!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com with your kind review and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed our Christmas buffet. Please come back again, soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing