We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrett's Desert Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Inn of the Five Graces(Santa Fe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
54
141
119
65
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
141
119
65
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta fe biteparking feedressing arealoretto chapelexcellent locationart galleriesdowntown arearoom was clean and comfortableeasy walkplazafixturesratescanyongovernors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little bit older property, nothing fancy, but the room was huge with a separate vanity area. The location was easily walkable to downtown locations, but quiet and set back from the traffic. A gem in the heart of the city. Reasonably priced, especially given the proximity to shopping, museums and local attractions. Would highly recommend this Inn if you are looking for value and accessible location.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LisaKCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the price was maybe half what other hotels in the area, I only recommend this hotel if you are aware of the age and upkeep of the property. Room was definitely dated and everything felt old and dirty. Not enough electrical outlets. But, parking was only $8.00 a day which is a bargain. Easy walk to central Santa Fe and easy access.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room with a connecting door to another room. Noise level was very, very high from the other room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We've stayed many times at Garrett's Desert Inn and always enjoy the stay. Its close to the Plaza, it is quiet, the rooms are large, and I love the room layout with the dressing room and bathroom separated from the main bedroom. And, even better, its next to "Santa Fe Bite" so we can have our "Green Chili Cheeseburger" too! Yes, the rooms are a little older, but they're very functional and I love staying here. And, they allow dogs with a $10 pet fee.

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This was our second year for stopping at this location on our way from Colorado Springs, Colorado to an annual "family reunion" in Mesa, Arizona. We had a dual, queen bed room. We stayed here 2 nights.

This year they were no longer under construction, which was nice. We didn't have to "fight" with the construction crews for parking.

My husband did notice that when they did the new HVAC ( heating and Air Conditioning ) system; they left all of the old vents in place, covering many with sheet rock "patches". This caused areas in the ceiling and one wall to look "dirty" because they still had air leaks. This was definitely a reason for the "average" cleanliness rating. If the hotel had bothered to invest the proper repairing of this system, I am sure the room would be much cleaner.

The first night we slept on the closest to the window because it was in front of the tv. I know an odd reason to pick that bed. It was the worse night's sleep I have ever had. I swear a camping mat on a rocky base would have been more comfortable.

The second night we slept in the other bed, this is not something we normally do. However, we couldn't afford another night of crappy sleep. Amazingly this bed was way more comfortable. It seems it may have been a newer bed. Obviously in their upgrades they only upgraded one bed in this particular room.

The bed coverings were clean and appeared to be new over last year. The towels were no longer thread bear.

The bathroom fixtures were still dated. I guess if it wasn't broke, they didn't replace it.

All and All this hotel was much improved over last year's stay. It is definitely a good place to stay on the Plaza IF you are traveling on a budget and don't feel the desire to spend $150 + a night to do so... If we travel through Santa Fe again, we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Walking Distance to the Plaza
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sew_Beckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Perfect location in the heart of Old Town Sante Fe. Hotel is walking distance to everything. Rooms were dated but clean, staff were friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant on site with good food and service. No need to drive, park the car and walk the entire Old Town from there. There is an outdoor pool though we didn't have enough time to use it. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017
5  Thank travelgal084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marzex, Public Relations Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you come back and see us, next time you’re in Santa Fe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews