We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mens getaway”
other traveller has booked this property
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house) Large jetted hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
95 reviews
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house)
Large jetted hot tub
Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Tournament size pool table in game room
Beautiful king master bedroom with armoire & HDTV
Full kitchen including dishwasher
Tournament size ping pong table
Huge campfire pit
2nd bedroom with queen and twin beds (Please note, the TV has been removed from this room)
3rd bedroom with queen and twin bunks (Please note, the TV has been removed from this room)
Washer and Dryer
2 large canoes w/ oars and life jackets
Outdoor grill
Unlimited firewood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

silviodj6...
Madison, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Mens getaway”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Overal was a great time...the house/cabin was clean and had plenty of space. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook we pretty much made every meal there. The river was maybe 150-200yards away so not too bad. We made great use of the boats available and pool table in the rec room. Only two complaints including the grill not cooking very well only two areas really cooked and the rec room was ungodly hot the portable ac unit was not nearly efficient enough to cool the area so we just opened the garage door. That did not stop us from having a blast! Overall highly recommend and would stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thanks for the review. In the super hot days of summer (90+) it can be hot in the garage area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlramsc
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect space and activities for four Adult Seblings Looking to spend time with each other”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house was perfect for us four adult siblings who like to get together once a year for a three night visit. The house was simple, spacious,clean, every kitchen gadget and plenty to do right there. We love that we didn't feel like we would go broke if we broke something. We have stayed in places that we tip toed around. The space inside was perfect now that we are Seniors, we chose not to do outside activities and so we played pool, ping pong and card games. We loved taking LONG peaceful walks twice a day in the neighborhood. We spent most of our time out on the deck (weather was beautiful:) and my Sister spent much time in the hot tub. We would like to ask the owners to put an umbrella on the back porch so we could get out of the sun. We come up to Shenandoah every year and it seems we will be spending more time at the house than out hiking now days, so the umbrella would make staying outside much more pleasant. All in all, we will definetly look at renting this place again for next year. I loved the comfortable King Bed I shared with my Sister even though I still found her sideways at the bottom in the morning and never even woke up all night:) GREAT PLACE TO STAY FOR SPACE, LOCATION and THINGS TO DO RIGHT AT HOME WHILE YOU VISIT!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Yangon Region, Myanmar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet weekend”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Bear Meadows is very private and the walk down to the river is quite lovely. My dog and I spent a quiet weekend away so I could catch up on some writing. Heard in the neighborhood that it wasn't a great idea to walk up the road as some neighbors had some aggressive dogs that roam around so that was kind of a bummer. We walked the other way instead. The hot tub on the cold starry nights was really lovely. The other lack of lights is amazing and you can see so many stars in the sky. Otherwise we enjoyed sitting inside the sun-filled cabin during the day and in front of the fireplace at night.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks for coming out, Sarah. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedjphen...
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“Would like to have rated it higher but lack of communication on pricing and missing booking time were drawbacks.”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife and I booked for a quiet getaway in the foothills of the Blue Ridge and for that the stay was all we could have asked for. Hot tub, firepit, wireless internet... these amenities were what was to be expected with no complaints, actually raves for these. On property alone we would have rated "very good" to "excellent".

Our only complaint about the property itself is that the shower heads could be updated. With hard water (as to be expected in the mountains) the shower head and pressure were extremely difficult to get soap cleaned off. We stopped filling the soaker tub after 10 minutes produced a very small amount of water.

Our biggest issue came first in the pricing. With trip advisor, VRBO and AirBNB all having the property listed, we expected the booking price to be similar or the same, however, since I booked with AirBnB first, I noticed I paid more than $80 a night more than avertised on the Shenandoah rentals site. When I emailed this question immediately following booking (which is when the internet site was offered to compare pricing) to ask if I should cancel with AirBnb to book directly, no response.

To add to this frustration, the cabin is in poor cell and internet reception so I didn't receive an email asking for a renter agreement until arriving at the cabin and then driving to a signal location to figure out why we hadn't received lockbox code yet. I received a call from a pleasant staffer who handled that relatively quickly but after over paying it was another frustrating incident.

We paid a cleaning fee but were still asked to clean the rental of dishes and to take our trash with us which we did. Still, after the cost, these were just added frustrations.

I would recommend the property, but check all options on booking to pay fairly and suggest an update to the shower heads/water pressure in them.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
We had a number of problems with this individual who goes by "Scuba". He disregarded a number of houses rules, leaving 1.5 hours late while our cleaning staff wait, even though it clearly states on Airbnb and in signs all over the house that check-out is 11am. He damaged an expensive stainless steel cooking pan (pics attached). We worked on it a long time but couldn't fix it. He also lost or took 2 pool cues. This is a standard item we count on our post-booking checklist and 2 were gone. Pool cues are not something we would simply "not be able to find" - they are large and obvious items. He also only paid for 2 adults but there were 5 beds used, so he brought extra people along that weren't paid for. I would also like him to pay for the extra guests that he brought and the fact that he left 1.5 hours late making our cleaning staff wait. He then has the nerve to leave bad reviews stating that we didn't answer the phone which isn't true. When he called, we quickly and promptly sent him what he needed. He was a last minute booking who came into a cabin about 24 hours after he booked. And he's reviewing a property negatively because a DIFFERENT WEBSITE gave him a higher rate? What does the rate have to do with the property? Reviews should be about the property, not what you paid. If he didn't want to pay that amount, why did he finalize and pay? Also, Airbnb charge higher service fees and rates than other websites - and our rates are higher there because of the fees they charge the host. I'm blown away that he would rate a property (which he himself says was great) as negative because he paid a higher rate on a different website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
1 review
“Great Location- house was well kept and clean”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We loved our stay. Kids enjoyed making a fire in the back, and they enjoyed the Jacuzzi very much. Went on hike in Shenendoah- to Mary's Rock (something like that) which was a lot fun and close by. Also, really excellent that owners provide 2 CANOES! it was 65 degrees one day and we are able to take the canoes out on the river which was a lot of fun. We took our dog with us and he probably had the best time of his life on our hikes. Thanks for allowing dogs!

Also, I thought it was terrific that owners also provided bikes! But the bikes were in various states of disrepair that they were essentially unusable. There was enough other stuff to do.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hi Michael, I'm so glad you guys enjoyed Bear Meadows. That's cool that you were able to use the canoes and river at this time of the year. Pretty unusual! Love to see you come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.