We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely perfect cabin getaway”
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub
Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Living room with sofa bed
Brand new fully equipped kitchen
Solid rustic dining room furniture
King size master bed
Master bath vanity
Master bath jacuzzi tub
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
Satellite HDTV/DVDs in all rooms
2nd bathroom
2nd bathroom
Stone firepit with unlimited wood provided free
Full free laundry facilities provided
Two canoes and accessories provided
The beautiful Shenandoah River
Lovely grassy riverbank
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rajwinder...
1 review
“An absolutely perfect cabin getaway”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We picked the Bear Timbers Cabin for a romantic getaway and it was beyond perfect. The place looks even better than the pictures. It's cozy, clean, nicely decorated, and so comfortable. We had everything we needed. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night and being able to stare at the beautiful stars. The walk to the Shenandoah river is only about 3-5 minutes and while we did not get into the river (we went in February), it was still nice to walk alongside the river and to be in nature. We loved the feel of the place so much that we are hoping to make this a yearly trip/ yearly getaway spot. We enjoyed Bear Timbers in the winter and cannot imagine how absolutely amazing it must be in the summer. We look forward to returning to this place with friends in the summer and again as a couple sometime in the winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyW63
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute gem!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On Saturday morning, we decided to try to get away for a few days as the kids did not have school on Mon/Tues. We ended up booking Bear Timbers Cabin within 24 hours of our arrival on Sunday. The owner was quick to respond and the reservation was made with ease.

We arrived Sunday afternoon and found everything exactly as described on the Internet. My 14-year-old daughter and 17-year-old son took off in one of the canoes soon after we got there. We had a fire both nights in the fire pit and enjoyed spending a little time away from the world for a little bit. The hot tub was perfect for our 50-60 degree weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property backs up to the river - it's a very short walk to the river bank.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matars_Z
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Luray- nice cabin”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at this cabin and enjoyed it very much. There are bunk beds in one room, a master bedroom with a king bed and a sleeper sofa in the living room. There are two bathrooms with every amenity. The kitchen is modern and has everything you need. The cabin is not on the river, its a bit of a trek to the river, but its simply beautiful once you get there. Communication for the booking is smooth and efficient - they are very helpful and organized.

Wifi instructions need to be posted - Wifi is great, once you figure out how to connect.

My only suggestion is for better deep cleaning. There was dust, and alot of it, in too many nooks - from the DVD book, and everything under the coffee table, to bed stand and ledges - to inside the kitchen cabinets. In general its quite clean, but it needs a more thorough dusting underneath items and in areas which are not directly in front of your eyes.

Altogether a great place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
1 review
“Relaxing weekend away from DC”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Loved the cabin, I wish we had stayed longer. Enjoyed the canoes, breakfast on the patio, late night hot tub and fire down by the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: wish there was a little more privacy from neighbors
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mango T
1 review
“Cozy for adults and fun for kids and adults.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Place is nice and view by the water is spectacular. Agent nice and friendly. Kids had lots of fun canoeing and riding bikes. Place is new...recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing