We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have your camera ready”

Coconino National Forest
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after the Coho Native American people, this forest is two million acres of recreational, lumber, and mining land.
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This is a great national forest.

A variety of items you can see.
It is expansive and great vistas. From Sedona to North of Flagstaff, changes in elevation and temperature.

A great place for artists.

a must visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank hpresas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"red rocks"
in 16 reviews
"bell rock"
in 6 reviews
"mormon lake"
in 5 reviews
"ponderosa pines"
in 17 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 13 reviews
"grand canyon"
in 27 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 9 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 11 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 4 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 5 reviews
"san francisco peaks"
in 10 reviews
"ranger station"
in 4 reviews
"northern arizona"
in 7 reviews
"take your time"
in 4 reviews
"painted desert"
in 4 reviews
"sunset crater"
in 6 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

But there it is. Pines and a lot of vegetation this East Coast girl cannot identify. It gave me a whole new definition for a forest. This is your government at work, so get your tax money's worth and visit the places we have set aside.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

I spent a long time at the visitor's center. The restrooms were spotless and that helps us all. I was able to recharge from the long stressful drive from Phoenix. I am not used to the congested high speed traffic and the elevated roads with unbelievable drops on the side of the lanes. I was not comfortable riding as a passenger. So, the stop at the Coconino National Forest Visitor's Center seemed to save my whole day. I learned a lot from the information offered inside the center. I enjoyed the information inside, the photo opportunities offered by the beautiful surroundings, snacks and hydration choices there and a wonderful little gift and souvenir shop inside the center. I purchased many items I was grateful to find there that will be treasured memories of my stop and the forest. Outside the visitor's center was ample parking and a chance to stretch one's legs and enjoy the beautiful place with beautiful staff. My questions were answered by friendly people who were as excited about the location as I was. Well done Coconino National Forest Visitor's Center staff and rangers. Your place was the highlight of my ten day once-in-a-lifetime trip! Thank You!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Passing through Sedona AZ is a remarkable site filled with amazing mountains. Be prepared for the photo shoot of a lifetime. The hikes and shops are fantastic.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank doreenbickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Depending on the angle of the sun, colors in the desert seem to change. The desert is harsh, but beautiful.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank tfcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconino National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Coconino National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing