We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
17
19
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
19
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp host bike park escape the heat pine trees short drive easy access enjoyed our stay generator hosts kindling rvers ponderosa sedona
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Check-in was fast and easy. Access to our site was a bit challenging given there are no clear cut roads, just paths that wind through the towering pines, many of which showed scars of having been hit by vehicles and campers so be advised when you navigate to your spot. But once we got to our site, we were impressed by how large ours (and each one) is. Each is equipped with a picnic table, a fire ring, and all the pine needles you could ever want (which make great kindling for fires so they do serve a purpose).

All the sites were full and people were outside their trailers and tents eating, sitting by the fire, etc but we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. A couple people were running jobsite generators (i.e. not the quieter encased ones targeting RVers) which wasn't enjoyable (one was in a site across from ours) but overall the sound level was relaxing. The port-o-potties were kept clean and did not reek when used so that was very appreciated.

The one issue to be aware of is the silt ground covering. Think soft, fine-particle dirt that gets on EVERYTHING! Bring outdoor rugs, tarps, shoes you don't mind getting filthy, etc. Hard to put into words how dirty everything that comes in contact with it gets.

Room tip: This review is for the CAMPGROUND, not a HOTEL!
Date of stay: October 2020
Thank divisiblebyzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Department, Marketing at Fort Tuthill County Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your camping trip at Fort Tuthill Campground. We are happy to hear that it exceeded your expectations and hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

Nice camping in the pines, with the expected annoyances one expects from a packed in public campground. Wonderful for kids and adults, with bike park and rope course on the site. Hiking and riding in the cool pines.
Watch out for check out time of 10 AM. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of five: At 10:30 AM our vehicles were packed and running, and we were reminiscing with the adjacent campers about the great music we had heard played over the weekend. The camp host came by, blocked us in, and demanded $11.50 for a day use pass!
The whole campground had emptied by then. No warning. Or, "Hey guys, check out time is 10, are you wrapping it up?"

Room tip: This is a camground.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebarretta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Department, Marketing at Fort Tuthill County Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback. We have addressed this concern about the check-out time with our local staff. Our practice is to visit sites between 10:30-11 to advise of the check-out time, and day use passes are not assessed if campers are in the process of leaving. It appears you had a great stay and "time flies when you're having fun!" :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020

The hosts were VERY friendly, so this is in no way a reflection of their dedication or upkeep.

The property has numerous sites that do not work with a camper and the set up of the site. There is a $75 fine if a picnic table (many very worn down, paint flaking, splinters) to make it easier to use a camper and have access to a table. The low rain and exceptional pine needle cleaning made the site pure dust powder and everything we had on, including our dog, was covered in this fine silt dust within minutes of parking. We were going to get past the picnic table set up, past the dust...but it was the incessant bees that drove us off. These bees were like flies! We had a picnic and could not get away from them. At that point we decided not to stay overnight, but left to go home (it was our last night of a 10-day journey). I am sure this is great place for families, kids etc...but, as older (possibly more spoiled) campers...we were sadly not impressed with our 2-hour stay. The County could upgrade this site to be amazing, there is potential.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank U4993BKtanyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Department, Marketing at Fort Tuthill County Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2020

Thank you for leaving your feedback for Fort Tuthill. We do greatly appreciate the kind words about our staff, but we wish the rest of the review equalled this experience. We can inform you that the campground will be undergoing extensive renovation and upgrades in the next year and beyond. We hope that we can welcome you back to have a different camping experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

It was fully packed and a little too crowded for us, but it was a well organized campground, and we had a pleasant stay.
Very convenient location and easy access---It's right by the highway, close to the city.
There was a nice, very popular 6 mile long hinking/moutain biking trail around the campground.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank 674chiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2020

Enjoyed our stay at Ft. Tuthill County Campground. Since it's in the County Park, my grandson enjoyed the Flagstaff Xtreme Tree-Top/Zipline course, and the bicycle/BMX course onsite. We opted for a Water/Sewer site (some sites are dry), and ran the Genset outside quiet hours (Gensets must be off from 9p to 7a). We were in a 34' motor home towing a small SUV; so please know access is tight. Some of the sites are not very level, so bring your blocks/planks to help get level (we worked our hydraulic jacks to the max). Be aware there is a 2nd campground run by Luke AFB Recreation for active/retired military, so ensure you make your reservation at the correct location (this review is for the County Park Campground).

Room tip: Space A2 has Water/Sewer, but is not level. Some sites can be reserved in advance, others are 1st come/1st served.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngusPodgorny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Department, Marketing at Fort Tuthill County Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for Fort Tuthill County Campground! We appreciate your advice and guidance to fellow campers. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews