We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the whole family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex

Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Martin House Complex (Buffalo, NY, 1903-05) exemplifies Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie House ideal and ranks as one of his finest residential works. Designed for Larkin Soap Company executive, Darwin D. Martin, the complex is a one-of-a-kind composition consisting of the main Martin House, the smaller Barton House, a carriage house with chauffeur’s quarters and stables, a glass-roofed conservatory linked to the main house by a 100-foot pergola, and a gardener’s cottage integrated architectural masterwork. Tours explore the buildings, surrounding landscape, and an extensive collection of art glass and furnishings, all designed by Wright, which together form a totally integrated architectural masterwork. We welcome you to this National Historic Landmark.
Niagara Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We all loved it. we have been to falling water and the lake house outside Buffalo. It is well run and very interesting.

Helpful?
Thank dealr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    150
    25
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the biggest and most complete praire home estate by FLW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

extent estate with all buildings restored and authentic FLW designs to the plus ultimate

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful! And will only get better - what a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We visited for the first time, and did the short tour (1hr). Our guide was amazing and we lucked out being the only ones on the tour. The house is still having work done on it to restore it back to it original glory, but it was cool to see the incredible amount of work that is needed to get it back in shape, and the underlying construct of this grand home. We will be going back in the future to see the progress, and will certainly be doing the longer tour (2hr) to see the entire site. Highlights include the passion of the guide, the impressive views and sightlines while in the house, and the level of detail the rebuilt sections required. If you only plan to go once, I'd suggest the longer tour, as we were really curious about the rest of the house and other buildings. Nice gift shop that has an incredible selection of Frank Lloyd Wright Books.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I revisit the house every few months to check in on restoration progress. One of FLW's most stunning residential complexes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insights into an Important Architect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The new visitor center is fabulous and I thoroughly enjoyed the introductory video presentation. The house interior is still a work in progress, but it's interesting to see as it gets restored.

Helpful?
Thank chrisfromrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing