We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort personified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed 2 May 2017

A historic hotel with wonderful creative art pieces everywhere. The friendly welcome you receive starts your experience of this classic Buffalo hotel. A+ . Everything Buffalo located within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skaszab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights with 5 others in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. We were in town for a wedding which was also held here. Loved having a full sized kitchen complete with stove, microwave, full refrigerator, dish washer. Had to call the front desk for forks, spoons & knives but that came up in no time. Beds were clean and super comfy. Bathrooms were well equipped with more than enough toiletries/towels/face cloths and the shower pressure was good! The front desk staff were friendly and efficient, checked in within 5 minutes. We were lucky to have found street parking for free right across the hotel. Apparently street parking is free after 5pm and on weekends (awesome!). We had the breakfast both mornings and it was pretty decent and filling! One negative to breakfast was the poorly lit dining room. Luckily it wasn't too busy and we were able to get tables by the windows. The building itself is spectacular and I found the lobby to be pretty cozy and beautiful. The wedding was held in the Greenhouse room and it was also very charming. Loved that the wedding had access to the patio with pretty overhead lights. All in all, unforgettable weekend here at Hotel Lafayette, I highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jessmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

House rules: no jumping on the beds, no marking the walls with graffiti and no overflowing the bathtub. It's a great place to stay with a group. The full bar is large and inviting and includes really good free popcorn, there's a free continental breakfast in the morning, a great game room and plenty of large meeting rooms.
We stayed in a Junior Suite. Two levels, a king size bed, faux fireplace, large couch and small desk. Coffee maker included, but no refrigerator. Two large, flat screen t.v.s. The tub room is a combination of tub and shower in a glass enclosure. Kind of funky. Very little counter space in the bathroom.
The bed is really, really soft. Good if you like sleeping on a marshmallow. The decor is art deco-ish. The HVAC is quiet and effective (but the huge vent is located directly over the bed).
All the staff is friendly and accommodating.
Parking is $20 to valet or, if you can find it, free on the street.
Glad we stayed here. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There's not much to look at outside so no view really. I always request to be further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MSH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We stayed here for one night, in town to see a concert at the Keybank Centre (fyi: no Uber in Buffalo! But the cab ride to the venue was only $8 and we were feeling good after a few beers at the show, so we didn't mind the short walk back after the concert!).

The front desk staff was friendly and the building is really nice! I love old buildings and we were amazed at how wide the hallways, elevators and rooms were! Our room had a king sized bed and a spacious bathroom. The shower was separate from the tub which I thought was unique for a hotel, and I quite liked it. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, and there's a local restaurant (Partners) that will deliver delicious greasy food until 4am - win!

I would definitely stay again and I'm so glad I went outside the usual hotel chains (sorry Marriott, but $400 for one night is a bit steep!) and found this gem downtown.

I should note the room included complimentary breakfast but we slept in and missed it. Next time!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mssweetmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We were hear for an event. While the room we were in was beautiful, the food was absolutely disgusting! First I order a glass of wine from the bar (which was in a different room than the dinner) and it came in a dirty glass. The buffet style food was served with rolls that were hard, a soupy mac and cheese that disgusting, meatloaf that looked like it came from an elementary school cafeteria and dry, dry, dry chicken. I will say the veggies were good as well as the Ceasar salad. The dessert, cupcakes, were set out in the bar area and looked as if they were picked up at Tops before the event. Being our first time here I was STUNNED that such a beautiful and upscale venue would have such awful food. Our table went out to eat at a local bar after the event was over because we were starving.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovely321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.6 km away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
85 reviews
1.8 km away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
0.9 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: RM519 - RM1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing