We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We were in Buffalo for a concert at the KeyBank Center. I chose this hotel for its location and it was perfect. Just a short walk. The hotel itself is great. Very charming. The junior suite was very nice and comfortable. The bed and pillows were also good. The continental breakfast was great with hot and cold items. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Brittney, at the front desk, deserves a raise! She was so friendly and helpful. She is everything you hope a person in the service industry should be. She made our stay just that much more pleasant. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Extremely nice staff. Easy check-in/check-out. Beautiful room. There is a coffee shop and restaurant located within the hotel. The continental breakfast was soo good! There was an assortment of bagels, yogurt, fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, home fries (potatoes), and juices/coffee/water. They offer valet parking but if you're looking for an alternative a parking garage is located one block away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMiller121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The staff was quite pleasant, and we liked our room. The public spaces were interesting bit the pop music from the 50s and 60s didn't lend to the ambiance. Do take the time to read the inforrmation on Mrs. Bethune (the architect).

Stayed: August 2017
Thank happyskoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I stayed at this hotel as I was a guest at a wedding being held there. I was very disappointed with the junior suite especially for the $280.00 per night price tag. Aside from the fact that they tried to decorate this 1904 hotel in modern décor, renovation consisted of painting over old woodwork paint drips and plaster cracks. The unused transoms were painted over hinges latches and all. The shelves were pulling away from the wall and items were sliding off. The mattress was lumpy old and uncomfortable. I didn't sleep through the night either night I was there. There was a pile of feathers in the corner that looked like something killed a pigeon in the room. If housekeeping ignored that I have to wonder how well they actually cleaned. The fitness center consisted of one old rusty home style treadmill in the basement. I shared the elevator with wait staff delivering food to a banquet on a kitchen trolley that was filthy with dried food and kitchen grease. If that is what they send into the room for guests to see I don't want to know what the kitchen where guests don't go looks like. Smoking guests standing outside the front doors filled the lobby with cigarette smoke. It was convenient to stay in the same hotel as the reception but I would rather stay at another hotel and pay for transportation than stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here for only one night and it was not nearly long enough. My sister had her wedding at the hotel, and since we had to wait a while for our room, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a one-bedroom suite that was about twice the size of my NYC apartment. There was a sunken living room, floor to ceiling windows, a few steps up to the bedroom and enormous bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower, with a double sided fireplace to top it off. Needless to say, I was impressed. The service at the hotel is also top notch. I hope to stay here again in the future to continue living out la dolce vita fantasies. This is a phenomenal hotel for Buffalo, and it lives up to high standards all over the globe. Bravo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for the excellent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! The Hotel Lafayette prides itself on providing a world-class experience to all of our guests, and we are especially proud to be leading Buffalo's resurgence. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.6 km away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
84 reviews
1.8 km away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
0.9 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: RM515 - RM1,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing