We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The owners and staff are the real shining stars behind this beautifully renovated Inn. Anyone in dire need of rest and relaxation will have a hard time heading back home. I tried to find a way to pack the relaxing tub in my suitcase.

One of the most beautiful places I have ever visitied and one of the most memorable retreat experiences.

Keep up the wonderful job Nancy, Bill, Debbie, Marsha and the rest of the staff that I never had the pleasure of meeting.

Susan from Connecticut

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susannefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn. It was great to have you both with us and we are so happy you enjoyed the Beatrice Room. Actually, so much that you stayed an extra night! That tub is waiting for you any time you need it.

Thanks again for all your kind remarks.
Nancy and Bill (and Debbie, Marsha and the rest of the staff).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2015

My sister and I didn't know what to get our 89-year old mother for Christmas. We knew that this Christmas would be especially difficult for her (and all of us) because we just lost my dad last December.

A weekend away at the Cliffside Inn was the PERFECT gift! We checked in the day after Christmas. The location was great - Very close to the Cliff Walk. The rooms in the main house only accommodate 2 persons, but they have suites, away from the main house, that accommodate 3 persons. We were in the Atlantic Suite. I was a little nervous about the distance between the suites and the main house...But, as it turned out, it was only steps away! The Atlantic Suite was comfy and clean, and the bathroom was unbelievable! There is a see-through fireplace between the living room and bathroom. There's also a fireplace in the bedroom. The damper in the bedroom fireplace was not working, but there were large electronic candles placed in the fireplace which worked fine. The bed was very high and my mother couldn't even get up to sit on it. So we decided that she would have the "sofa-bed". We were a little concerned about the comfort, but when assembling the bed the staff placed a pillow-top on the mattress, and it was great!

During the weekend, we took a very short stroll on the Cliff Walk and toured the Breakers mansion...but most importantly we spent time relaxing and talking. The wine reception each evening was very nice. We had the opportunity to meet some of the other guests and the hors d'oeuvres were delicious! All of the staff from the housekeeping to the kitchen were very accommodating. The owners (Nancy and Bill) were excellent hosts. They were extremely helpful in suggesting activities and making reservations when needed.

The Cliffside Inn is a top-notch B&B. I will definitely be back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jpmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Thank you for making the Cliffside Inn your home for a few days and the getaway spot for your time with your mom. It was great meeting all of you and watching you interact with the other guests. That first night was a little crazy with the Christmas tour happening, but everything worked out well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I hesitate to let others know how incredible this B&B is... I want it to be our secret hide away but, I understand that it's good business to share therefore... What a find! Location, cleanliness, quietness, excellent staff, comfortable, quality renovation, and a historic and interesting story of the Inn to capture your romantic imagination! All 5 stars, PLUS! The Inn Keeper/Owner, Bill, even cooks a 5 star breakfast! The staff was wonderful; they know what it takes to respect and honor their guests, we were made to feel like Vanderbilts. The photos on-line are very accurate; we stayed in the SUN room with the sauna shower! We can't wait to return! Happiness Abounds!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

We are so glad you were able to enjoy a post holiday getaway with us. We finally took down all the holiday decorations last week and are settling into the winter. The steam shower in the Sun Room is especially welcome on these chilly winter days after a stroll on the Cliff Walk. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and your time at the inn. Next time we will have to refer to you as Alva and Cornelius (Vanderbilt!).

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Certainly one of the best B+B's we've ever visited. Lovely attention to detail, from the beautiful grounds to the well renovated house with great woodwork to the wide variety of fun books to read to the slow-close toilet lid.
Breakfast was tasty, fresh, and well presented.
One caution is that we get excited about fireplaces and in our suite, it was halfway up the wall and had a small gas flame, and it was across the room from the only place to sit.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 15th wedding anniversary. It was great to have you stay with us. You are the first person to mention the slow close toilets, but I agree it is a great feature. We have several different types of fireplaces at the inn. Be sure to give us a call before your next visit and we'll make sure you get one that you'll love.

Happy New Year.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We recently spent 3 very pleasant nights in the "Adele" room (beautiful bathroom!) at the Cliffside Inn. Our stay was comfy and warm and quiet. Each day's breakfast was tasty and nicely served. Wonderful architectural restoration and colors. Location is perfect for cliff walk access. Early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fire presided over by the ever hospitable Bill and Nancy. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

It was great having you both here. If you need any information when planning your Argentina trip, please don't hesitate to email us. It was incredible (almost as good as a stay at the Cliffside:)) and we highly recommend going.

We love the picture of the Inn you posted. It's a great shot.

Wishing you all the best in 2015 and hoping you'll be back to visit us.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
712 reviews
1.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
1.4 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: RM854 - RM1,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing