We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$599
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilltop Inn(Newport)
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$780
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy Lodge(Newport)
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$705
US$325
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveller rating
1,149
28
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
28
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suiteturner suitewine hourwindow seatmy husband and iother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnertower roomcookiesthe blue room
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My sister and I didn't know what to get our 89-year old mother for Christmas. We knew that this Christmas would be especially difficult for her (and all of us) because we just lost my dad last December.

A weekend away at the Cliffside Inn was the PERFECT gift! We checked in the day after Christmas. The location was great - Very close to the Cliff Walk. The rooms in the main house only accommodate 2 persons, but they have suites, away from the main house, that accommodate 3 persons. We were in the Atlantic Suite. I was a little nervous about the distance between the suites and the main house...But, as it turned out, it was only steps away! The Atlantic Suite was comfy and clean, and the bathroom was unbelievable! There is a see-through fireplace between the living room and bathroom. There's also a fireplace in the bedroom. The damper in the bedroom fireplace was not working, but there were large electronic candles placed in the fireplace which worked fine. The bed was very high and my mother couldn't even get up to sit on it. So we decided that she would have the "sofa-bed". We were a little concerned about the comfort, but when assembling the bed the staff placed a pillow-top on the mattress, and it was great!

During the weekend, we took a very short stroll on the Cliff Walk and toured the Breakers mansion...but most importantly we spent time relaxing and talking. The wine reception each evening was very nice. We had the opportunity to meet some of the other guests and the hors d'oeuvres were delicious! All of the staff from the housekeeping to the kitchen were very accommodating. The owners (Nancy and Bill) were excellent hosts. They were extremely helpful in suggesting activities and making reservations when needed.

The Cliffside Inn is a top-notch B&B. I will definitely be back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jpmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Thank you for making the Cliffside Inn your home for a few days and the getaway spot for your time with your mom. It was great meeting all of you and watching you interact with the other guests. That first night was a little crazy with the Christmas tour happening, but everything worked out well.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I hesitate to let others know how incredible this B&B is... I want it to be our secret hide away but, I understand that it's good business to share therefore... What a find! Location, cleanliness, quietness, excellent staff, comfortable, quality renovation, and a historic and interesting story of the Inn to capture your romantic imagination! All 5 stars, PLUS! The Inn Keeper/Owner, Bill, even cooks a 5 star breakfast! The staff was wonderful; they know what it takes to respect and honor their guests, we were made to feel like Vanderbilts. The photos on-line are very accurate; we stayed in the SUN room with the sauna shower! We can't wait to return! Happiness Abounds!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

We are so glad you were able to enjoy a post holiday getaway with us. We finally took down all the holiday decorations last week and are settling into the winter. The steam shower in the Sun Room is especially welcome on these chilly winter days after a stroll on the Cliff Walk. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and your time at the inn. Next time we will have to refer to you as Alva and Cornelius (Vanderbilt!).

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Certainly one of the best B+B's we've ever visited. Lovely attention to detail, from the beautiful grounds to the well renovated house with great woodwork to the wide variety of fun books to read to the slow-close toilet lid.
Breakfast was tasty, fresh, and well presented.
One caution is that we get excited about fireplaces and in our suite, it was halfway up the wall and had a small gas flame, and it was across the room from the only place to sit.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 15th wedding anniversary. It was great to have you stay with us. You are the first person to mention the slow close toilets, but I agree it is a great feature. We have several different types of fireplaces at the inn. Be sure to give us a call before your next visit and we'll make sure you get one that you'll love.

Happy New Year.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We recently spent 3 very pleasant nights in the "Adele" room (beautiful bathroom!) at the Cliffside Inn. Our stay was comfy and warm and quiet. Each day's breakfast was tasty and nicely served. Wonderful architectural restoration and colors. Location is perfect for cliff walk access. Early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fire presided over by the ever hospitable Bill and Nancy. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

It was great having you both here. If you need any information when planning your Argentina trip, please don't hesitate to email us. It was incredible (almost as good as a stay at the Cliffside:)) and we highly recommend going.

We love the picture of the Inn you posted. It's a great shot.

Wishing you all the best in 2015 and hoping you'll be back to visit us.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

This was by far one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. The Inn was in a great location, within 1 block to the Cliff Walk, it was beautifully decorated and the owners and staff were perfect hosts... Little details like the late afternoon/ early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were nice touches.... The Innkeepers were very helpful with restaurant suggestions (they keep a book of menus you can look through also), and making reservations when needed. Our room (Beatrice) had a view of the ocean from the window seat, and the most luxurious bathroom. The gas fireplace with a timer and remote was also wonderful... Since I always wake up before dawn (involuntarily), it was wonderful to be able to just push a button and have a fire to warm my morning. The breakfast was very good. The whole inn was very romantic. I will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

We are so glad that you were able to come to the inn for a little post-holiday romantic getaway. I couldn't agree more about the Beatrice room. I hate to play favorites, but it really is one of the best rooms in the inn.

Thank you for all of the fantastic pictures. We look forward to having you back for another visit soon.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews