We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, for a very reasonable price”
Review of Cliffside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Inn
Ranked #1 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We found the atmosphere here friendly and charming. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The wine and delicious snacks served in the late afternoon were much appreciated because we had a very late dinner scheduled. Breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed eating on the lovely veranda. The owners were kind enough to let us stay a single night; the usual minimum is two nights. This room was an "orphan" room; their bookings resulted in it being free for one night. In Newport, we usually stay at a boutique hotel that is two to three times the price of Cliffside; Cliffside compares very favorably at a much more reasonable cost. It is only a few steps to the Cliff Walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian room. It was very quiet even though on the first floor. It was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Donna,

It was lovely having you and Bob stay with us this past weekend. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that the inn has to offer. We are hoping you'll forget about those boutique hotels and stay with us in the future.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I reserved the carriage house for my husband and me and also Beatrice's room for my son and his girlfriend. We all felt the amenities and hospitality were fabulous. The breakfasts were superb (crepe with vanilla creme and berries, cheddar waffle with fried eggs on top, freshly made scones and muffins, yogurt with fruit and granola, juices, and french press coffee. Great savory snacks and wine offered around 5 as well. Our rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The entire Inn appears to be newly renovated -- all the paint was fresh and I didn't detect anything broken or tired looking. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. There is access to Cliff Walk right in their backyard so the location was terrific (away from the hubbub of Thames street). Our only suggestion questionable thought was that the fire pit is very high with no chairs to relax on, just a stone wall. It would have been nice to comfortable sit around a fire in the evening to chat about those fantastic mansion tours.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Catherine,

It was wonderful to have you and your son with us for a few nights. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. We did a major renovation in 2011, but we try to keep everything up to date. Thank you for noticing.

We have been trying to find a way to get cushions on those steps, but have not yet found a solution. We do have beach chairs that guests can borrow, but I understand that is a little difficult to maneuver. We will definitely continue to look at something for that space.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation in the outstanding Cliffside Inn in beautiful Newport, RI. Our rooms were outstanding, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff was attentive, informative and welcoming. A special thank you to Cindy, Debbie and Marsha! They could not have been more helpful and gracious. The breakfasts were delicious, as well as the afternoon wine and goodies. We loved sitting by the fire pit each evening! We look forward to returning to the Cliffside Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eimom148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Eileen,

We are so glad you and Dominick decided to come back to the Cliffside Inn for your birthday celebration. Unfortunately, we were on vacation and couldn't greet you personally, but we are so glad the "dream team" of Cindy, Debbie and Marsha took great care of you.

We hope we will be able to meet you on a future visit.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a short getaway. Everything was wonderful. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and immaculate. My husband hates B&Bs and even he was impressed by the Inn. The staff is exceptionally attentive. When we booked they inquired if it was a special occasion. Once there they extended every courtesy.

Room Tip: the inn has obstructed water views. ask for one of the cottages or water facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lzct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Lisa,

We hope we were able to convert Bill to a B&B person going forward! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review the inn.

We look forward to hosting you again on a future visit.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I just spent a romantic weekend with my boyfriend at the beautiful Cliffside Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Upon arriving, and after taking a relaxing sigh at the pure perfection of this New England inn, we met Cindy. She showed us to our beautiful cottage accommodations, The Cliff Suite. We were impressed by the details Cindy gave us as she showed us our room, which included two sitting rooms, a beautiful bathroom and very comfortable bedroom.

We were very happy with the complementary wine, nightly turndown service with yummy cookies and our own Keurig to hold us over until the morning breakfast service. Breakfast was wonderful and very substantial before our days on the town. The chef prepared eggs and the buffet table was stocked with delicious scones, muffins, fruit and granola.

The location of the inn was PERFECT. It was steps away from the Cliff Walk and within a short walk from the mansions and a few restaurants. It was a $5 Uber ride to downtown Newport's wharf and port area.

The fire pit in between the main inn and cottages was a wonderful way to wind down before bed. The one suggestion we would have is to have some cushions on the steps or chairs to use to better relax by the fire.

We could not have been more impressed with Bill and Nancy and the Cliffside staff. We would love to visit again and would EASILY recommend Cliffside to friends and family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Meg,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are thrilled you and David enjoyed your time here. We agree Cindy is such a gem!

We appreciate your comments about the fire pit. We have tried several times to figure out a way to put cushions out, but have not yet been successful. You can always take a chair from the porch, or we have beach chairs available, but I agree cushions would be the best.

Thank you again.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
1.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
1.4 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: RM817 - RM1,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing