We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$720
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$829
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$805
US$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
1,151
28
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
28
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitethe clifffire pitfrench press coffeeatlantic suiteturner suitewine hourwindow seatmy husband and iother guestssun roomfrench pressedpressed coffeebeatrice turnertower roomcookiesthe blue room
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I reserved the carriage house for my husband and me and also Beatrice's room for my son and his girlfriend. We all felt the amenities and hospitality were fabulous. The breakfasts were superb (crepe with vanilla creme and berries, cheddar waffle with fried eggs on top, freshly made scones and muffins, yogurt with fruit and granola, juices, and french press coffee. Great savory snacks and wine offered around 5 as well. Our rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The entire Inn appears to be newly renovated -- all the paint was fresh and I didn't detect anything broken or tired looking. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. There is access to Cliff Walk right in their backyard so the location was terrific (away from the hubbub of Thames street). Our only suggestion questionable thought was that the fire pit is very high with no chairs to relax on, just a stone wall. It would have been nice to comfortable sit around a fire in the evening to chat about those fantastic mansion tours.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Catherine,

It was wonderful to have you and your son with us for a few nights. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. We did a major renovation in 2011, but we try to keep everything up to date. Thank you for noticing.

We have been trying to find a way to get cushions on those steps, but have not yet found a solution. We do have beach chairs that guests can borrow, but I understand that is a little difficult to maneuver. We will definitely continue to look at something for that space.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation in the outstanding Cliffside Inn in beautiful Newport, RI. Our rooms were outstanding, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff was attentive, informative and welcoming. A special thank you to Cindy, Debbie and Marsha! They could not have been more helpful and gracious. The breakfasts were delicious, as well as the afternoon wine and goodies. We loved sitting by the fire pit each evening! We look forward to returning to the Cliffside Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eimom148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Eileen,

We are so glad you and Dominick decided to come back to the Cliffside Inn for your birthday celebration. Unfortunately, we were on vacation and couldn't greet you personally, but we are so glad the "dream team" of Cindy, Debbie and Marsha took great care of you.

We hope we will be able to meet you on a future visit.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a short getaway. Everything was wonderful. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and immaculate. My husband hates B&Bs and even he was impressed by the Inn. The staff is exceptionally attentive. When we booked they inquired if it was a special occasion. Once there they extended every courtesy.

Room Tip: the inn has obstructed water views. ask for one of the cottages or water facing rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lzct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Lisa,

We hope we were able to convert Bill to a B&B person going forward! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review the inn.

We look forward to hosting you again on a future visit.

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I just spent a romantic weekend with my boyfriend at the beautiful Cliffside Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Upon arriving, and after taking a relaxing sigh at the pure perfection of this New England inn, we met Cindy. She showed us to our beautiful cottage accommodations, The Cliff Suite. We were impressed by the details Cindy gave us as she showed us our room, which included two sitting rooms, a beautiful bathroom and very comfortable bedroom.

We were very happy with the complementary wine, nightly turndown service with yummy cookies and our own Keurig to hold us over until the morning breakfast service. Breakfast was wonderful and very substantial before our days on the town. The chef prepared eggs and the buffet table was stocked with delicious scones, muffins, fruit and granola.

The location of the inn was PERFECT. It was steps away from the Cliff Walk and within a short walk from the mansions and a few restaurants. It was a $5 Uber ride to downtown Newport's wharf and port area.

The fire pit in between the main inn and cottages was a wonderful way to wind down before bed. The one suggestion we would have is to have some cushions on the steps or chairs to use to better relax by the fire.

We could not have been more impressed with Bill and Nancy and the Cliffside staff. We would love to visit again and would EASILY recommend Cliffside to friends and family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Meg,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are thrilled you and David enjoyed your time here. We agree Cindy is such a gem!

We appreciate your comments about the fire pit. We have tried several times to figure out a way to put cushions out, but have not yet been successful. You can always take a chair from the porch, or we have beach chairs available, but I agree cushions would be the best.

Thank you again.
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had such a pleasant experience at the Cliffside Inn. They are so attentive to every little detail!!
Breakfast each morning was delicious!!! The fresh baked muffins, the French toast, the spinach & feta frittata, and the blueberry waffles were so yummy!! The French press coffee hit the spot!
The perennial gardens and the flowers in the Inn were beautiful!!
We will return to the Cliffside Inn!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank josiemae63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Joey and Paul,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Cliffside Inn. The Adele room is lovely. We are glad you enjoyed the various delicacies that came out of the kitchen. Definitely makes it hard for us to drop a few pounds!

We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to Newport.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews