We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
495
100
41
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
100
41
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite rooftop bar indoor pool old mansion my husband and i luxury hotel wonderful hotel hotel restaurant historic building thames street rhode island new england long weekend sitting area valet parking newport harbor short drive
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for your hospitality and making our short stay enjoyable. We are back home now and wanted to compliment you and your staff. It is unfortunate that our stay was cut short due to the hot water issue. We understand that things happen beyond your control at times. Even though this was the case you and your staff were very considerate by getting us a room at the Marriott and then paying the charges. That is exceptional customer service.

If we have been staying longer we would have returned but to pack up just for one day didn't make a lot of sense to us. We had a full day of sightseeing and didn't want the hassle of moving again.

it was also considerate of you to refund what we were charged at the Grace Vanderbilt.

Thank you and please thank your staff. When we visit Newport again we will be sure to make a reservation and enjoy all your hotel has to offer.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesD276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasMavrogiannis, General Manager at Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear James D,

I would like to thank you for choosing Grace Vanderbilt during your stay in Newport.

Even though we had not the pleasure of hosting you as long as we anticipated, we are delighted to read that our actions left the best of the impressions for our hotel and the provided service.

We hope that we will have soon the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you, this time, a complete Graceful experience.

sincerely,
Kostas Mavrogiannis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We booked this hotel based on the reviews left here and I must say it is a very pleasant hotel located just back from the main street in Newport. The room was good and the breakfast was excellent. My only reservation was the cost - almost $600 for one night.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gundogjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasMavrogiannis, General Manager at Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear gundogjh,

We would sincerely like to thank you for choosing the Grace Vanderbilt Hotel during your visit in Newport.
With pleasure, we read on your review that the location and the room were up to your expectations and that you have enjoyed our wonderful breakfast that during this time of the year our guests have the pleasure to enjoy al fresco in our pristine garden.
For the month of September, our rates are still driven by the high demand - still in the high season - but our guests may always enjoy our beautiful property and Newport later in the Fall where rates are lower and there is nothing less to enjoy.
At this point, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grace Vanderbilt and my team and I will be looking forward to welcome you soon back in Newport.

Sincrerely,

Kostas Mavrogiannis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

After visiting a sister property (the Mayflower Grace), we had high hopes for this hotel but were disappointed. We were happy to have been to Newport, but really happy we only stayed here for one night. We felt that the room rate ($845) was very high for the standard of accommodation. The common areas of the hotel and our room looked tired and faded. A fresh coat of paint and new color scheme is desperately needed. Paint was peeling in our bathroom, and the shower grout was moldy. Yuck. The heating and cooling system in the room was incredibly noisy, and the toilet dripped intermittently at night, so we slept poorly. The spa area is poky - and quite unlike the lovely spa at the Mayflower Grace. The hotel's restaurant recommendations - emailed to us in advance - included a restaurant that had closed the year before. The property has lots of potential, and is centrally located, but falls short of expectations.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KHNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasMavrogiannis, General Manager at Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear KHNewYork,
thank you for choosing the Grace Vanderbilt Hotel during your visit in Newport.
We are very pleased to read that your wonderful experience in our sister property the Grace Mayflower prompted you to book your stay with us.
After reading your review, we have well received your feedback and your respectful comments, which we only hoped to hear during your stay and assist in rectifying in the best possible way, but even now we greatly appreciate them as they can only positively influence us to improve.
Taking pride by operating this wonderful historic hotel in Newport, we would like to apologize for all the shortfalls you have encountered during your stay.
Dear KHNewYork, We may only hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you a truly Graceful experience.

Sincerely,
Kostas Mavrogiannis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Great location; and the hotel itself has really great character. Charming heritage and all that...
Probably best hotel in Newport area with generally large suite rooms (equipped with pantry)
Service is also quite good.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank edwindeblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasMavrogiannis, General Manager at Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear edwindeblabla,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your positive comments on our generous size suites and being the best hotel in Newport.
We strive to provide the best service in order to represent Newport hospitality at its best.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon and offer another memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Kostas Mavrogiannis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-day stay here. This Hotel is every bit the thrill and quality that it's name professes. Loved everything, from the fabulous sheets, to the fantastic breakfast in the solarium, to the stunning harbor views from our room and the thrilling rooftop deck at night. It doesn't get any more romantic that this!

Dining and roaming along the waterfront are both relaxing and exciting treats, even for those of us already used to the ocean smells. This is a special place, not to be missed at some point in everyone's life....at least those of us who love history, harbors, fish, and quality hotel & dining adventures.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WinnipesaukeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasMavrogiannis, General Manager at Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear WinnipesaukeeGirl,

thank you for sharing your wonderful review.

we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and refresh your senses with the wonderful emotions our city by the sea lets one indulge in.

sincerely,

Kostas Mavrogiannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews