We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class dinner with the best view ever!”

Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Oahu Three Star Dinner Sunset Dinner and Show Cruise
More Info
US$47.00*
and up
Deluxe Arizona Memorial and Historical City Tour
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Rock-A-Hula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii's most popular sunset dinner cruise! Embark on a romantic dinner cruise aboard the luxurious, award-winning 1,500-passenger Star of Honolulu. It is Hawaii's only A.D.A. compliant ship with 3 types of stabilizers ensuring smooth sailing. Recent $1 million interior renovation of our 4 spacious decks and 6 dining rooms feature the best views and highest quality of food, service and Hawaiian entertainment. Don't miss whale watching in season (Dec - Apr) with Whale Guarantee and "Child FREE" special! Widest variety of dinner cruise options.
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I have to share my experience on the Star of Honolulu and my waiter - Jeannette! 5 star all the way - the food was spectacular and far above what I expected. We sailed the Waikiki coast at sunset and the only downfall was it went too fast. Would not recommend as a single, but for a couple or group is a "must do" for a visit to Hawaii. (If your waiter is Jeannette, you are in for extra special treatment!)

Thank G5381DDjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stars_of_Paradise, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We're delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable experience. We'll share your review with Jeanette as soon as possible. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

The cruise picked us up from the hotel for the 20-30 minute drive to the harbor. We booked the 7 course dinner which was on the top deck. When I say 7 courses, we're not talking 7 big courses. It's more of a 7 course tasting menu. While I enjoyed some of the courses more than others and my wife the same, there just isn't enough food even if you ate all 7 courses. I think I ate 5 of the 7 and my wife enjoyed 5 of hers, we both left extremely hungry and unsatisfied. We ended up grabbing McDonald's when we returned to our hotel as we were that hungry. Our meal came with three premium drinks each and the drink menu was substantial. We had both ordered Irish coffees for our last drinks and we had to send one back because it was neither hot nor had the brown sugar you make an Irish coffee with. How you make 2 of the same drinks and one be served cold is puzzling. The manager on duty, Kuber, could sense our frustrations with hunger and the drinks, was very apologetic and offered us a free drink as we were heading back to the harbor. To be honest, I'd rather had another round of the steak than a free drink, but it was a nice gesture.
The 10 minute fireworks presentation that they stay out an extra hour for on Fridays is not worth the premium. What is worth the cruise was the entertainment. The hula dancing and Lenny on the piano was enjoyable. Also, the sax player was great and the lady singing on the way back to the harbor was nice as well. All of them performing together was a wonderful treat.
The cruise portion of the trip was good. The food tasted great, there just wasn't enough of it. The entertainment definitely made this an enjoyable cruise. If you want to go home with a full belly, I would suggest you eat beforehand.

Thank ScottSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stars_of_Paradise, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on trip advisor. We're glad to see that you enjoyed the cruise and entertainment. We'll be reviewing the inconsistencies of your experience with our management team onboard. Thank you for sharing the issues you encountered, as we're always striving to provide the best experience for our customers.

Mahalo,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

What a wonderful ship. We saw lots of whales on your cruise. They also had a singer and hulu dancer on the ship

Thank reneeprok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stars_of_Paradise, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again during our next Whale Watch season that begins in late December 2017!

Mahalo,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

What a great cruise. Food was great entertainment fantastic. I would highly recommend this as a must when in Hawaii. Staff so friendly and funny especially the last song/ dance YMCA

Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stars_of_Paradise, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience. Congratulations! We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your cruise with us. Thank you so much for your recommendation! We hope to see you again.

Mahalo,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

What a wonderful night we did the 5 Star dinner Sunset Cruise excellent service and the food was fantastic would recommend it to everyone Lynette K

1  Thank lynettek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stars_of_Paradise, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Aloha,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience. We're delighted that you came to celebrate your birthday aboard the Star of Honolulu. It's great to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Star of Honolulu - Dinner and Whale Watch Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing