We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Kahala manages to be a classic old-school hotel in the best way while providing the amenities of a resort. The atmosphere is soothing and relaxing. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. The rooms are updated and clean but again, still classic. Coming here is a beautiful escape.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank akr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the soothing and relaxing stay at The Kahala. Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another beautiful escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my husband and I's first stay at the Kahala and we will definitely be back. After staying at hotels on Waikiki for many years, we really appreciate how uncrowded and secluded the Kahala is. The hotel grounds is beautiful and we just love the nice and quiet (almost private) beach right in front of the hotel.

Check-in was smooth. Was given an upgrade to a Scene Lanai room since we booked through Virtuoso. The room itself is a bit outdated and starting to show wear and tear but clean and functional. Shuttle service to town is very convenient. The beach! Oh I can just lay on the beach lounger for days.

Dining was a hit and miss. Room service on our 1st night was mediocre at best. However, we really enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast at the Plumeria Beach House. We also dined at the Italian restaurant on the property one night and had an awesome dinner.

The only thing I feel lacking from this place is the service. Service was okay but nothing exceptional. Bell staff was almost non-existent. We were never asked if we needed help with our luggage or transportation arrangement. Front desk staff was polite but almost robotic. We just expected more from a gorgeous, classy place like this but unfortunately we weren’t completely satisfied with the service that we have received here. Nevertheless, we would still go back for the breakfast and awesome beach.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast, and awesome beach. Thank you for your detailed feedback as it helps us improve to better meet the needs of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our fifth visit to the Kahala Hotel and it remains our favourite in Honolulu. Situated just 15 mins from down town Waikiki, it is so much more peaceful, with its 'own' beautiful beach, than the hotels along Waikiki beach. The complimentary shuttle service to the local mall and Waikiki is fabulous, and allows you to get to Waikiki for serious shopping etc. it is heaven to return to the resort each time though! Service remains excellent, from bell hop, front desk, housekeeping and the delightful Steve and Gene in the bar, nothing is ever too much trouble.
Although understanding of their long association with Dolphin Quest, it is really no longer 'enjoyable' seeing dolphins used for tourist attractions and this should be something that the hotel considers in this day and age.
Overall though, this hotel remains our firm choice when visiting Hawaii each year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiitraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your 5th visit to The Kahala. We are delighted it is your favorite and that you appreciated the complimentary shuttle, service, friendly staff and the beautiful beach. We look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Kahala is perhaps the classiest hotel we've ever stayed at. Everything was first rate, from the staff to the room to the quality of the food in the restaurants. My only quibble was with the iHome clock/radio in the room, difficult to set (there was no manual) and inefficient once set, overly technical and virtually useless. The beach there was also delightful, uncrowded and with a nice sandy bottom. All-in-all, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Dolphin Pool room. It was nice to watch the dolphins from our lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim727182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the world class of The Kahala. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Kahala is a bit hard to describe given the stunning decor, service, staff, restaurants, location, cleanliness, view, beach, dolphins, etc. What a stunning facility that would be hard to top ANYWHERE. We had a stunning view of the ocean, ate multiple meals at the hotel, enjoyed breakfast on the first floor sitting outside on the edge of the beach, watching a Japanese wedding that was about to occur on the beach almost in front of us. If you do decide to try this exquisite hotel, please make sure you try at least one of their in house restaurants and also spend time with the dolphins at the hotel's pond: truly memorable. Also I believe that for an extra charge you can "swim and play with the dolphins".
One more thing: the location of the Kahala is on the "other side" of Diamond Point and this is a stunning advantage. It is located in a private high end neighborhood, the ONLY hotel in the area, next to a private golf course and NOT on Waikiki. But hey, a rental car or cab gets you to Waikiki in less than 15 minutes. Perfect.
For that special occasion, this is a sure bet to use for your visit. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A view of the ocean is absolutely required; otherwise, why are you here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ralphwilhelm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stunning view, dining and our friendly staff. The location is unique and the only resort on Oahu with resident dolphins. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,571 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
281 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: RM1,670 - RM3,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing