We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$517
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$725/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$277
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
US$217
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$384
US$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,092)
Filter reviews
3,092 results
Traveller rating
2,226
533
183
82
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,226
533
183
82
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe dolphin lagoonplumeria beach houseseaside grillprivate beacharancinopacific dream photographydolphin experienceplumeria restaurantlanai roomkoko headbreakfast buffetfour seasonsturn down serviceour honeymoonfree shuttleshuttle servicebusy waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 3,092 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

It was my husband and I's first stay at the Kahala and we will definitely be back. After staying at hotels on Waikiki for many years, we really appreciate how uncrowded and secluded the Kahala is. The hotel grounds is beautiful and we just love the nice and quiet (almost private) beach right in front of the hotel.

Check-in was smooth. Was given an upgrade to a Scene Lanai room since we booked through Virtuoso. The room itself is a bit outdated and starting to show wear and tear but clean and functional. Shuttle service to town is very convenient. The beach! Oh I can just lay on the beach lounger for days.

Dining was a hit and miss. Room service on our 1st night was mediocre at best. However, we really enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast at the Plumeria Beach House. We also dined at the Italian restaurant on the property one night and had an awesome dinner.

The only thing I feel lacking from this place is the service. Service was okay but nothing exceptional. Bell staff was almost non-existent. We were never asked if we needed help with our luggage or transportation arrangement. Front desk staff was polite but almost robotic. We just expected more from a gorgeous, classy place like this but unfortunately we weren’t completely satisfied with the service that we have received here. Nevertheless, we would still go back for the breakfast and awesome beach.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast, and awesome beach. Thank you for your detailed feedback as it helps us improve to better meet the needs of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Our fifth visit to the Kahala Hotel and it remains our favourite in Honolulu. Situated just 15 mins from down town Waikiki, it is so much more peaceful, with its 'own' beautiful beach, than the hotels along Waikiki beach. The complimentary shuttle service to the local mall and Waikiki is fabulous, and allows you to get to Waikiki for serious shopping etc. it is heaven to return to the resort each time though! Service remains excellent, from bell hop, front desk, housekeeping and the delightful Steve and Gene in the bar, nothing is ever too much trouble.
Although understanding of their long association with Dolphin Quest, it is really no longer 'enjoyable' seeing dolphins used for tourist attractions and this should be something that the hotel considers in this day and age.
Overall though, this hotel remains our firm choice when visiting Hawaii each year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiitraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you very much for your 5th visit to The Kahala. We are delighted it is your favorite and that you appreciated the complimentary shuttle, service, friendly staff and the beautiful beach. We look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Kahala is perhaps the classiest hotel we've ever stayed at. Everything was first rate, from the staff to the room to the quality of the food in the restaurants. My only quibble was with the iHome clock/radio in the room, difficult to set (there was no manual) and inefficient once set, overly technical and virtually useless. The beach there was also delightful, uncrowded and with a nice sandy bottom. All-in-all, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Dolphin Pool room. It was nice to watch the dolphins from our lanai.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim727182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the world class of The Kahala. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Kahala is a bit hard to describe given the stunning decor, service, staff, restaurants, location, cleanliness, view, beach, dolphins, etc. What a stunning facility that would be hard to top ANYWHERE. We had a stunning view of the ocean, ate multiple meals at the hotel, enjoyed breakfast on the first floor sitting outside on the edge of the beach, watching a Japanese wedding that was about to occur on the beach almost in front of us. If you do decide to try this exquisite hotel, please make sure you try at least one of their in house restaurants and also spend time with the dolphins at the hotel's pond: truly memorable. Also I believe that for an extra charge you can "swim and play with the dolphins".
One more thing: the location of the Kahala is on the "other side" of Diamond Point and this is a stunning advantage. It is located in a private high end neighborhood, the ONLY hotel in the area, next to a private golf course and NOT on Waikiki. But hey, a rental car or cab gets you to Waikiki in less than 15 minutes. Perfect.
For that special occasion, this is a sure bet to use for your visit. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A view of the ocean is absolutely required; otherwise, why are you here?
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Smitty09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stunning view, dining and our friendly staff. The location is unique and the only resort on Oahu with resident dolphins. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left this beautiful hotel, we felt like royalty. The staff from the desk agents, to maids, to bellmen, to valet were all so very kind and made our stay here absolutely wonderful. Our day started out horrible until we got to the hotel and then because of the staff, they made all our worries go away. We ate at all of the restaurants on the hotel grounds and ALL of them were absolutely fabulous!. We definitely want to come back again. Our basic room looked like a suite, we were truly blessed. I can just imagine what their suites look like. The dolphins in the pools were beautiful! All of it is just so wonderful and welcoming. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: I am not sure if this hotel has any bad rooms, but from what we saw it is all great!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahalaHotelResort, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We are so delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay. Our resort is known for the impeccable service that we provide and we are so pleased to hear that our staff delivered that to you. The location is unique and the only resort on Oahu with resident dolphins. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews