We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIRST EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

GREAT FIRST EXPERIENCE
We were recomenned this hotel by our travel agent, and I have to say it was terrible the room was on 3rd floor so we asked to me moved and so down we went to the 2nd floor no view at all. I had explained that this was our 1st time in Hawaii and we were from Australia. She jus sent us down further. I will never stay at this place again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Aloha Trish T. and thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations and that you were not moved to a room of your liking. We welcome thousands of visitors here throughout the year and take great pride in taking care of our many guests' needs. I hope your future travel plans include Honolulu and if so, please contact me in advance and I'll do everything I can to meet your requests. Sincerely, Dean Nakasone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,751 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Brilliant location for this hotel.

Stayed in March 2011 for a family holiday and left the day that the tsunami hit, i would very much suggest this hotel if your planning a stay at Waikiki.

Staff very friendly, brilliant pool area and the breakfast served in the on-site restaurant is good, also this hotel has a nice bar area and is very close to places to eat such as the cheesecake factory which is directly across the street and very popular.

The rooms are fairly basic and it doesnt seem that they offer any sort of executive rooms like most Holiday Inns, however my room had a view, coffee making facilities, fridge etc along with a decent sized TV.

would stay again if im ever out in this area again due to price and location

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cornishsimon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything was perfect for us, great views from the 24th floor. Nice to have a place to eat "in house" and discounted for those staying at the hotel. Pool was refreshing and the hot tub too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Out_In_The_Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Waikiki was a last minute choice when a private rental on the North Shore turned out to be a dump. So it was a rushed reservation via my cell phone. Booked an economy room and confirmed it with HI central via phone but when we got to the Holiday Inn Waikiki desk they said they were full. I showed the nice lady at the desk the confirmation email on my phone and after about fifteen minutes and a visit with the Manager we were in a 11th floor suite with a balcony facing the ocean and a great view of Waikiki as well as the abundant nightlife along Kalakaua Ave. for 7 nights at our booked economy rate.
Was nice having Jimmy Buffet's as the house resturaunt and bar as well as the little Surf Museum bar. Nice room with a great view, pool is tiny but we came for the Pacific. Just across the street was Duke's and we became regulars.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jrprich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Aloha jrprich9 and thank you for your kind words! Our team works hard everyday to take care of our many guests, and we're certainly delighted that you found us here in Waikiki. We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber again one day! Mahalo, Dean Nakasone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here January 16-20 2012. It's a pretty standard hotel but has everything you need at a reasonable price. To get to the beach you cross the street in front of the hotel, go to the left a little bit and then there is a path on the right just past the Cheesecake factory. You get towels for the beach by the hotel pool (which is tiny). The International Marketplace is next door, lots of tacky souvenirs but the food is fantastic! The front desk staff were helpful and friendly and there is an Expedia concierge desk where they will make dinner reservations for you or they can sign you up for an excursion. We went on a sea kayaking excursion and it was fantastic!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cndinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,650 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: RM887 - RM1,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing