We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$159
View deal
Destinia.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Expedia.comUS$159
Hotels.comUS$159
Agoda.comUS$200
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,931)
Filter reviews
4,932 results
Traveller rating
3,229
1,049
355
156
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,229
1,049
355
156
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study day bed pool area waikiki beach adult pool ala moana shopping our honeymoon min walk pool staff the main strip partial ocean view friday night fireworks city view abc store the hilton hawaiian village pools concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 4,932 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2022

Good location: walk to Ala Moana Beach one way or Waikiki the other way. Rooms were large and the beds were comfy. BUT, the hotel itself lacks any island vibe or aloha spirit. It also is in need of major sprucing up from paint to furniture. All food is served in disposable containers with single use plastic cutlery. The cushions on the pool lounges were filthy.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sactocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Aloha sactocat,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel; we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We look forward to the future with our new owner and providing an experience most guests come to expect; many positive changes are on their way, including room renovations and mid-stay service.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by welcoming staff. They are expected to deliver to arriving guests that there is no housekeeping with your stay. I ask “staying 10 days and no one will attend to my room or change sheets?” That is correct. We can deliver to your room fresh sheet, the vacuum cleaner and anything you need but you have to do this yourself. The dining room served on paper plates with plastic cutlery. Room has no kettle and again no cups, cutlery to make tea with. Would discourage anyone considering this hotel. Find a hotel that gives you what you pay for

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deidrewalker2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kenric Lo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Aloha deidrewalker2022,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are currently in negotiations with the union in bringing back housekeeping service and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to our property once it returns. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

DO NOT STAY!!

I read the reviews after booking and was skeptical but thought we’d give it the benefit of the doubt.

Upon check in the staff were all lovely but unfortunately that’s where anything positive about this experience ended.

The lobby is old and dated. As soon as we’d arrived after travelling for 24 hours we were pounced on by an employee wanting us to attending “welcome meetings” to bury excursions and pressuring us to do things for which it was really hard to keep saying no!

We eventually got to our room after a shakey elevator ride and a walk down the dingiest hallway which was littered with trash as the place doesn’t have daily house keeping only To find it simply wasn’t up to par.

The room was grubby, dated, the furniture was broken, the bed literally sagged when you sat on it, I feared to take my shoes off as the carpet was so gross.

This combined with the lack of room service/house keeping was enough for us and we swiftly checked straight back out.

The saddest part is the staff clearly know it’s not up to standard as they really sympathised with us and we’re extremely helpful in getting us a full refund.

This was supposed to be a special occasion for us and after 24 hours of travelling we ended up traipsing the street after another hotel. Genuinely the worse and shortest hotel experience of my life, don’t go.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MissELH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kenric Lo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Aloha MissELH,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations that ultimately led you to not staying with us. Your feedback will be forwarded to the respective departments to address. We are looking to renovate our property in the near future and do expect it to become a better product. We hope you will give us another opportunity after the renovations to welcome you back to our property. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Great location! We walked to mall and lots of restaurants. Recommend for breakfast Goofys a 4 min walk and a $10 Uber to Bogarts. For dinner we liked Blue Water Shrimp and Seafood (10 minute walk) We were at Modern for 3 nights and true there was no housekeeping but towels were delivered to our rooms when requested. Very minimalistic design so be prepared to live out of your suitcase. No drawers. There is a microwave which was nice. Pool area was nice and looked over marina. It is dated but not as bad as we thought after reading comments. Good for a couple day stay for the location but I wouldn’t want to be here any longer.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kenric Lo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2022

Aloha Cathy B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the constructive feedback. The property will be going through a renovation in the near future and do expect us to be more updated once it's complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future after our renovations. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022

Elevator is super noisy. There was repair/construction one morning without any notice to guest. Even the lobby staffs did not know about the construction that started at 8AM on SUNDAY. No room service for the entire week.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeffong369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Aloha jeffong369,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry for the elevator noise and for not providing the mid-stay service. I have shared your comment with the Director of Engineering to alter this type of experience. In addition, the hotel is currently negotiating with the union to bring back the mid-stay housekeeping service.

Once again, we apologize, and we thank you for your patience.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews