We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese food ever”
Review of Chiba Ken

Chiba Ken
Ranked #151 of 2,629 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

The service, food, price were amazing. Never had this experience of quality and price before. Guys, keep on going this way! Awesome!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank docfish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We are habitual sushi eaters when in Hawaii. 14 nights and 7 of them sushi meals! This one was good, not great, but as busy as they were, the food came fast.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Gretchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The review seems to be high, but our experience was not matching to it at all. We had a reservation and arrived on time, and ended up standing by the entrance door for 10+ mins like a bunch of rottoning trees as no one came to greet us nor even make eye-contact. SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. As for food, it was just not that good at all - third class and boring. Tofu looked like out of package, which is cheaply avairable from a local supermarket. I would rather go to Gozen (great Tofu selections and others with warm service, a bit far from the central, but within 10min with Uber with around 8USD fair) or Katsumidori Sushi in Prince Waikiki in Honolulu. THIS SHABBY PLACE, NEVER AGAIN !

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This was only a few minutes from our hotel. Trip Advisor had some good reviews so my husband & I took a chance... we weren’t disappointed! We would recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We went for sushi but other offerings were so outstanding I really didn't pay attention to the sushi. Their signature dish is a slow-cooked pork belly appetizer--amazing flavor; hard to stop eating it. We also ordered hamachi-kama, cooked perfectly and served with delicious ponzu sauce. Misoyaki butterfish was also great. And the simple miso soup was one of the best we've had.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiba Ken also viewed

 

Been to Chiba Ken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing