We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Above & beyond expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Duplex in Paradise

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jjnz2016
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above & beyond expectations”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Apartment was spacious, clean & comfortable for the 5 of us staying. Kitchen was fully stocked with condiments etc. Washing powder provided. Even shampoo was available if needed. Upon arrival we were greeted with a home cooked meal. There was cake in the fridge we could help ourselves to. On New Years Eve we were given some delicious nibbles to have with our drinks. All the little 'extras' contributed to making our week's stay that much more memorable.
Definitely need a rental car. A taxi costs $20 to get to Waikiki.
Ash is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious & very clean apartment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin J
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday house for a family ”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at this lovely place, enjoying dawns and sunsets on the lanai overlooking Diamond Head. The neighborhood is really quiet, more birds than cars. The house is spacious, three bedrooms and two bathrooms. There is no air conditioning, however there are fans in all rooms.
We were five adults sharing the house. All of us were very pleased with the house. The only thing we found less than perfect was that most kitchen knives where dull and that a cup or two where missing. However, this was not a big concern to us at all.
The house includes parking space for a car, which we recommend that you have. The house is located at the top of a very steep hill, and you will need a car to get around easily.
Ash is a great host, he really cared for us and made us feel at home in the true sense. If we'll go back to Oahu, we will definitely book this place again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gozmitlex...
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice view and clean house”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
12
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the house for 10 days in February with 3 others. Was plenty of room for 4 people. Ash was nice enough to pick me and my cousin up from the airport when we unexpectedly had to arrive a day early than planned and let us check into the house. Had only a few easy to follow rules like taking your shoes off before you enter and making sure the outside lights were turned off when we go to bed.

The location was quiet, no noisy neighbors, no traffic. The house came with a few little extras like shampoo and soap in the bathroom, snorkeling gear, beach towels... etc.

If the opportunity arrived i would book here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area and the owners are not intrusive.
Liked least: Location is in the suburbs so without a rental car, it's not ideal to book here.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
6
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this apartment for two weeks in Nov / Dec this year with 2 friends. This apartment was perfectly located out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but close enough to everything you could ever need. Its clean, tidy and has all the comforts of home with the added benefit of the fantastic view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Ash and family are wonderful and happy to help in any way. They had lots of great suggestions of attractions to see and places to visit and could not have been more accommodating hosts.

This experience had more a feeling of staying with friends or family than being in a rented property. Every possible need was considered with the amenities provided within the property. Staying here gives you the opportunity to experience Hawaiian living like a local.

Please note that there are a dozen or so stairs to navigate to get to the apartment which are quite steep, but they should not put you off staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ash and family, the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ophiodon
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, compact and easy.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

The apartment was immaculate when we arrived, even by my mom's standards. Ash and his family were very accommodating and helpful for the entire stay. The house is conveniently located so it's easy to get out to the windward side or waikiki and has a nice outdoor space for just hanging out. We crammed in 8 people, including 3 kids, and it was comfortable, but it did mean a bit more bed sharing than we would have liked. There are 3 bedrooms and 3 double or queen beds.
My cousin's son was celebrating his birthday, and not only did Ash provide cake pans so we could make our own cake, but also, per Hawaiian tradition, brought a birthday cake down. It was so considerate!
My one comment/warning, and we mentioned it to Ash when we left, is that if you plan on doing any real cooking, you might want to bring your own kitchen supplies. We had 4 plates, 5 forks, there was no cheese grater or vegetable peeler, the knives were dull. We ended up buying and reusing plastic plates and utensils and bought our own knife. It's not a big deal if you plan on eating out lunch and dinner, but we were trying to cook for the whole crew, so it was a bit challenging. Ash knows now, and he might be taking care of this for future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$275
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing