We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Value. Location. Clean. Great staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value. Location. Clean. Great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for location and price value for three days last week. I was in town on business. The front desk staff is super helpful and freindly. Quiet at night and clean! Very close to beach, a variety of dining options and stores. I felt comfortable and safe - as a woman traveling alone safety is of high importance to me. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Aloha Alexis C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are thrilled that you felt safe and well taken care of with our friendly staff. We are also happy to hear that the convenient location to restaurants and shops was a benefit to you during your stay!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    646
    218
    87
    46
See reviews for
382
762
135
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first tropical vacation was in Waikiki, at Aqua Bamboo, for 10 nights in January. We chose it based on TripAdvisor reviews. Upon arrival, our room was on the renovation side, but we were moved the next day. Great, friendly staff. Clean hotel. Super convenient. We loved it so much we're headed back for another visit in April.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetAway032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Aloha GetAway032,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs for a room away from the construction. It is also wonderful that you found the central location to be a benefit to you while you were with us!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in April! (Please contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com as I would be delighted to oversee your next stay with us!)

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just what we wanted -- a bit quieter part of Waikiki but really just a block away from the main drag & the beach. Our room had a beautiful big lanai and was a lovely place to hang out over the morning coffee. Room was spotless, appeared to be recently re-done. It isn't a four or five start hotel, but given the price Aqua Bamboo far exceeded my expectations. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Aloha Dave O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide the Aqua experience we are so well known for. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and lanai for relaxing, but were also able to experience lively Waikiki just minutes away.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was our first stay at the Aqua Bamboo. It is a smaller hotel which made it feel very homey and comfortable. I loved the quiet pool area with the trees, plants, and waterfall. A great place to relax.....and you could take your own food and drinks there which was awesome. IT is quite close to the beach and close to the action as well. The street tends to be noisey but it didn't bother me after the fist night. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: we had a corner suite with a kitchen...it was bright and sunny but noise from the street could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Aloha Faye R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing outer sanctuary along with the convenient location to Waikiki Beach. We are also thrilled that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our stay at the Bamboo started out wonderful, nice staff, beautiful room... but it went downhill from there. We had to kill more than 10 cockroaches in about 30 minutes. I know in a tropical area its common, but the hotel we had transferred from (Ohana West: wanted a nicer room for our romantic getaway) had no signs of roaches. When we went to front desk they said they'd send someone to spray, so we went for a walk. When we came back it was obvious nobody had done anything (we had wedged a towel under the bathroom door in an attempt to barricade ourselves from roaches). I also want to mention that Raveena on front desk, as much as she was friendly at first, when we came to her with our problem she seemed apathetic and not very helpful at all. She had an attitude like it was our fault, and that we should feel bad for bringing our problem to her (I actually hesitated going to front desk because she might be there) Needless to say, I had to call again and someone came up. Then we killed many more and decided this was not a relaxing place to stay. Dan at front desk offered us the Deluxe Luxury Suite for free, but we just wanted out of the hotel. He accommodated us by sending us to the Aqua Aloha Surf where we were lucky to receive a free upgrade to a deluxe suite. Overall, it was a pretty hotel, but I can't recommend a hotel where you have to kill a roach every 10 minutes. It was also a loss because we lost our beautiful ocean view, but at least we couldn't find evidence of roaches at the other hotel.

Room Tip: Check reviews to see if roach problem still exists. Request Pacific monarch or pool facing rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Aloha JAG91,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured regarding the little pests you found.

We undergo monthly treatments to regulate this challenge as best as possible, and when we receive citations such as yours, we call them to treat the problem rooms immediately. As we are in a tropical environment, they are quite at home here with the warm sunshine and coastal breezes. We do our very best to make sure they do not disturb any of our guests, however it is a constant problem we attend to.

We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback. Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this problem is taken care of. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 85 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#64 of 85 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): RM742 - RM1,182
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing