We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I have been to Waikiki 6 times, this hotel is budget friendly but in need of a fresh update Mainly the bathrooms which are tired and they have a plastic insert bath/shower one piece moulding which is a bit slippery, shower pressure could be better but you can live with it if you are on a budget. Air con a bit noisy for sleeping.
Female front desk staff good male hit and miss, cleaning staff very good. Parking $30-00 per day better to park across road at zoo cheaper or in Monserratt Street for free.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank charles q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi charles q,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us in Honolulu. We're proud to read that you've stayed with us on multiple occasions and received friendly service from our team. We've shared your comments regarding our opportunity to improve with the team as we move forward with updates to our hotel and look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We cound't use the swimming pool.
The deck around it was full of black mud.
It was disgusting.
The hotel was very well located, few minutes walking from Wakiki main atractions.
The staff was very frendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Flavio P,

Thanks for choosing Queen Kapiolani Hotel on your recent visit to the island. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and are glad you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to explore the islands attractions. We apologize you were not able to use the swimming pool and have followed up with our team to ensure this is improved upon immediately. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you and wish you all the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Location is right off the main road in Waikiki, near lots of shopping and food, a 2 minute walk from the ocean. Hotel is older and very basic, but clean and has a pretty nice (though small) pool. Good if you are on a budget and don't want a resort and fees associated with it.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank amberinreallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi amberinreallife,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location for short walks over to the beach or taking in all the local shopping dining and entertainment in the area. We look forward to your next visit with us and meeting all your expectations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is about a block off Waikiki Beach; very convenient! I love the older vibe as it reminds me of the pre-commercialization of this stretch of the Beach. The views of Diamond Head and the water cannot be beat for the price. The staff could not have been more pleasant. NOTE: As with any older hotel, the rooms are simply not sound-proofed. The room we had faced a public parking lot. On the first night around 2 a.m. there was a party around and in the cars; much loud hip hop music, dancing, screaming and yelling. Several other nights at around the same time the hotel seemed to get very busy - many doors slamming and noisy water in the pipes from showers. If you are looking to sleep a night through you might not find it here. Opt for the larger room or suite!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Seamus416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Seamus416,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us in Waikiki Beach. We're happy to hear that our team provided you with the true aloha spirit throughout your visit. On your next stay, please let us know if you are encountering any sort of challenge and we will do everything in our power to assist you. We look forward to our next chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Queen K. Nice hotel on the end of the busy Waikiki strip. The pool/restaurant/bar is a great place to chill out with great views of the beach, zoo and Diamond Head.
Room was large with all necessary amenities... contrary to some reviews, the AC worked just fine.
After leaving in a hurry, I left some items in the room. Leonor (Director of Housekeeping) was wonderful to chat with about locating them and she had my items mailed to me in a heartbeat. Great service from everyone at the hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DAvid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi DAvid A,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed relaxing at our Kulana Terrace restaurant and pool lounge area. We're glad the team was also able to assist you with retrieving your lost items. Travel safely and join us again soon... Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,620 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: RM506 - RM1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing