We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
US$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
US$179
Outrigger.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$357
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$446
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$166
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$236
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$533
US$464
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
412
634
350
122
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
634
350
122
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond headhonolulu zooacross the streetlouvered windowswaikiki beachkapiolani parkquiet end of waikikibell deskpool deckjunior suitean older hotelcity viewcorner roomthird floorvalet parkingbit datedsmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We cound't use the swimming pool.
The deck around it was full of black mud.
It was disgusting.
The hotel was very well located, few minutes walking from Wakiki main atractions.
The staff was very frendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flavio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Flavio P,

Thanks for choosing Queen Kapiolani Hotel on your recent visit to the island. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and are glad you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to explore the islands attractions. We apologize you were not able to use the swimming pool and have followed up with our team to ensure this is improved upon immediately. We look forward to future opportunities to serve you and wish you all the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Location is right off the main road in Waikiki, near lots of shopping and food, a 2 minute walk from the ocean. Hotel is older and very basic, but clean and has a pretty nice (though small) pool. Good if you are on a budget and don't want a resort and fees associated with it.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank amberinreallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi amberinreallife,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location for short walks over to the beach or taking in all the local shopping dining and entertainment in the area. We look forward to your next visit with us and meeting all your expectations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is about a block off Waikiki Beach; very convenient! I love the older vibe as it reminds me of the pre-commercialization of this stretch of the Beach. The views of Diamond Head and the water cannot be beat for the price. The staff could not have been more pleasant. NOTE: As with any older hotel, the rooms are simply not sound-proofed. The room we had faced a public parking lot. On the first night around 2 a.m. there was a party around and in the cars; much loud hip hop music, dancing, screaming and yelling. Several other nights at around the same time the hotel seemed to get very busy - many doors slamming and noisy water in the pipes from showers. If you are looking to sleep a night through you might not find it here. Opt for the larger room or suite!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Seamus416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Seamus416,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us in Waikiki Beach. We're happy to hear that our team provided you with the true aloha spirit throughout your visit. On your next stay, please let us know if you are encountering any sort of challenge and we will do everything in our power to assist you. We look forward to our next chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Queen K. Nice hotel on the end of the busy Waikiki strip. The pool/restaurant/bar is a great place to chill out with great views of the beach, zoo and Diamond Head.
Room was large with all necessary amenities... contrary to some reviews, the AC worked just fine.
After leaving in a hurry, I left some items in the room. Leonor (Director of Housekeeping) was wonderful to chat with about locating them and she had my items mailed to me in a heartbeat. Great service from everyone at the hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DAvid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi DAvid A,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed relaxing at our Kulana Terrace restaurant and pool lounge area. We're glad the team was also able to assist you with retrieving your lost items. Travel safely and join us again soon... Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

AC Air Conditioning does not keep the room cool enough sadly -- they are using these new low energy ac units but they did not get one strong enough for size of the room so the room never got below 77 degrees which is hot with humidity, the small ac unit was not adequate for the sq ft size of the room and the front desk would not move me to room that was ok, someone in mgmt needs to get an engineer who understands BTUs and sq ft of room, u cannot put an ac thats for a 150sq ft room in a bigger room the room was hot the whole time uggh, AC is very important when travelling to stay relaxed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi Mike Z,

Thank you for reaching out with your feedback from your recent stay. We are surprised at your comments regarding the A/C unit in your room. We understand that comfort is a top priority while traveling and are curious if you had an opportunity to reach out to a team member so we may have addressed the challenge for you. The team hopes to have the chance to serve you again in the future so we may demonstrate our commitment to improve and provide all of our guests with a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews