We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay.”
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay.”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The wife and I have Stayed at the Royal Grove many times and have found the hotel and staff
very good.The hotel is very close to all you would want to do as far as shopping and short walk to beaches.The bus stop is just up on the corner to travel all over the island.
The rooms at the Grove are very clean and all you would need for a very good vacation.
Why would you not look at the Royal Grove Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AustraliaRussell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    155
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
77
124
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My college age daughter and stayed at the Royal Grove in January for five nights.After the initial shock at how dated the place was we settled in for a great stay.The one bedroom with kitchen was so handy.It was easy to stock up at the Pantry on Kuhio,so breakfast,lunch,dinner and snacks were easy.The other guests consisted of older long term returning guests and value seekers like us,always well behaved.The pool area is an oasis of quiet where people sun bath,read or play cards in the shade.The maids tend the rooms daly (they do not do dishes)with towels,bed making and bathroom cleaning.If you are OK with "old but good"this is a fun place with great value and convenience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mixerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was clean, comfortable, spacious for the location and amazing affordable. We stayed in a two-room suite with a full-size bed and two twin beds. Exactly what we needed. We intend to stay at the Royal Grove for any future visits to Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've been staying here on & off every year for the last 40 years & have watched the hotel become a home & guests become family over time. You get what you pay for & the RGH is central to Waikiki entertainment. A block or so to the beach & surfing, snorkelling & markets. It's not for everyone but then neither is Hawaii so stay home & be miserable. Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sxthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Great location, clean room at a reasonable price, and helpful staff that see more than dollar signs when talking with. Many of the people we met at the hotel, have been returning year after year, for many years.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WpgMBMatlock_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
766 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
813 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): RM193 - RM644
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing