We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$193
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$236
US$221
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$439
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$320
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$174
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$306
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$2,568
US$1,049
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,660)
Filter reviews
5,660 results
Traveller rating
2,848
1,611
653
292
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,848
1,611
653
292
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
3,368 - 3,373 of 5,660 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a very nice hotel. The room was a decent size and was clean. The lobby and facilities were very nice. The food was good (but pricey) and the beach was...well it was Waikiki, so it was beautiful. The only thing to pay attention to when booking and staying is to BE SURE to stay on the beach side of the building. The street side of the building is VERY noisy until about 11PM or so, with traffic, people and street performers and bands. This is not very helpful when trying to get kids to go to sleep. Other than that, we had a very nice time at the Moana Surfrider.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side of the building are very noisy
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yanksfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

2nd year in a row brought our group back to the heart of Waikiki and to the first lady of the strip. Rooms in the tower should be your first choice, otherwise the original rooms need to face the ocean otherwise busy Waikiki will be in your ear. Can't beat the location and available restaraunts and shops close by. Beach is a little tight, recommend the reserved area for a guaranteed seat and Mai tai when you want it. Beach bar feels like they could improve their seating and tables, and the sunset view from the lobby is always impeded by the bar umbrellas. But great service with a smile, if a bit on Hawaiian time in general. Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were on our honeymoon and were checked in the Diamond Tower. The room was horrible and small facing the city street, and across the street you could see prositutes hassling tourists, very small bathroom with mold on the walls, there was also a horrible smell coming from the vents. The room next to us were so noisy (it seemed that they were right in our bathroom carrying on a converstation) that I went downstairs to speak to Janice who told me there was nothing she could do that they were sold out and we were not able to change rooms. She was quite rude and dismissive of my concerns. Later that morning I went again to speak to another representive at the front desk, Kiristin, when I told her my concerns she was like "we've never had an compliants from that tower" I guess she doesn't read Tripadvisior, after approaching her the second time by my husband and after much negotions and paying extra, we were finally moved to the tower wing.(Even though Janice had told me earlier the hotel was sold out!) Besides that, the hotel is located in the middle of everything, its easy to walk to restaurants and stores. Right on the beach. Make sure to go to Dukes next door, excellent service and everything is reasonable priced.
The value we paid, didn't match up to the first room we were in, paying 300 something for a room that is small and smells is poor value!
Second room was nice but again we had to pay $500 extra to upgrade (even though we reminded them we were on our honeymoon they didn't seem to care).
TIP* If you plan to sit on the private beach, go after 12pm, you can rent the chairs for $25, its $50 before 12pm.

Room Tip: Anything above 6th floor in the Tower room!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank price555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Our Mahalo to you for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your Hawaiian honeymoon. First and foremost, we deeply apologize for the accommodation that did not meet your expectations. Furthermore, please accept our sincerest apologies for the service issues you experienced with our front desk staff. Your experience on the lack of Aloha Spirit among our front desk staff was very difficult for our team to read, as that is one thing we take a great pride in here at the Moana. Please know your review has been shared with our operations team for immediate follow up and again, we apologize for this experience. It is our sincere hope you will allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves and welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Congratulations on the start of a beautiful life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Word to the wise, read as many trip advisor reviews as possible. Each report on this site gives some truth. Since we read ALL of the reviews many times, we knew what to expect and there were no suprises
We notified the staff we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were treated with a special gift. We requested a corner room with an ocean view in the historic banyan section. Amazing! BIG on the BEST view on the island but small in room size but we LOVED it!! The Housekeeping Staff, Valet, and Check In staff were overwhelmingly welcoming and helpful. Our room was always spotless and put together well, the valet always had our car ready when we requested and were always helpful with us unloading the car in the evening.
All reports about the swimming pool and pool chair situation is true. Bar service is dependent on which people are staffed at a particluar time. Duke's, home of some of the best food on the island, is located next door. If I could be gauranteed the same room, I would most definetly stay here again. I would have marked excellent but the bar & food service could use some work and hospitality lessons from their housekeeping, valet, and check in staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hogwallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were encouraged by our daughter and son-in-law to stay here and we requested one of the small Banyon wing rooms. The request was missed on the booking but instead we were given a superb ocean view room. Service was very friendly and efficient. The gym was great and we could keep up our workout routine. The pool is small and much of it in the shade and we didn't want to get up at 7AM to get a chair by the beach or pay $50 for one. But we didn't mind finding a place on the beach and joining the crowds there. The location of the hotel is great and we love the Honolulu Coffee shop that is attached. The food in the hotel restaurants is very average but we found that food in Hawaii is very average in quality and very expensive.
We would stay here again though if we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews