We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$197
US$191
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
US$210
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$447
US$334
Prince Waikiki
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$230
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$419
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$473/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,660)
Filter reviews
5,660 results
Traveller rating
2,848
1,611
653
292
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,848
1,611
653
292
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
3,298 - 3,303 of 5,660 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the lovely Moana Surfrider for 3 nights and loved it! The location is perfect, the place was immaculate (and I'm picky - I look for dirt, mold, etc..there was none that I could find) and the staff was just so friendly and helpful. Music playing at night, hula dancers, too. Loved sitting under the big banyan tree and soaking in the Hawaiian atmosphere. The pool is small but we weren't there for that, so not a big deal for us. We had breakfast included in our package and it was very, very nice. The hotel is walking distance to all the great shopping and tons of restaurants nearby. I would stay here again without a doubt and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LILady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Arrived in Honolulu to begin our Hawaiian holiday after a 10 hour flight from Sydney to be told by the Princess Kaiulani Hotel that we did not have rooms!!!! There had been three rooms booked in September 2011 by our travel agent....you can imagine what happened next.......we were given rooms at the Moana Surfrider down the road........had to carry our own bags and arrived quite frazzled......we are talking seniors here! The staff at the Moana Surfrider were great......they did everything they possibly could to make us feel at home - it was love at first sight - what a grand old lady this hotel is.......beautifully renovated with all the mod cons, but still retaining its old world charm......loved the rocking chairs on the front verandah. We could just sit and watch the world go by. Rooms were good - although very noisy (street noise)......just be careful not to take rooms in the wing next to the front entrance......but we were just grateful to have a roof over our heads so we were not about to complain about a little noise!!! The meals under the trees fronting the beach were great and reasonably priced and the entertainment was nice - thank you Princess Kaiulani for the opportunity to stay at this wonderful hotel......we will definitely stay here again......

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having lived in Queensland Australia most of my life, the Westin Moana felt like I was returning home. The white verandahs, columns and tropical ambiance was so warm and welcoming as well as the nice touch of a lei (nut necklace) welcome!

The rooms although small, were well appointed. King size bed amazingly soft and alluring.

Opening our window on the second floor (Banyan ocean classic room), allowed us to take in the sights and sounds of Waikiki Beach. At night we heard only the ocean, although my sister and brother-in-law faced the banyan courtyard and were lulled to sleep by the music, beach and peoples laughter rising up from below (I'm glad we were on the other side).

Housekeeping were friendly and courteous at all times, they provided extra black tea when asked (Aussies love a good cuppa!) without hesitation. We paid the mandatory resort fee around $20 a day. At first this annoyed us that it was not advised on booking with our agent, however it included many things, ie. free wireless internet, bottled water each day, up to 60min free international calls a day, yoga classes, to name a few....overall, it was worth it!

Because the older area of the hotel has timber walls, it got a little noisy at times! You could hear people walking and bumping around upstairs and through the walls. However, as we were mostly out shopping and sunning each day, by the time bedtime arrived, it didn't really matter - we slept like babies!

One great service Westin Moana provided was their guest laundry, god send! Down in the basement, but set up with everything you need!

There were about a dozen weddings at the Westin Moana in the six days we stayed there (spring!). It got a little annoying trying to dodge the bride and the photographers, however it is such a gorgeous property for weddings! We even watched weddings out of our bedroom window on a few occasions!

Whilst there we booked (travel desk at Westin Moana) a luau with Paradise Cove - amazing!!! That was the highlight tour of our stay in Honolulu! We paid for the deluxe package, and were not disappointed....highly recommended!! My husband had been on the Germaine luau a few years ago, and believed Paradise Cove well and truly surpassed this luau!

We visited Pearl Harbour (second visit for my husband). Booked the tour through the hotel and got a great tour guide Cousin Kev! He was informative and very friendly. He made our day extra special by giving us tips on where to sit and when to get to certain areas to make the most of our visit!

We took the PINK trolley (different colours for different tours) for shopping at Ala Moana Centre. If you like the expensive shops, this shopping centre is for you! Me, I preferred Ross dress for less about a block away for my bargains!! The good thing about the Ala Moana Centre were the restaurants on the top level. We had drinks and snacks at the Mai Tai bar and enjoyed the relaxing lounge chairs and friendly service.

Our shuttle service (Diamond Head Vacation tours) in Maui and Honolulu was the best shuttle service we've ever used! We will be using again.

Yes, we would go back to the Moana Surfrider in the near future. Its location (right on Waikiki Beach and across the road from the International Markets), beautiful big verandahs with rocking chairs that just keep drawing you back day after day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dric3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Visited Mar 2012 for 5 nights. Check in was fast though not as friendly as other Westin locations I've stayed in. Room was booked on great discount and the size reflected it. Small room, small bathroom, corner room adjacent to sitting area on 5th fl where a balcony was open to any guests. I mention this because at night the doors/window would slam and wake us up. Also the stacked daily newspapers would fly everywhere and the noise transferred into the room (i'm assuming it was due to the "openness" of the floor). during the day, however, it was nice to see the sunshine and feel the breeze. Housekeeping did an ok job--again not to the standard of other Westins. Overall we were satisfied with room.
The location was perfect--great for running a few miles along the beach or to Diamondhead. International market across the streets, mall within a few blocks (to the left), zoo and parks (to the right). The beach section is small and the umbrellas were impossible to reserve unless you wake up at 7am to make your reservation (in person at the beach) since you cant do it over the ph. And it is $50 for 2chairs and umbrella--all day rental.
The food was incredible and much better than other options in the general area. The best food we had our whole trip was at the hotel--buffet bkfast is def worth it, dinner and drinks at pool bar are delish.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Know you are paying for location. Service is shaky--some workers are amazing and go out of their way to help others can barely tolerate your questions. Also, if you want to do things around the island, dont stay in honolulu. We were on the North Side almost daily and it is an hr drive ea way. Some of the things we did in North Side: surf lessons, helicopter ride, golf, skydiving, Dole plantation, and mountain hiking/biking (jurassic park).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveLifeNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

From the minute you walk through the tall white columns of the Westin Moana in Honolulu, you are transported to a bygone era where people used to take time to just sit on a veranda and watch the world go by. There are several places in the hotel where you can do just that. From the rocking chairs in front to the lounge chairs on the veranda, you see people relaxing and soaking in the Island charm. The Westin beds are divine and we slept soundly after a day of activities, waking without an ache or pain. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The workout room is well appointed. The spa is lovely and the view overlooking Waikiki Beach is spectacular. Music is offered nightly on the patio. The beach sand is lovely, but the in the water it is rocky and full of coral. The current is surprisingly strong. We had a wonderful surfing lesson with Josh, but feet were pretty cut up after. The only real lapse is that the staff seem ill informed. On several occasions we were given a piece of information by the front desk that turned out not to be correct. The concierge staff recommended places that were in the tourist magazines, but failed to mention the best restaurants in the area. The exception here is Tomoko, who went out of her way to look up the Kuan Yin Temple for me because she hadn't heard of it. The service at breakfast was abominable. Servers dropped pitchers and plates, didn't know how to prepare the $12 Kona French press, and failed to check in regularly for coffee refills, etc. The food itself was good, however, including the Japanese breakfast part of the buffet. Location, setting/architecture, comfort, and cleanliness are the selling points for this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank seventydegrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews