We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
US$236
US$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
US$302
Outrigger.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$262
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$350
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$551
US$464
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
US$194
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$279
US$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$322
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
US$203
Outrigger.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$354
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,610)
Filter reviews
5,610 results
Traveller rating
2,820
1,600
647
291
252
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,820
1,600
647
291
252
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingoldest hotelbeautiful hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,096 - 2,101 of 5,610 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2014

My wife and I love this hotel. It is from a bygone era with all the modern upgrades. Located in the centre of town with absolutr beachfront and outdoor resturant, it claims the best beach views in town.
It is like a grand lady, with rich timber floors and antique architecture.
The staff were helpful and polite.
The rooms are well set out. No overly large. but well appointed.
There are bigger hotels with more facilities in Hawaii, but this place has a style of its own and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room prior to having your bags taken there.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for staying at the Moana. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Moana’s rich history and charming ambiance. Affectionately known as the “First Lady of Waikiki,” the Moana first opened her doors in 1901, welcoming guests to a new era of luxury accommodations in Honolulu. Today, we are proud to blend the traditions of her bygone era with modern amenities and comforts, while continuing to share the beauty of this timeless setting with all of our guests. We are also glad to hear that you were pleased with the attentive service provided by our associates, as well as your experiences dining in the Banyan Courtyard. On your next visit, join us in the courtyard for an exhilarating view of a picture perfect Hawaiian sunset. You won’t want to miss it. We look forward to next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Highlight of our trip. Great service. Fabulous view and décor. Very well kept beach and grounds. Hotel is central to all the action. Good example of getting what you pay for. Building and rooms are tastefully aged and still have a modern feel. Will return again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Aloha Darren,
We are happy to hear that your stay at the Moana was a highlight of your trip to Hawaii. As the first hotel built on Waikiki Beach in 1901, the Moana stands as a historic landmark that continues to provide unique Hawaiian hospitality for our guests in a timeless setting. We take great pride in blending the Moana’s original features and details with modern conveniences and amenities for our guests, so it is great to hear that you were pleased with the charming ambiance and design of the property. On your next visit, continue to seek rejuvenation at Waikiki’s only oceanfront spa, the Moana Lani Spa. Overlooking the shores of Waikiki Beach, the Moana Lani Spa features Hawaiian healing treatments and relaxation facilities that will surely leave you feeling renewed and well. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Some staff are very good, specially concierge. Some could come across rude. The property is right by the beach. Pool is very small. Location is central and walking to the Main Street and close to many restaurants and shopping. We would consider another hotel next time.

Stayed: November 2014
1  Thank DD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Aloha DD,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Moana’s unique location right on Waikiki Beach. Amidst the spirited city life of Kalakaua Avenue, the Moana is steps away from shops and restaurants, as well as the iconic stretch of Waikiki Beach – many of our guests delight in taking just a few steps out of the lobby to reach the warm sands and cool waters of the Pacific Ocean. It is disappointing to learn that some of your personal encounters with our associates were less than perfect, but we are glad that our Concierge associates were friendly and attentive to your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next stay in Waikiki.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Stayed in a Tower ocean suite diamond head room. This hotel is right on the beach... there are only a few that are actually on the beach. Walk out the door to the surf, reserve a cabana, order drinks from the pool/beach bar, take a surfing lesson or ride a catamaran.. all right there. Enjoy incredible sunsets from your two balconies overlooking the beach. Nice spa and workout facilities too. This is heaven.

Room Tip: Diamond head views are best..if your budget allows, go for the tower suite with Diamond Head view, It is at the end of the building overlooking the beach with the Diamond Head Crater in full view beyond the famous Waikiki beach. Ask for an upper level floor for best views; note you will be able to hear the live music from the beach bars until 9 or 10, but it is good Hawaiian music so its all part of the experience.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank liz-onvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Aloha Liz,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay at the Moana was heavenly. The Moana’s unique oceanfront location is a favorite feature of many of our guests – we are delighted that your days on the beach were well-spent with an afternoon under a private umbrella, surfing lessons, a catamaran ride, and drink service from our friendly associates. It is also nice to hear that you were pleased with your experiences at the Moana Lani Spa and WestinWorkout fitness facility. Next time, leave your workout clothes at home! With our Westin Gear Lending program, guests are offered New Balance clothing and shoes to use during their stay so they can pack light and stay fit. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for another wonderful stay.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The very best location in Honolulu, nothing comes close. Great history, architecture and of course Westin service. A room overlooking Waikiki beach was perfect. Not as big as other Westins, but the outside view compensated for everything. Private enclosure on the beach. Choice of informal and informal restaurants. Wonderful cocktails and more.

Room Tip: Pay extra, get the view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Aloha Brent,
Mahalo for your review. It is wonderful to hear that your stay at the Moana was relaxing and enjoyable. Like you, many of our guests fall in love with the Moana’s timeless beauty, charming ambiance, and of course, the inspiring views of Waikiki Beach and a Hawaiian sunset. We are also glad to hear that you were pleased with the Moana’s unique location amidst the spirited city life of Waikiki, as well as your dining experiences. Head down to bin1901, our piano bar in the lobby, for an unforgettable evening on your next visit. Tap your toes to the tunes of our nightly performers while you sip on your favorite cocktail and gaze out at the natural beauty that surrounds such a special place in paradise. We look forward to your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews