We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,817)
Filter reviews
5,817 results
Traveller rating
2,904
1,647
670
307
289
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,904
1,647
670
307
289
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the banyan tree rocking chairs tower wing beautiful hotel oldest hotel waikiki beach heavenly bed older part original building ocean view old hawaii diamond head new tower an umbrella heart of waikiki resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 5,817 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If you wish to travel to the busy Waikiki area, you must stay here. The Moana Surfrider is old style elegance at its best. The view, service and style are unparalleled and not to be missed. Blow the budget, if necessary, and do not miss this opportunity.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank IntrepidTravele... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Visited here to eat dinner and was told when we booked, we wouldn't be near the beach as they were booked in that area. Arrived to receive and amazing table on the beach and the most awesome service from Brandon, along with amazing views and hawaiian music. The food was nice and the cocktails awesome!

Room Tip: If you aren't staying here, book ahead for dinner!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kstoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

BEST LOCATION! GREAT ENTERTAINMENT TOO! Glad to be back and hope to go again soon. We love this beautiful hotel. The location is fantastic. The best beach is directly in front of you and there is great food all around you! The hotel itself has wonderful food, but Dukes is right nest door and Michelle's is an easy walk through the park. The biggest drawback is the pool and the lack of loungers!!! Get up early to save a seat!

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank CACfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I chose this hotel for our seven night stay due to the location (beach frontage and main street access). Overall we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, complete with friendly staff and a pleasant vibe in all areas of the hotel, including the downstairs lobby and rocking chairs on the veranda, where we sat to read and watch the world go by a few times due to rainy weather!

The only thing stopping me giving this hotel a five star “excellent” rating is the price per room, for what you get. Although the rooms were clean and with exceptionally comfortable beds, they were on the small side, and when paying $500 plus a night, you do expect higher standard of room. For example our room overlooked a roof top and the street, and was very small, and although it must have been renovated at some point in recent years, it still felt a little tired. You definitely pay for hotel location in Waikiki! That being said, location it does have and we were pleased with our choice of hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SimoneM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I are staying at the Moana Surfrider for a couple of nights before heading to Maui. The hotel is beautiful, and his storage. We like it very much. However, this review concerns one of the managers at the Moana, Brandon Claypool.

Mr. Claypool is the kind of person who feels like an old friend, even if you have only met recently. He is warm and welcoming and an excellent ambassador for the hotel. Not only is he friendly and engaging, he understands customer service and personal relationships and is superlative at both. He is a credit to the institution and invaluable for customer satisfaction. The Moana is lucky to have him and hopefully his superiors understand this. People like him create repeat business and sparkling referrals.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JoeH3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews