We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$339
US$309
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$169
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$558
US$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$328
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$202
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$425
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,717)
Filter reviews
3,717 results
Traveller rating
784
1,560
858
325
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
1,560
858
325
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplash barhigh ocean viewacross the streetresort feea pool view roomwaikiki beachnightly entertainmentbeach servicethe international marketheart of waikikibeach chairsan older hotelhotel is in a great locationlobby areapool sideself parkinghigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,698 - 1,703 of 3,717 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We chose this hotel based on it's location, right in the heart of Waikiki. Check in was fast and they upgraded us for free to a pool view room. I believe this is the oldest wing of the hotel but we had no problems with our room. The room was clean and it had a small lanai that over looked the pool. We had requested 1 king bed but non were available, so we had to settle for 2 doubles. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the best feature of the room. We actually really enjoyed having our own beds to relax in after long days in the sun!! Sure the hotel is old, but it's very well kept and I didn't see any signs for the horror stories that some people in previous reviews have stated. We rented a car for our entire trip, so the resort fee of $12 per day was actually a good deal since it included parking. I do believe the resort fee has been increased to $18 per day, still not bad if you have a car.

I believe the majority of the bad reviews for this hotel come from people with unrealistic expectations. People have to remember that this is a 3 star hotel. For the price we paid, we were very satisfied with our stay. I know this hotel is not considered a budget property, but if you shop around a bit you should be able to get a good rate like we did. I would recommend this hotel to first time visitors or people on a bit of a budget. The hotel's location can't be beat and it's a lot nicer than some of the other moderate hotels we have stayed at for around the same price range.

Room Tip: Try to request a pool view room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeTiger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Aloha LeTiger13 and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We happy that you enjoyed our location and your accommodations. We recently upgraded all our bed lines and Sheraton Sweet Sleepers, so we are pleased to hear that you found the bedding to be very comfortable and the best feature of the room. Thank you again for your kind comments. We hope to see you back at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani hotel again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

As a repeat visitor to Waikiki, the Sheraton Princess was a new accommodation experience for me. All major hotels were booked upon our arrival a day early, so we stayed at a "familiar" hotel down the block. We requested early check in, and left our bags and headed to enjoy the sun. On our original booking we had requested 2 double beds, and this had been confirmed in the morning. Alas when we returned at 3pm, our room contained a single king. Michelle, our Front Desk agent suggested a rollaway, as a temporary fix, to which I replied "No". Brian, the Front Desk Manager, met with me, and with Michelle's assistance they ended up giving us 2 single rooms for the price of 1 room. We were both most impressed with the professional way this mistake was rectified.

My friend was put in a smaller room, adjacent to an elevator shaft, which was quite noisy. Understanding the Hotels capacity, we gain asked when a room became available away from the unending noise, would a room switch be possible, again to our delight, the Front Desk crew made this move seamless, while my friend was out- thank you!

The Hotel is very centrally located to the main shopping strip, and very handy to the beach. For both of us, the gym facility is very important, the new equipment, and state of the art cardio equipment was fantastic. I might add, there is a $12 a day resort fee, which includes 2 Bottles of water, coffee, free internet, beach towels, gym, fruit at the beach, and other goodies, that upon review SAVED us a lot of money.

The rooms in the old wing were rather dated, but very clean, and our housekeeper, Belinda was a joy! All said and done, I enjoyed my stay, and both of agreed we will return in the future. Well done, Sheraton Princess team!

Room Tip: Stay away from any of the North side 515, 615, 715, etc in the old wing, as you will hear the elevators all night and day.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SprBaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Mahalo SprBaje for sharing your great experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that our helpful front desk staff was able to assist you and make you most comfortable. Our centralized location is very popular with our guests so we are happy that you enjoyed it too. We are happy that you found our daily resort charge to be of value and enjoyed the included amenities. Thank you again for your gracious comments. We hope to welcome you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Upgraded my room upon arrival I was told it would be 250.00 total.A few hours later I saw tax had been added on a separate transaction on my credit card.it was even the card I secured the room with...Also stay away from the food at th Creation polynesion dinner show.Opt for just the show.we had the deluxe package at 116.00 per person food was horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcclain24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you jmcclain24 for your feedback as this will help us to improve. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the refreshments at our Creation, A Polynesian Journey show. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Room 379 is a smelly room with wiew and smell of the huge garbage bins in front.

The COZY ROOM WITH CITY WIEW consist of 5 parking floors of the Ohana hotel on the right, 4 floors of parking in front and 10 floors of the rear of the main building on the left side.

The advertised price is false and misleading as they charge you an extorsion fee that is called resort fee on top of your daily cost.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Visit your room before
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzimoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you tzimoun for your comments. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We have shared this with our management team and had our engineering managers and housekeeping manager inspect this room. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is located across the street from the beach in the middle of Waikiki. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Most of staff are long-term employees.

The $13 take-out buffet breakfast box was well worth it.

Unlike most other Waikiki hotels, the ambiance around the pool was very relaxed and quite. The early evening entertainment was upbeat in a good Hawaiian way.

The hotel is centrally located and everything you need is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Aloha Nelson35790 and thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, and breakfast to go option at Pikake Terrace. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews