We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really NICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Really NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I did not know how much I would like this place. It just feels right. It's comfortable, well located, and the rooms are super comfortable. The beach is tiny but we preferred it to the pool. Because of it's small size the hotel is able to keep it sandy, which was unusual to find in our hawaii travels which included four islands over two weeks. And your location keeps you connected to the town as well, which has nice shopping and good restaurants. The restaurant at the Hotel was very good but expensive so walk into town and eat like the locals for much less. The setting of the restaurant is the real draw anyway as it overlooks the ocean.

They put on a wonderful show in the evenings out on the lawn. We are able to enjoy it from the deck of our room as well because tables are crowded and we have a young child.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Streetfeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    451
    148
    52
    38
See reviews for
637
1,167
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HAWAII
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

What does this place have to do to get rated number one? The HALEKULANI is the absolute best hotel in the urban jungle of Waikiki. You want sophistication, you are in the right place. You want casual, you are in the right place. Take note, the property is on the water, but it does not have a private beach. If you are a beach person, the sand is about 30 yards to your left or right. If you are a pool person, well you've come to the right spot. As soon as you enter the grounds the noise and din of the city evaporate. House Without a Key or HWAK is my favorite place to eat and drink. Spectacular sunset views with first class entertainment. The grounds are green and lush and the staff, from the moment the guy opens your door when you arrive, is superb. I stay here as often as I can.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SURFER_DUDE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Halekulani means "a house befitting heaven" in the Hawaiian language. It is all that and more. The staff so magically remembers the guests names that I suspect hidden cameras and microphones are used. The House Without a Key restaurant and bar is excellent morning, noon, and night. Kanoe Miller is magical on stage on her nights. Lewers Lounge is the best place on Oahu for a nightcap. It is possible to vacation on Waikiki and have an actual enjoyable upscale experience -- this is the place.

Room Tip: Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We just arrived home from a two week vacation in Hawaii - the first few days spent at Halekulani. I have been staying at Halekulani for over 20 years whenever we are in Hawaii. And it just never disappoints. The service is outstanding. It is elegant, quiet and understated. If you are looking for glitz, this isn't the place for you. But for those who enjoy quiet elegance, beautiful surroundings and attentive service, this is the place. The restoration was a non issue - we didn't hear any banging or noise associated with it at all. It was all being done very discreetly. And the renovated guest rooms were updated in a very modern, but still Halekulani way. Very beautiful. And on our final day, two hotel executives came to our room to ask us if everything ahd been to our satisfaction and if the renovation had been an issue.

I will never go to Waikiki and not stay at this "House Befitting Heaven".

Room Tip: Rooms with a veiw of Diamond Head are the ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I returned from a fabulous stay in Honolulu. The highlight of our trip was the amazing time we spent at the Halekulani hotel. We travel regularly to Hawaii, this was our first trip to the Halekulani as guests. From the moment we checked in, until the moment we departed, we were treated as valued guests. Every detail is addressed and executed flawlessly. The check in process is handled in your room, and in a discreet and professional manner. Each member of the staff is carefully trained and their concern for your happiness is thought of in the questions they ask, and the follow up you receive. The room we had was a beautiful oceanfront room. The furnishings were gorgeous, and the decor was updated and lovely. Our lanai had 2 chairs, with a full size chaise lounge. The room was everything you would expect from a 5 star property, and we much preferred the room to other 5 stars we have visited previously. Dining was always excellent, we missed Le Mer on this trip as it was being remodeled, however, House without a Key and the Verandah for afternoon tea were both excellent. The location of our room was so well situated that we could listen to and watch the nightly show from our lanai. The hula and music are definitely worth watching and sipping a nice cold Mai Tai only makes the experience more enjoyable. Each time we needed to get our car from valet, we were greeted by warm and friendly service, always asking if we needed a map, water, or a recommendation. You cannot beat the prime location, and if you want to shop you are close by to many shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the Halekulani so much that we spent most of our time either at the hotel or visiting our friends on the island. Our next visit will definitely be spent here, and it is definitely an experience that was 5 stars all the way!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 11th floor room, but they all have amazing views if you are Oceanfront, definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welovetravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): RM2,561 - RM3,288
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing