We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi To-go”

Doraku Sushi Waikiki
Get food delivered
Ranked #107 of 2,265 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Seaside Avenue
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience might have been better had we been aware a reservation would be required to get seating. As it was, we ended up calling in for a take out order. We arrived at the designated time (2 hours after placing the order) and had to wait almost half an hour because they didn’t have our food ready. Staff was not polite on this point. The sushi itself was delicious, the service was abysmal.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2021

Doraku Sushi has brought their A game every year we have visited Hawaii for as long as we can remember. With the increase in travelers and the downturn in open restaurants, make sure you get here early and have enough time to wait, or alternatively, make a reservation. You'll have to have your temperature checked as well as fill out their online contact tracing form before you can enter, but it was very simple. Their menu is now all online, and each table has a QR code you can snap to open the menu on your smartphone. Micah was our server, and he was absolutely legendary, always knowing exactly when we needed him and arriving at our table to assist before we could even look around to find him. The food was pure bliss, with dish after dish of fresh sushi and nigiri style sashimi wowing us over. 6+ Stars!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AkBlueliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021 via mobile

Like most places, the line and wait was long, so I suggest that you make reservations. Once seated the staff was friendly. We ordered a few items and they came out fairly quickly. We were wowed by the food unfortunately. They weren't bad, we have had better. What we were disappointed with was that I found someone's hair with the edamame that we ordered. They gave us a new bowl, but didn't make any adjustments with the bill for it. The waitress felt bad and I'm sure it wasn't her fault. Overall, probably wouldn't go back. Plenty of other sushi restaurants that I would like to try anyway.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank y2says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

My wife and I decided to give this place a try, as per the stellar reviews and reputation. Not only was the food great, but also - more importantly - we felt very much at home thanks to the manager, Todd, who was a true gentleman and absolutely took care of us. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HBA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Love to décor and seating options in the restaurant located on a corner section or the Royal Hawaiian Center, so they have big windows on two sides and and outside dinning area. There are private style booths, open tables, and a large bar area. This place looks like it is great for groups and seems to have a drinks, appetizers, and conversation feel verses a sit-down and eat quietly. Modern, yet comfortably relax with the natural lighting form outside and with the wood interior, I'm sure it is relaxing on the eyes at night.

Got the sashimi deluxe, which was beautifully plated with lots of edible garnish. Fish was deviously fresh and a nice assortment. It could have been a meal in it's self. Perfect for 2 people to share with some sides and be done. Also got the Rainbow Roll which was without rice, so great for those watching their carbs. It to was beautifully plated and very tasty.

Also got the Lobster Miso which was a shock to see you got almost half a Maine lobster in it. Got half a head and one claw, both of decent size in a big bowl of miso soup. Very tasty and not a bad price for what you get.

Their tsukemono side was a very impressive assortment of pickled vegetables and of generous proportions. Most times, the tsukmono at Japanese Restaurants is rather sad in appearance and portion, but this was more like a plate of pickled vegetables perfect for share with drinks and other bites to eat.

I rated this a 5 Stars is only for the food. Service would be more of a 3 Star. Due to COVID-19 dinning restrictions, I understand that service is not the same. However, there could have been a bit more polishing and training of the staff. Don't let this statement stop you from going and enjoying a meal there. It is very good and I will defiantly go back.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robertdX4400QY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doraku Sushi Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Doraku Sushi Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.