We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Dude/Round Up Motel(West Yellowstone)
US$232
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
US$288
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Lodge(West Yellowstone)
US$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)
US$444
US$414
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stage Coach Inn(West Yellowstone)
US$319
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
105
216
139
45
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
216
139
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedold faithfulgeyser basinshort walkadjoining cabinvisitor centershower and toiletclean towelsprivate bathroomice machinecan't beat the locationlate at nightoscillating fanstayed one nightsmall roomspent nightscell phone
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Plain Simple Cabins, Book very early. No Frills. Yes, sheets and trashcan, But, they now ask you not to expect them to bother taking out the trash during your stay because somehow you can pat yourself on the back and say you have a softer footprint not expecting them to pay an employee to come in and make the bed or take out the trash.
This is the best location for geyser gazing, can park the car and walk even to Biscuit Basin or Black Sand. Very near Observation Point. Can hear Old Faithful in the night. Restrooms are supper clean and nice if you get a cabin without bath. Rates have almost doubled recently, I guess that it because they dont have to pay employees for room service.

Room Tip: Double only may be single cabin, others are duplex or Quads, noise. No Baths are on edge of the forest, worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My husband and I stayed in these cabins for three nights. We got one of the recently remodeled ones. The cabins are small, simple but very clean. We had one with a private bath. There is room for a recliner in the room. There are no TVs or refrigerators but you don't come to a National Park to watch TV. The cabins are very convenient to the lodge, the Inn and Old Faithful. We were toward the back, very close to a running stream that we would walk down to. Beautiful setting.

Biggest pluses? They are very quiet; the main lodges are quite busy. The main plus is the wonderful location. We would get out early and walk all the paths to the lower geyser area and see the first eruption of Old Faithful. In the early morning, you may pass one or two people on the trail and only a half dozen of us were able to watch Old Faithful's early eruption. Spectacular! As the day goes on, tourist buses arrived so we would leave and explore other areas of the park.

I would recommend the Old Faithful area if you are staying in the park and the cabins work well. There is so much to see and do in that area of the park and the mornings and evenings were perfect for walking the trails.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanb1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We were able to check in early to our little cabin at Old Faithful meaning we could really make the most of our one night there. Keep going back to Reception and checking for availability - we were told to wait until 4pm when we arrived, but half an hour later (1:30pm) a different person on Reception was able to hand us our keys! The little cabins are small and basic but really perfectly formed - enough space for us and our luggage and clean. The location is the best thing though - steps away from Old Faithful! We got up at the crack of dawn the next day and walked the loop before the crowds arrived and before check out - perfect! Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Keep asking if you want to check in early. Some of the cabins are single units on their own - get one of those if you can!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SLCNKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Simple cabins, but nice beds.
Small but ample bathroom.
No refrigerator.
it is ok place to stay as you feel more part of nature then you would inside the large hotel, and we didn't find it too noisy in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesperOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Family of 6 - 4 girls age 7, 13, 16 and 18. We spent 4 nights in Yellowstone as part of 3 week trip in US. 2 nights at Roosevelt (highly recommend if you want to escape crowds) and 2 nights here.

This was ideal for us and I would recommend. Be aware that whole OF area is huge, really huge and pretty busy. I prefer to get away from crowds, however OF is good place to stay. We came via Norris Basin and arrived in the evening. Cabins are great, clean, fresh and we had en suite which I wasn't expecting, so that was ideal. We had to have 2 cabins for 6 of us and one had double bed and one had 1 double and 1 single. Could do with a laundry room, there is one I Snow Lodge, but quite a walk and upstairs and then you d have to wait for it. Not convenient at all, but did without, and who wants to be doing laundry!

I really like their environmental policy so be green - you don't need clean towels every day! We asked for extra blankets and towels from Reception and no problem. The 7 year old had a 'made up' bed of blankets on the floor! Room for storage and a desk. YOu only sleep in the room so no need for anything else.

Very handy for OF and great to walk round the corner and there it is so you can go as often as you like. We ate in the Cafeteria for 2 nights and this is functional eating tbh! But good value and when there are 6 of you, that's ok. Second night we made better choices and BBQ pulled pork was yummy. We got ice creams and ate outside watching OF. I think they could probably improve the food here.

There is a little kiosk also selling breakfast etc. We had run out of breakfast from the cooler. The bagels and muffins and oatmeal were ok and coffee very good. All staff very friendly.

No wiFI but that is a positive thing. It is really healthy to all get off devices and not waste time on phones etc when in such a fab place. Uploading pics etc can wait! I love that there is no wifi! However I did need to do urgent internet banking, and the wifi in Snow Lodge, according to the staff is not very good and not secure. So we drove into West Yellowstone first thing in the am, didn't take long, about half an hour or so as roads quiet. Sorted banking, got coffee, enjoyed the drive and on the way back took the detour to Firehole River where you can swim, saw Osprey and Elk and swimming FABULOUS!

Second evening at Lodge, we could see the Milky Way and a thunderstorm in the distance. I do think they could take a leaf out of Grand Canyon North Rim and subdue the lighting around OF. The stars would be amazing but there are blazing lights everywhere. This would be more in line with 'dark skies' and also more environmental.

I recommend going up to Observation Hill behind OF in the evening. Went up at about 6pm and no one about, and great view of eruption. Also saw loads of Marmots! One of my daughters said she saw a coyote one evening.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Debs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews