We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Nearby Hotels
The Old House(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
US$175
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TIN CANTINA @PENGUIN HOUSE.(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Rustique(Nanyuki Town)
US$132
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Lions Court Lodge(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Shepherds Huts at One Stop(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$47
Jumia Travel
View Deal
US$299
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mukima House(Nanyuki Town)
US$985
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porini Rhino Camp(Nanyuki Town)
US$1,290
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
636
262
79
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
262
79
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal orphanagehorse ridingwilliam holdenbeautiful hotelsouthern hemispherethe hotel offershole golf coursemain buildingbreakfast and lunchlog firemanicured lawnscolobus monkeysmount kenyathe cottagesstunning viewsbush dinnerturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is set in a beautiful location with large grounds that you can safely walk in. There is a swimming pool and a small golf course. Activities such as horse riding are also available.

We chose to have a riverside suite which was large with a wonderful open fire. The bathroom was also large with both a bath and a walk in shower. We had a veranda overlooking a large pond. This room required us to have a five minute walk to and from the main hotel. However the walk to the hotel is uphill from the river and as you are at a high altitude some may feel slightly breathless. A buggy is available on request.

The restaurant was had an excellent buffet breakfast and lunch. Dinner was a la carte and service was somewhat slow. My main criticism is that you are encouraged to book an all inclusive package which is good value. However on our last day we wanted a lunch and that was extra. No problem with that but the only choice in the restaurant was to pay quite a high amount for the buffet. We only wanted two small dishes and there was no a la carte option, it was full buffet or nothing. We therefore had to have a bar snack in the bar. The food was good but why it could not be served in the restaurant or on the terrace I do not know.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is one of the high end resorts you see in movies!

Well manicured lawns, a nice swimming pool with a glass hole, colourful birds.

Plenty of activities - horse riding, golf, maze. The rooms are cosy with a fireplace.

Advice: it gets freezing cold at night - so bring ur warms

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showersad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I really enjoyed the 1 night at the Safari Club. We never got the chance to see the normal room we had booked because we were upgraded on arrival without asking for it and ended up in a really nice, big and clean cottage with bedroom and huge living room with open fire. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was really good too. I did a guided bird walk around the premises the next morning which was very enjoyable. The views with Mount Kenya in the background are stunning. Luckily I am not a great fan of pools because the water was very cold, obviously not heated. The animal sanctuary could have been very interesting, unfortunately our guide seemed bored and didn't tell us a lot. My friend who had already stayed there 4 months earlier said that the last guide was much more informative and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After an arduous safari at Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru/Naivasha and Aberdares, this was the perfect BREAK before i head back home. Most people use it as a 'transit' point to Nairobi and spend only 1 night. This is a luxurious property, has a nice colonial feel to it (it apparently was a 'Hunting Lodge' back when the Britisher's colonised it) and one needs to spend 2 nights atleast for you to enjoy all the facilities of the club.

The hotel has a small but decent spa for all those wanting to a luxurious massage. They also send the masseuse to the room at an extra charge.

The PROPERTY ITSLEF IS HUGE offering amazing views of Mt.Kenya and the forest/s alongside. There is an open expanse of land facing the property giving one a sense of space and relaxation. Among the activities one can go cycling along the beautiful pathways or explore the hedge maze or better still just enjoy over 3 hours at the Animal Orphanage, petting Ostriches, various apes, antelopes & even riding a Large Tortoise!

They also offer a ‘ride in the jungle’ on horseback (recommended) and a Chopper ride to Mt.Kenya (expensive but worth it if you have the moolah to burn).

This place is ideal for couples as well as families, as there are enough activities to keep all busy! We were 2 couples who had travelled together and were GLAD we chose to end our African Safari experience at this hotel!

The staff is very very courteous and their hospitality amazing. This is an ideal stopover for all before taking that long flight back home from ‘Nairobi’…….highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try booking the Suites/standalone Lodges, offer you a wonderful view of Mt.Kenya
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aashish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in December. The staff was great very friendly and professional. The rooms are in very good shape. We stayed in the cottage which was worth the extra charge. Standard rooms are large and nicely finished. The food was good. The landscaped and the grounds are breathtaking. With Mount Kenya as the back drop. The animal orphanage on site is a great place to learn about endangered animals.
They have cheaper rooms called the river walk rooms these rooms have no TV and look over the woods and are hidden from the main building. Still very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterloo Inn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews