We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This resort is absolutly beautiful. The grounds, and the views are breath taking. We stayed here for two nights and were treated like royalty. We had a garden view suite with a view of the mountain, it's very roomy and tranquill, and when you come back from a wonderfull dinner they have come in a started a fire turned down your bed and put hot water bottles in. You have to try some of the activities offered, we went horse back riding into the mountains with a couple guides witch gave us some great views of the mountains and wild life, the animal orphanage was great, but make sure you go when you can feed the animals. The bird walk was great and we did the equator ceramony. You will also love the food, and the best part are the people, the were great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 819 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is set in a beautiful location with large grounds that you can safely walk in. There is a swimming pool and a small golf course. Activities such as horse riding are also available.

We chose to have a riverside suite which was large with a wonderful open fire. The bathroom was also large with both a bath and a walk in shower. We had a veranda overlooking a large pond. This room required us to have a five minute walk to and from the main hotel. However the walk to the hotel is uphill from the river and as you are at a high altitude some may feel slightly breathless. A buggy is available on request.

The restaurant was had an excellent buffet breakfast and lunch. Dinner was a la carte and service was somewhat slow. My main criticism is that you are encouraged to book an all inclusive package which is good value. However on our last day we wanted a lunch and that was extra. No problem with that but the only choice in the restaurant was to pay quite a high amount for the buffet. We only wanted two small dishes and there was no a la carte option, it was full buffet or nothing. We therefore had to have a bar snack in the bar. The food was good but why it could not be served in the restaurant or on the terrace I do not know.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is one of the high end resorts you see in movies!

Well manicured lawns, a nice swimming pool with a glass hole, colourful birds.

Plenty of activities - horse riding, golf, maze. The rooms are cosy with a fireplace.

Advice: it gets freezing cold at night - so bring ur warms

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showersad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I really enjoyed the 1 night at the Safari Club. We never got the chance to see the normal room we had booked because we were upgraded on arrival without asking for it and ended up in a really nice, big and clean cottage with bedroom and huge living room with open fire. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was really good too. I did a guided bird walk around the premises the next morning which was very enjoyable. The views with Mount Kenya in the background are stunning. Luckily I am not a great fan of pools because the water was very cold, obviously not heated. The animal sanctuary could have been very interesting, unfortunately our guide seemed bored and didn't tell us a lot. My friend who had already stayed there 4 months earlier said that the last guide was much more informative and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After an arduous safari at Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru/Naivasha and Aberdares, this was the perfect BREAK before i head back home. Most people use it as a 'transit' point to Nairobi and spend only 1 night. This is a luxurious property, has a nice colonial feel to it (it apparently was a 'Hunting Lodge' back when the Britisher's colonised it) and one needs to spend 2 nights atleast for you to enjoy all the facilities of the club.

The hotel has a small but decent spa for all those wanting to a luxurious massage. They also send the masseuse to the room at an extra charge.

The PROPERTY ITSLEF IS HUGE offering amazing views of Mt.Kenya and the forest/s alongside. There is an open expanse of land facing the property giving one a sense of space and relaxation. Among the activities one can go cycling along the beautiful pathways or explore the hedge maze or better still just enjoy over 3 hours at the Animal Orphanage, petting Ostriches, various apes, antelopes & even riding a Large Tortoise!

They also offer a ‘ride in the jungle’ on horseback (recommended) and a Chopper ride to Mt.Kenya (expensive but worth it if you have the moolah to burn).

This place is ideal for couples as well as families, as there are enough activities to keep all busy! We were 2 couples who had travelled together and were GLAD we chose to end our African Safari experience at this hotel!

The staff is very very courteous and their hospitality amazing. This is an ideal stopover for all before taking that long flight back home from ‘Nairobi’…….highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try booking the Suites/standalone Lodges, offer you a wonderful view of Mt.Kenya
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aashish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
39.1 km away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
314 reviews
21.0 km away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
221 reviews
9.8 km away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
361 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
8.0 km away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: RM971 - RM2,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing