We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
90
44
2
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
44
2
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view of mt the cottages an overnight stay great place to stay rooms are spacious two nights nanyuki mount meals clouds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021

Overpriced for what you get. Hotel is in a middle of grass field There is nothing there but man made pond. There is no landscape, no flowers. Lobby is nice. Room.is large but there is no screens on windows so you can't open them.for.fresh air. There is no fan, no AC. TV has 7 channels.
The worst is stuff. There is no receptionist. Bartender / manager is not pleasant . And all stuff are like that. Upon entering we were just standing there helpless while they were passing us without even asking if we need anything .
Get your act together people. Learn some hospitality and how to treat your guests

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ykley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipa Bengough, Owner at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to review Soames Hotel. We always appreciate the feedback we get, and will take on your comments positively and constructively.
We are an 'out-of-town' hotel and have never pretend to be anything other than this. If you were looking for a more wilderness place to stay there are many lovely options. We keep our grounds simple to conserve the amount of water necessary to keep them going. When we started this project 8 years ago there was literally nothing here so we are happy to at least have some medium size trees growing. All our rooms have 5 big windows and double doors. They all open up fully and we do not need screens as we have so few insects. The bed has a mosquito net for night time use. As for 'value for money' we rate along the same lines (or lower) than most similar properties in the region.
I am sorry for the poor service you received - we mostly get excellent comments about our team - almost all have been here since the start. I believe it was not intended, and we are grateful you pointed this out so that we can look at ways to ensure guests on arrival get a little more attention.
Hope you enjoyed your time in Nanyuki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

So’ames, what a wonderful little oasis with great views. We had been invited along by friends who couldn’t stop raving about it and they weren’t exaggerating. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine fantastic and the staff incredible, very warm, welcoming and efficient. We will definitely be returning and can certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank alexanderkV4625DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2021

4th visit and we continue to love Soames. Quiet, neat, serene and excellent food. The staff too are friendly and accommodating. Well organized with good views of the mountain and a convenient location off the main road and to the wider region.
Did I mention the food?

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

We stay with friends in the cottages for two nights. The staff were welcoming and helpful.The entire grounds, buildings and rooms were well kept, clean, cosy with a simple farmhouse concept. Meals are prepared fresh and decent portions of not too hungry.
We appeciated beautiful sights of Mt. Kenya from the cottage rooms and outdoor dining area.
Overall prices are slightly on the higher side.The double room was Ksh 11,000 for BB that accommodates. The Menu at the time due to COVID was alacarte and not buffet on average meals range ksh 1000-2000.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gkaluai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2020

It was my second time there. Honestly so disgusted by the racism. The fact that you come to tend to only the white clients, serve them food without taking our order and still come back to check on them without acknowledging other customers! Racism by your own fellow Kenyans is disgusting . It shouldn't matter that someone is staying at the hotel or is white. Then using the excuse that your busy.
And it's so sad because your food/chef is actually great

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bonbon254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews