We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Very nice hotel. My wife and I stayed on the top floor (2nd floor) of the main building. Nice and bright, big veranda with comfortable seating. Room was lovely, felt like a spa-style room.

Food was amazing if you have the Sri Lankan food. Western food was average, Sri Lankan food was way above average.

We stayed about 5 days. The beach is nice but small. Water is a bit rough for swimming, but great for strolling around. Grounds are well maintained. Nice romantic get-away.

Room Tip: eat the Sri Lankan food over the Western food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed in the beach hut for 5 nights recently. The beach hut is unique and idyllic - which is also true of the rest of the grounds of the villas. The grounds are also next to a lovely, quiet beach with a couple of small bars.
It's the sort of place which you would happily spend all day at, except annoyingly the food isn't quite up to standard. The menu is mainly western style dishes which we found to be fairly underwhelming and the Sri Lankan alternatives are tasty but the menu is limited. Also the resort doesn't serve alcohol.
Overall a nice stay and with a couple of changes, this place could be great

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Hidden away on the west side of weligama, this place was a chilled out paradise. We stayed in the one bed villa, which we loved, especially the quirky bathroom. There's no dining area so breakfast is served on your porch, which is no bad thing! The beach is right on your doorstep & is so quiet compared to weligama or mirissa. We would def come back.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethro-rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Walaawu Villa 18months ago and had the best experience ever but this time was a little disappointing. We returned based on out first experience but it seems that since the 6 bedroom villa has been built next door the staff numbers seemed to have dropped but are expected to cater for more guest which spreads the service thinly. Last time we left with all the staff lining the drive way waving goodbye and you could not complain about anything. All day beds had beautiful cushions and there was an iPod docking station to play some music softly. This time there was none of this! Candles were lit in the evening and rooms were cleaned promptly each morning but not this time! We had a bit of an emergency of a dog bite which resulted in a hospital visit and Nimal helped us all the way through this unpleasant experience only to be embarrassed to tell us that management had gone back on their word of paying for the tuk tuk to the hospital. The only saving grace was Nimal and Jerome who made this place. If it were not for them this place would have fallen over!! Not sure if I would return as there are more beautiful boutique places popping up everywhere.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank happycampers2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

My partner and I booked in to Eraeliya on a whim after our other accommodation in Welligama was less than adequate. As soon as we walked up to the Villa we were blown away by the Villa and the view of the Indian ocean you can see as soon as you walk in. When they took us to our room things just got better. The room was just beautiful, a fantastic bathroom and had a balcony overlooking the pool and sea. We couldn't believe our luck, especially as the room was so reasonably priced too!

Eraeliya Villa is the essence of boutique. Just a handful of luxury rooms all individually designed in a beautiful setting, with impeccable tailor made service. We adored everything about this hotel, it was like breathing in paradise and relaxation, and we were very sorry we had to leave after just one night.

The pool was incredible with infinity views to the ocean when you were in it. Watching the sun set while sitting in the spa bubbles of the pool, with an ocean view is a moment we will always remember.

Now the service was above and beyond anything we have found in any hotel in all of our many travels. Jerome and his staff gave us undivided attention accommodating any thing we could need or want, all with a smile. Jerome arranged a masseuse to come to our balcony and provide heavenly massage and reflexology, I was beyond relaxed and to top it off I was able to watch monkeys in the trees!

The food was also incredible. They made us an amazing seafood platter served on our balcony while we looked out onto the ocean, it was just divine. It was the best food we had in the whole of Sri Lanka. They were more than happy to accommodate dietary needs and even preferences. We also had the most delicious pancakes and fruit platter for breakfast.

This time of year the sea is rather rough on this side of Sri Lanka and the waves were huge. Thus swimming conditions were rather rough even for an extremely confident swimmer as my partner. I avoided going in the sea due to the waves. However we saw some amazing local surfers making the most of this.

I could not recommend Eraeliya Villa's highly enough. It really was perfect, an unforgettable stay, if we only knew about this place before we would have stayed much longer!

Room Tip: All of the main villa rooms are beautiful. Upper floor have a balcony and better view, lower floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jalizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.4 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
405 reviews
3.1 km away
W15
W15
#3 of 14 in Weligama
273 reviews
20.5 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
10.2 km away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Weligama
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eraeliya Villas & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eraeliya Villas & Gardens

Address: 299 Walliwalla, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Weligama
Price Range: RM714 - RM1,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eraeliya Villas & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eraeliya Villas and Gardens welcomes you to paradise. Our collection of villas and suites are set in a spacious ocean-side palm-shaded garden on a secluded beach a few kilometres west of surfing mecca Weligama. Our hotel has a strong design focus and our villas and suites - unique in style, furnishings and setting - are designed to appeal to a wide range of guests. Our garden spa, infinity pool, superb food and friendly service encourage relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eraeliya Villas & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing