We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eraeliya Villas & Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion's Rest(Weligama)
US$100
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hangtime Hostel(Weligama)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
145
33
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
33
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbella villahuge rain showerromantic lobster dinnerthe main housedinner servedprivate paradiseoperations managerhoneymoon villabarbed wireprivate terrassebutler servicesri lankawell maintained gardensthe entire propertytropical gardengreat poolgorgeous room
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed in the beach hut for 5 nights recently. The beach hut is unique and idyllic - which is also true of the rest of the grounds of the villas. The grounds are also next to a lovely, quiet beach with a couple of small bars.
It's the sort of place which you would happily spend all day at, except annoyingly the food isn't quite up to standard. The menu is mainly western style dishes which we found to be fairly underwhelming and the Sri Lankan alternatives are tasty but the menu is limited. Also the resort doesn't serve alcohol.
Overall a nice stay and with a couple of changes, this place could be great

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Hidden away on the west side of weligama, this place was a chilled out paradise. We stayed in the one bed villa, which we loved, especially the quirky bathroom. There's no dining area so breakfast is served on your porch, which is no bad thing! The beach is right on your doorstep & is so quiet compared to weligama or mirissa. We would def come back.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethro-rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Walaawu Villa 18months ago and had the best experience ever but this time was a little disappointing. We returned based on out first experience but it seems that since the 6 bedroom villa has been built next door the staff numbers seemed to have dropped but are expected to cater for more guest which spreads the service thinly. Last time we left with all the staff lining the drive way waving goodbye and you could not complain about anything. All day beds had beautiful cushions and there was an iPod docking station to play some music softly. This time there was none of this! Candles were lit in the evening and rooms were cleaned promptly each morning but not this time! We had a bit of an emergency of a dog bite which resulted in a hospital visit and Nimal helped us all the way through this unpleasant experience only to be embarrassed to tell us that management had gone back on their word of paying for the tuk tuk to the hospital. The only saving grace was Nimal and Jerome who made this place. If it were not for them this place would have fallen over!! Not sure if I would return as there are more beautiful boutique places popping up everywhere.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank happycampers2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

My partner and I booked in to Eraeliya on a whim after our other accommodation in Welligama was less than adequate. As soon as we walked up to the Villa we were blown away by the Villa and the view of the Indian ocean you can see as soon as you walk in. When they took us to our room things just got better. The room was just beautiful, a fantastic bathroom and had a balcony overlooking the pool and sea. We couldn't believe our luck, especially as the room was so reasonably priced too!

Eraeliya Villa is the essence of boutique. Just a handful of luxury rooms all individually designed in a beautiful setting, with impeccable tailor made service. We adored everything about this hotel, it was like breathing in paradise and relaxation, and we were very sorry we had to leave after just one night.

The pool was incredible with infinity views to the ocean when you were in it. Watching the sun set while sitting in the spa bubbles of the pool, with an ocean view is a moment we will always remember.

Now the service was above and beyond anything we have found in any hotel in all of our many travels. Jerome and his staff gave us undivided attention accommodating any thing we could need or want, all with a smile. Jerome arranged a masseuse to come to our balcony and provide heavenly massage and reflexology, I was beyond relaxed and to top it off I was able to watch monkeys in the trees!

The food was also incredible. They made us an amazing seafood platter served on our balcony while we looked out onto the ocean, it was just divine. It was the best food we had in the whole of Sri Lanka. They were more than happy to accommodate dietary needs and even preferences. We also had the most delicious pancakes and fruit platter for breakfast.

This time of year the sea is rather rough on this side of Sri Lanka and the waves were huge. Thus swimming conditions were rather rough even for an extremely confident swimmer as my partner. I avoided going in the sea due to the waves. However we saw some amazing local surfers making the most of this.

I could not recommend Eraeliya Villa's highly enough. It really was perfect, an unforgettable stay, if we only knew about this place before we would have stayed much longer!

Room Tip: All of the main villa rooms are beautiful. Upper floor have a balcony and better view, lower floor are more luxurious rooms and easier access to pool.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jalizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

The beach is so good and also the building, similar but more broad view compared to the Aman Galle near to the site. Housekeeper provides you everything for a dreamy holiday. You can stay there for a week without going out. Food, Ayurveda, swimming pool...

Room Tip: Get to the hotel directly and ask them for the long stay rates. Also the big houses got 2 bedrooms, and average room smaller but give you totally different view. Both good.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews