We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Martina's Place(Matagalpa)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mana del Cielo(Matagalpa)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Jose(Matagalpa)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Ulap Yasica(Matagalpa)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marias B&B(Matagalpa)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Hermosa(Matagalpa)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
132
84
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
84
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbook exchangeprivate roomfree coffeecommon areashot waterbeautiful hostelgreat recommendationslarge bedsmall libraryopen air patioparque centralupstairs balconylow costbring earplugsrocking chairsnice bathroomother guests
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This was our 2nd time at La Buena Onda and we had an excellent time once again. The staff are always so friendly and the private room we stayed in was extremely clean and comfortable. (I almost didn't get out of the bed because it was seriously more comfortable than the one we have at home.) I e-mailed Stijn, the owner, to let him know we were coming again for my husband's birthday, and he kindly arranged for us to have the room we had the first time (which we loved) and the staff had a little card and chocolate placed on our bed on my husband's birthday. He and the staff really go above and beyond, and when you're in a private room here, it really feels more like a b&b or hotel than a hostel. For the comfort, cleanliness and breakfast thrown in, the price can't be beat either. Thanks very much to everyone at La Buena Onda for two great stays! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Dear jdohara,


Thank you for incredibly positive review. It gives us a very good feeling when we hear that our intentions to make everybody feel welcome and comfortable are much appreciated by our guests. You have been great guests, we hope to be able to host you again some time in the future. You can always contact us for any information or help you need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Good location two blocks from the cathedral. Great staff who were helpful at answering questions and welcoming people.

V noisy for sleeping - it gets windy in the city at night and sounds like corrugated roofs banging. Price is high given room (altho huge) is very dated. Breakfast is ok given it's included.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diane_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Dear guest,


Thank you for review. We are happy to hear that we've been able to help you out with all your questions. We regret the fact that we were not the right hostel for you, we hope that you will find better suiting hostels/hotels during the rest of your journey.

Thank you for staying with us, we wish you a very happy rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This is a beautiful hostel. Nice beds. Big lockers. Balcony. Dining and common areas. Clean. Free water refills. My only complaint was the cold shower. I'm used to cold showers by now but this was brutally cold! I was wondering how much water they'd save by fixing the shower head that shoots water into the wall.
Nothing against the hostel, but there can be a bit of traffic noise making it harder for us light sleepers. Excellent tourist information available and a huge book exchange.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Hi Tracey,


Thank you a lot for writing us a review. We also want to thank you for your advise on the shower head, we will fix this immediately! Water in our dormitory showers are normally luke warm, not as hot as in our private rooms. You stayed with us in one of the colder areas of Nicaragua during the coldest time of the year , making the water extra cold. Fortunately this hasn't had effect your positive opinion on our hostel.

Have a nice rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there and it was the more comfortable stay in 3 weeks in Nicaragua. The room is huge, the bed is a king size one. The bathroom is shared between 2 rooms, so it's almost like a private one. The staff is friendly and really helpfull. Considering the comfort, 25$ with breakfast is an honest deal.
Gracias !

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Raphaël C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBuenaOnda, Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hello Raphael C,


It is good to hear that you've enjoyed our annex building too. You find it to be an honest deal, we agree and are very happy to hear that you share our opinion.

Thank you a lot for sharing your opinion with our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Stayed here 3 nights, both in a private room and the dorm and in both buildings. Everything was great - location, breakfast, nice common areas. Yes, the annex building has a lot of street noise, mostly in the dorm, but just bring earplugs (as I would with most hostels). Met a lot of nice people. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBuenaOnda, Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hello David Z,


Thank you a lot for writing this 5 star review! It's good to hear that you've enjoyed our annex building. You are right about the street noise in the dormitory. But I think it's manageable. Unfortunately it is hard to avoid street noise in the city centre. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews