We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here several times though work and the standard of the hotel just keeps declining, overwhelming smell of stagnant water when entering the lifts which seams to be encouraging mosquitoes to live in this hotel, only in this hotel can you get bitten by mosquitoes several times every night in winter, even though mosquitoes are the biggest carriers of disease this hotel still can not or refuse to deal with this problem.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about this inconvenience and are currently working on solving this problem. Could you please contact us directly?

kind regards,

Team E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Everyone will have different experiences but ours was very good. Friendly and helpful staff members, our room was very clean WiFi worked perfectly.

Bed was comfortable, perfect for me had a great night sleep, travelled with my mum she had no complaints either.

We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that unfortunately.

Overall it was a decent stay like my title suggests slightly above average but not very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marydiakiesemabika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation


Beste Marydiakiesemabika,

Bedankt voor uw verblijf in ons hotel! Fijn dat uw verblijf over het algemeen naar wens is geweest. Hopelijk zien we u nog eens terug bij Bastion Hotels!

Met vriendelijke groet,
Team E-Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

This is my second stay at this Bastion hotel and it's not though my own choice. Once again the standards within this hotel chain have once again met there poor standards.

1) Upon arrival there is a strong smell of drains within both lift wells.

2) Cleanliness within the rooms are low with one of the towels (that had not be used by me) dirty and folded on the shelf.

3) Breakfast was poor with nearly all the food home by 06:50. On one occasion, along with the lack of food was also no cups, glasses, utensils.

4) Awoken at 05:00 by 'room improvements' happening in the room above.

5) Due to ground work happening in the vicinity of the hotel. Twice I had to search for a local road worker to remove his truck to enable me access to/from the hotel car park.

6) On my final day, the whole check-out procedure took +20 minutes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jooles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Jooles,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We will discuss your feedback with the hotel management. Please know that we always do our best for make sure that our service and hygiene are met, we are sorry that this was not the case during your stay.

Our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope that we may welcome you again at Bastion Hotels so that you can experience the quality that Bastion Hotels stands for.
Kind regards,

Team E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time at the bastion, staff are really helpful and friendly, Mirella and the staff couldn't do enough for us, location is ideal for working in the local shipyards, would highly recommend to anyone traveling to this area for work or leisure

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank GaryBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Hard to describe my experience but I suppose ok value for money - breakfast felt understaffed, dinner overstaffed and not very healthy options. It's good enough for a night but then only as a place to sleep. The staff are fun and fairly efficient so that was at least a positive.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlaardingen
1.5 km away
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
#4 of 4 in Vlaardingen
67 reviews
2.5 km away
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
#2 of 4 in Vlaardingen
229 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
#1 of 4 in Vlaardingen
363 reviews
7.4 km away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#38 of 52 in Rotterdam
177 reviews
12.2 km away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen

Address: Mr. L.A. Kesperweg 51, 3134 KM Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Vlaardingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Price Range: RM310 - RM478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Vlaardingen offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms, free fitness facilities and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Vlaardingen is a comfortable four star hotel situated along the A4, near Vlaardingen and the Beneluxtunnel. The hotel is ideal for business guests because the hotel is well accessible by car. Only a ten minute drive of the Bastion Deluxe Hotel you will find the world dock and the centre of Rotterdam. Rooms The hotel has 135 comfortable deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with airconditioning, wireless internet, a bathroom with walk in shower, toilet and a hairdryer, television, a bureau, a safe and free coffee and tea making facilities. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing