We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mangos Jamaica
Nearby Hotels
US$812
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$722
US$574
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$844
US$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
G&R Guesthouse(Falmouth)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$519
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fisherman's Inn(Falmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cassyville(Falmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Horizon Villa(Falmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
96
86
40
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
86
40
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangobamboo restaurantnorthern ontariojerk chicken wrapla cantinaan upper floor roompiano barboutique hotelocean frontopen the curtainscottage feelasian nightcraft storeno see umsbeach cleanerslimbo dancerrum cocktails
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

beautiful resort, with so much potential should the right people purchase it to provide the necessary essential upgrades.
My husband and i saved up for our 2 week vacation in January 2018. A sad event at home made us look forward to clearing our heads and getting some much needed away time. Well, we certainly got distraction thats for sure, just not the kind we were looking for.
Our room was really nice, yes the bathrooms were a little run down, but as long as they work there would be no issue. NOT the case. NO RUNNING WATER. It started out with the first day of no hot water, but no big deal we could still wash up. NOT the case, as every day after it started with literally "trickles" of water (at this point who cares if its hot or not) which didnt even have enough pressure to feed itself up through the shower head, to absolutely NO water. We called again and again to ask for water and the response over the 2 weeks was.." oh, you don't have water? we will see what we can do." We put an urgent complaint to our vacation rep on site and she said Mangos was actually taken off their vacation website temporarily due to this fact of no running water, and the amount of other guests placing emergency complaints, (this was actually a lie, because it was still offered when we checked online). We asked to change resorts due to unsanitary conditions and were told nothing was available or if there was we would have to pay. Mangos offered us a $35 excursion to the blue lagoon and a bottle of wine. Really????? We just needed running water.
In our opinion if you have no running water, how do you wash your bodies, your hands after using the bathroom (by the way, toilets do not flush if you have no water). And most importantly , how does one provide safe , sanitary conditions for food preparation and cooking. If it was not for such an important sanitary issue, we would have had no reason to complain, Never have we experienced any of our hard earned trips to have this in the last 20 years of travel.Doesn't matter if its a 3 or a 5 star, Sanitary and safe conditions must be available to run a resort.
Having said this, we truly feel that if in the future the proper owners take over, this really could be a fantastic resort. We did notice an old man with white hair and his wife sitting at a distance every night, we found out later that this was the owner. Obviously then, they were absolutely aware of the conditions.
Being a smaller resort we made many wonderful friendships with other guests (they had the same complaints" and also the AMAZING staff employed. The staff are truly what made our stay so nice. In particular the mother and son who ran the craft shop made their way into our hearts and will never be forgotten. Should you choose to spend your vacation here , do go see them. We gave her our removable magnetic screen door cover and she was beyond grateful, so that would be an idea if you want to bring gifts to leave for the wonderful workers.
NEGATIVES: No running water for sanitary conditions
MINOR ISSUES: ran out of wine, beer, rum, vodka, water on a daily basis, ran out of food on a daily basis, pool was never clear, always cloudy, the dock, cabanas and the sun chairs were broken and in desperate need of repair.
POSITIVES: Beautiful room, stunning location, probably the best view and location we have ever had in all our years of travel, beautiful small, easy to navigate grounds which were well taken care of, staff were beyond amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
WOULD WE GO BACK? absolutely! HOWEVER, ONLY if the safety issue of no running water was properly fixed, but unfortunately we would never no this for sure unless we came back and saw it with our own eyes. Jamaica is our favorite place to work hard and save for every year, and that still holds true. Just do your research.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank don a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m, Manager at Mangos Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Appreciate you posting a review, Sorry you experienced our water challenges in January. I agree with you, this is unacceptable, resort was gravely impacted by a unfortunate and most unusual local water challenge due to massive rain storms, that said, situation was completely corrected in late January and services are functioning normal. The tour and wine offered was a gesture to apologize for your inconvenience. Thanks for mentioning our amazing staff, they are exceptional especially during challenging service delivery moments, we are proud of their accomplishments and reputation. Product inventories are adequate to ensure no shortages We also see the property's potential and remain committed to advancing its image. Thanks for giving us a second chance with a return visit.. you will see improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

If you are a 4 or 5 star traveller and are settling because if cost, this is not the resort for you. If you are the type that loves nature and weekends at the cottage then you must try this resort.

This resort is older and shows it's age but has a great deal to offer and huge potential. We read all of the reviews before booking and decided we needed to see it for ourselves. We consider ourselves laidback travellers - we will complain if something is not right and controllable but not whiny about every little thing.

The rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. The wood gives a cosy rustic cottage feel which we enjoyed. The water pressure was great and we always had hot water. The beds are crazy comfortable as are the pillows.

We spent equal time at the beach and pool and loved both. We never had to get up early to claim a lounger at either spot as there was always more than enough for everyone. The resort is smaller than most so you can get from one end to the other in minutes if needed but can also take nice relaxing strolls through the garden paths throughout the resort and experience hummingbirds, toads, crabs, the fish pond and other secret treasures nestled throughout.

Meal times were great with decent variety every meal and theme nights. We ate delicious fresh seafood at just about every meal and the poolside grill serves up awesome jerk delights all afternoon.

We had an absolutely fantastic vacation and will not hesitate to book again. The staff are what makes this resort extra special. All staff were friendly, professional and courteous but many stand out for us and made our vacation what it was: Patrice and Shanti we will miss you; we loved our time together. Shawn and Simone were like our great personal cooks creating fantastic omelettes and jerk chicken & pork. Oneil was up crazy early every morning spending hours to clean and prepare the pool. Shavaunn, Franz, Latoya, Miss Marvalyn and all staff truly care about their guest's experience and it shows. We were sad to leave because first and foremost it is hard to leave Jamaica behind but mostly because we won't see these great people until we return again.

One Love! Respect!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank chrissbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m, Manager at Mangos Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

We appreciate your kind comments on your resort stay, happy you enjoyed your vacation. Our aim is that all guest have a great time. Mango's staff are indeed our greatest asset and we are extremely proud of their efforts and reputation, I will share your comments with all our employees We are committed to improving the facility but maintaining its authentic feel.Your comments on food and beverage are also appreciated, the weekly dining program allows change in locations and different theme events with live entailment and limbo dancer however we must not to forget a weekly favorite.. crab racing!! Thanks for taking to time to share your comments and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed at Mangos from March 4 to March 11/18. First of all, Mangos doesn't claim to be a 5 Star Resort. If you want a quiet, relaxing place to stay, Ocean at your door steps if you upgrade your room, this is the place to be. Adults only, not a loud concrete zoo of a place. A dozen buildings, with 4 lower and 4 upper units. Because of it's unique smallness etc., it doesn't have a dozen restaurants to pick from, if you want that go and stay in the larger places that house 300 plus people. You don't leave the table hungry. There are no snacks readily available in between, and I would likely bring my own peanuts/chips etc., for my evening snacking. The cups are small at the bar, but if you bring your own Bubba mugs or whatever, they will use them. We saw the pool being cleaned everyday, however, we did not use it ourselves, because we went to use the Ocean. We didn't use the gym or spa either, so cannot comment on those places. The staff is so friendly, from the pool cleaner, to the beach cleaners, to the bar and wait staff, everyone just wants to make sure you are 'okay'. The rooms are clean and and a good size. We felt very safe on the resort, and even the few merchants that do walk by don't pester you...if you want to but something you know where they are. Also, would like to point out the small gift/craft store on the premises, called Birds Nest. They have wonderful local items there made by the family members. Stop by and talk to Mama....I don't think anyone knows Jamaica like she does. We lucked out with entertainment, which we didn't know about ahead of time, with a lot of Blues Music. Am hoping this is something that Mangos continues to do. Their house band was excellent as well. My two comments to management would be to have more garbage cans by the beach chairs...too many people not picking up after themselves, and if you'd also repair the gazebo roofs. If there is something missing, just ask for it....most likely they can help you out. We'd go back to Mangos!!

Room Tip: spend the extra few $$$ and get a beach view. We slept with our windows open and the sounds of the ocean lulled us to sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 407foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m, Manager at Mangos Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate guest feedback and utilize information at our training and coaching sessions. We certainly do not project the resort as 5 star! we offer a alternative to the large hotels as a small 96 room resort on the water front.. at a happy you enjoyed the ocean sounds… we are practically on the water. Our weekly dining schedule is designed to offer a variety of choices and experiences from Italian, to Pool BBQ night with limbo fire dancer, Jamaican Buffet, Bamboo seafood and International evenings. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff, will pass on your kinds comments. Maxine, “Birds Nest” owner and operator is the resorts self-appointed Jamaican AMBASSADOR to all our guests. We really appreciate her history, energy and support. Blues Group were great and we hope to have them back again soon, Resident band provides excellent vibes! Both local and international. We take note to your recommendations, these will be addressed – thanks for your input… and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

A party of 10 of us just got home March 10th . We all has a fantastic time. Food was great rooms nice and big and the staff there were completely amazing. This is not a 5 star resort, so if your going thinking everything is going to be perfect shape , you won't like it.  But if you just up for lots of fun, enjoy!!  I had broke my ankle and had surgery 2 weeks before I left. I emailed resort and told them what happened and asked if they had wheelchair accessible rooms.  They said no problem!! When I got there I was in room with ramp up to it and right on ocean. Restaurant and bar right there also. It was perfect. This staff catered to my group and I setting tables downstairs when a la carte nights. Very helpful and considerate.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m, Manager at Mangos Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Wishing you a speedy recovery and hope your Mangos visit helped your ankle mend.... We appreciate your review and comments. Happy to learn the food and rooms were acceptable and that our staff were amazing.. (we hear that a lot) We are not a 5 star resort and would never promote ourselves as such. We have several wheelchair accessible rooms and would always assist guests with challenges to get around the property. We aim to provide the best vacation experience to our guests, hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I was shocked at the state of this resort when I first arrived and this continued throughout my stay. Pool was dirty simply not cleaned. The walkways and pool pecks full of leaves/ massives amount of bugs and the pool was full of floating bugs and leaves crabs etc. The staff were friendly but the "island time" was huge here. The gift shop which was the only place on the resort where you could buy essentionals was open whenever they felt like opening as in sometimes for 10 mins and somedays not at all. Then we get to the food and drinks. The pool bar was open from 1000 to 500 which I really hated because if I was having a few drinks my desire was not to stop at 500. Also if I wanted a soft drink or simply some water you could not get this before 1000 and that's assuming anyone showed up at 1000. From 500 to 700 you could get nothing to drink anywhere and from 1100pm until 1000 am you were stuck with being thirsty. Food wise was another issue. At 730 until 1000 am breakfast was served that the dining area. If you were unlucky enough to sleep in past 1000 then no breakfast for you. Your option for eating then was the grill which consisted of burgers sandwiches etc. The grill is open from 1000 until 500 and goodluck getting a snack at 445 because all is packed up by then. From 500 until 700-730 there is no way to get anything to eat! At 700 another bar opens up by the dining area and you can get drinks from 700 until 1100. The food selection was very limited and for the most part it was bad!! My first time at an all inclusive where I actually lost weight on my trip.

On a positive note the weather was very nice so we got to sit out and enjoy the sun.

We booked this trip as it was cheaper then many but please spend the extra few dollars and go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: There were very few people at this resort as its sooo run down no one is going there
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m, Manager at Mangos Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We appreciate guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay and felt the property did not meet your expectations. We try hard to facilitate all our guests. Pool is absolutely cleaned daily and to a Ministry of Health standard with monthly inspection involving a daily review of chemical readings. Landscaping crew trim and clear leaves plus perform routine bug treatment throughout the property. Our biggest asset is ,in indeed our staff and their amazing attention and friendliness, Gift shop is independently operated and is open from 9 am to 6 pm.. will pass on your comments to ensure consistency of opening times. The weekly dining and drink schedule ensures beverage are available from 10 am to 11 pm and while the pool bar closes elements is open... breakfast buffet ends a 10am but our staff will always accommodate. Grill menu consists of a salad buffet and a la carte lunch snack menu. I am glad the weather was good and you enjoyed the sun. We try hard to exceed the value perception expectations of all guests and do so in most instances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews