We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
397
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand small lake delicious breakfast fruit cake luxury accommodation wonderful hosts mount cook south island place to stay other guests southern alps own home ducks swimming tea coffee views of the mountains made us feel home made
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Our stay here was a highlight of our 25 day tour of NZ. The pond, the stargazing and exploring the local lakes was wonderful. Driving into Twizel for dinner and then having breakfast made to order by our more than gracious hosts was wonderful. Tea and snacks on the deck in the afternoon, wine and a fire in the great room in the evening all relaxing and very enjoyable. Another great joy was the spa tub and bathroom with heated floors. The only downfall, we had only one night here, a big regret for us!

Room Tip: Go for the spa room, treat yourself, it is worth it!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank intoclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Gosh what can we say except a huge thank you for an amazing review and we only wish that you could have stayed longer. It is very warm here now so no fire and guests are out on the deck sunning themselves!
Our best regards'to you both
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We spend a gloriuos 2 days in Matuka Lodge. Room was modern bright with a spectacular view, tastefully decorated. The hosts Jo and Pete could not have been more helpful, they are a credit to you.
Property is ideally located, just 5 minutes driving to the restaurants.
Communal areas are spacious and cosy.
Manuka Lodge offer everything you need for your stay, really good breakfast and afternoon they offer homemade cookies and cake, coffe, tea, etc.In general you filing like home.
Could definitely recommended this!
My husband and I love this place

Room Tip: Best view!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erudern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for the lovliest of reviews so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us it was an absolute pleasure to host you both,
Best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We decided to break up our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown by staying 2 nights in Twizel and were thrilled to see how beautiful this place was. Our hosts Peter and Jo did everything possible to make us feel welcome in their Lodge, which had amazing views over the Mount Cook mountain range. Jo provided a great breakfast and booked dinner reservations in good restaurants for us on the 2 nights we stayed (Poppies was our favourite ) We would definitely recommend a stay at Matuka Lodge which is only a short drive from Mount Cook , Lake Tepako and other great scenic spots

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janinea867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Fantastic review thank you for taking the time to write it, love the fact that you found Twizel and its surrounds as beautiful as we do,
Best wishes
Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Wonderful resort surrounded by beautiful wild places to visit. The owner make our breakfast a real experience. They made the difference. Very good food in the village near by. The sky at night another fantastic experience

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank teresaaV4683JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Great that you got to experience our wonderful night sky we are so lucky to be able to give our guests this experience,and thank you so much for your compliments on our breakfast Pete and I enjoyed cooking the breakfast for you.Hope you had a great time in Nz,
Kindest regards
Jo and Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I don't write many reviews but this place should be mentioned. Spectacular place. Very nice and clean rooms. Not even spots on the carpet or any unpleasant smell. In this case, 'luxury' means luxury and that deserves recognition. And it's also the little things like free treats in the tea room, a complimentary soft drink/beer and a collection of liquor you could enjoy at the fire place in the common room after a day of exploring the nearby lakes. Have a look at the rooms with bath tab. Nice breakfast in the morning and two very nice restaurants in Twizel just 5 minutes away. Usually, I don't like B&Bs because I prefer a more private setting... but in this case, you get both. Very nice hosts and at the same time very private rooms as well if you just want peace and quiet after a long day. Just sit in your chair and stare at the pond and the snow covered mountains in the background in your warm room... oh yes... did I mention the underfloor heating in the bathroom...? :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank swen776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Wow thank you Swen we loved your review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.Although you are not too far away it was great that you could relax and feel away from it all here.
Best regards
Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews