We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matuka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Chalet Motels(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Twizel Holiday Park(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Omahau Downs(Twizel)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
376
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandsmall lakefruit cakeluxury accommodationdelicious breakfastwonderful hostsmount cookducks swimmingsouth islandsouthern alpsplace to staytroutviews of the mountainsown homeduck pondother guestsstunning location
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Matuka lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts Jo and Peter are warm, welcoming, informative and helpful. The accommodation offers the privacy of a clean room with ensuite and spa and a view of the mountains. It also offers the possibility to meet with other travellers over an excellent breakfast served in the spacious dining room which looks over a large pond with ducks and fish and then the mountains including Mt Cook. Although the accomodation is a little out of town it is quiet, no children under 18 allowed so peace ensured. We had a wonderful time and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: All four rooms are similar and have similar views they are all sound proof.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much Janet for a lovely review we so enjoyed having you both to stay at Matuka and hope we may meet again one day,
Very best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Our stay here was a highlight of our 25 day tour of NZ. The pond, the stargazing and exploring the local lakes was wonderful. Driving into Twizel for dinner and then having breakfast made to order by our more than gracious hosts was wonderful. Tea and snacks on the deck in the afternoon, wine and a fire in the great room in the evening all relaxing and very enjoyable. Another great joy was the spa tub and bathroom with heated floors. The only downfall, we had only one night here, a big regret for us!

Room Tip: Go for the spa room, treat yourself, it is worth it!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank intoclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Gosh what can we say except a huge thank you for an amazing review and we only wish that you could have stayed longer. It is very warm here now so no fire and guests are out on the deck sunning themselves!
Our best regards'to you both
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We spend a gloriuos 2 days in Matuka Lodge. Room was modern bright with a spectacular view, tastefully decorated. The hosts Jo and Pete could not have been more helpful, they are a credit to you.
Property is ideally located, just 5 minutes driving to the restaurants.
Communal areas are spacious and cosy.
Manuka Lodge offer everything you need for your stay, really good breakfast and afternoon they offer homemade cookies and cake, coffe, tea, etc.In general you filing like home.
Could definitely recommended this!
My husband and I love this place

Room Tip: Best view!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erudern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for the lovliest of reviews so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us it was an absolute pleasure to host you both,
Best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We decided to break up our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown by staying 2 nights in Twizel and were thrilled to see how beautiful this place was. Our hosts Peter and Jo did everything possible to make us feel welcome in their Lodge, which had amazing views over the Mount Cook mountain range. Jo provided a great breakfast and booked dinner reservations in good restaurants for us on the 2 nights we stayed (Poppies was our favourite ) We would definitely recommend a stay at Matuka Lodge which is only a short drive from Mount Cook , Lake Tepako and other great scenic spots

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janinea867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Fantastic review thank you for taking the time to write it, love the fact that you found Twizel and its surrounds as beautiful as we do,
Best wishes
Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Wonderful resort surrounded by beautiful wild places to visit. The owner make our breakfast a real experience. They made the difference. Very good food in the village near by. The sky at night another fantastic experience

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank teresaaV4683JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Great that you got to experience our wonderful night sky we are so lucky to be able to give our guests this experience,and thank you so much for your compliments on our breakfast Pete and I enjoyed cooking the breakfast for you.Hope you had a great time in Nz,
Kindest regards
Jo and Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews