We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of excellent NZ / Italian mash up”
Review of Kika

Kika
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been in NZ for 7 weeks, North Island done, on the South, and this is the best restaurant I have come across so far. My husband and I are a bit foodie and not massive Italian fans (growing up in UK where Italian was done to death) but this place was delightful. The food was delicious, gin and tonic was literally fantastic (get the Source Pinot barrel aged) and the wine great, tho I’m personally not looking for a wine list that includes rest of world, but I imagine the locals might. Service excellent. They don’t take bookings.

Thank Bermondseytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Bermondseytravels,
With such a fantastic array of eateries around the country we are beyond flattered by your review! Thank you for taking the time to write it, we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We came for the lamb shoulder and we were amazed as it is the best lamb in wanaka by a mile and beautifuly cooked .staff were fantastic all in all a fantastic night was had .remember that lamb shoulder for a long time .

Thank old222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi old222,
We're so pleased you enjoyed the lamb shoulder when you dined with us over the summer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I ate here with our son during our road trip. The restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we were a little sceptical. I am a bit of a foodie and was pleasantly surprised. We had the chefs tasting set price menu and WOW. Previously I had not enjoyed oysters and the variety of tastes in every course had my taste buds simply zinging. What a shame it’s so far from home!

Thank giraffes4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi giraffes4eva,
We're so glad you chose to dine with us and that we exceeded your expectations. If you ever make it back to Wanaka we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Kika was recommended by the place we were staying at.
January holidays, no bookings... we thought we'd risk the wait. There was a little wait bit the lovely cocktail list made the time fly!
The staff were lovely and attentive, the food was great. Not too heavy, really fresh & innovative. We liked it so much we went back a second time. It was just as good second time around. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzy-spk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi suzy-spk,
Thank you very much for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Our local friends recommended this place, and they were quite right. We chose the chef's recommended menu, which meant what we actually got was a complete surprise, which added to the entertainment. All the courses were superb, but the lamb roast was the highlight. It was plenty for four, and it was a great example of how good roast lamb can be. We also had rabbit, which is something a little different and memorable. The service was great, including from the trainee waitress serving drinks and a pre-dinner snack while we waited for the table. Interestingly, the local friends commented that the food was different from the other times they had been to Kika, which is a big encouragement to go back on another occasion if the opportunity arises!

Thank RogerP2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Roger P,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're always delighted to read when guests have had an enjoyable time dining with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kika also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing