We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Erik's Fish and Chips
Ranked #45 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Description: By popular demand, Erik’s Fish and Chips has opened our second food truck in beautiful Lake Wanaka. Using only the best local ingredients, sourced from the land and seas of New Zealand’s South Island, Erik serves up our delicious menu in a light crisp batter. With a unique Kiwi twist on traditional fish and chips, you’ll find items like handmade Kumara wedges and deep-fried kiwifruit that’ll keep you coming back for more. Everything is available Gluten Free.
Restaurant details
Description: By popular demand, Erik’s Fish and Chips has opened our second food truck in beautiful Lake Wanaka. Using only the best local ingredients, sourced from the land and seas of New Zealand’s South Island, Erik serves up our delicious menu in a light crisp batter. With a unique Kiwi twist on traditional fish and chips, you’ll find items like handmade Kumara wedges and deep-fried kiwifruit that’ll keep you coming back for more. Everything is available Gluten Free.
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Amazing service and really friendly staff and reasonably priced fish and chips would reccomeend highly

Thank Josiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you loved our friendly staff, and you would highly recommend Erik's Fish and Chips. With such a great review we are slightly confused as to why it is only a 3 star review. Kind Regards Anna Arndt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We had one hoki and one dory, both lightly battered and cooked to perfection. We ate it on tables by the roadside looking at the mountains but many probably take their fish to eat on the beach

1  Thank DrKatie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed sitting at our brightly coloured tables and chairs. It is also good you enjoyed our fish cooked in a light crisp batter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Just after the roundabout heading into town, opposite the fuel station,. The menu on the side of the van had lots to chose from but we went for the traditional fish and chips. Freshly cooked and overseen by Jacob (Eric not present on this night).
He had stories to tell while you wait, including the one about the new van they were christening on that night. We thoroughly enjoyed them. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MAXINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed our New Zealand Fish and Chips. Thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We visit Eriks regularly and LOVE what they do. Fully recommend the Cod & Chips with Cauliflower & Red onion wedges... Mmmmmmm! It's the perfect spot to pick up your meal (without a big wait) and head to the beach to relax! Delighted with the fact that it's all gluten free too- as a Coeliac finding takeaway Fish & Chips that I can eat is super rare. Thanks team Eriks- you rock :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Team_Kinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review we are so pleased you dream about and love all our gluten free options

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I had really good customer service here but was super disappointed with the food. Heavy, stodgy and not pleasant to eat. Gutted.

Thank meganmor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We are pleased you had excellent customer service, but absolutely confused by saying our food is heavy stodgy and not pleasant to eat. The only way we can think of this can happen is if you leave it wrapped in paper for an extended length of time. I have sent you a message to discuss this as this is not how our food is and we are trying to work out what went wrong. I look forward to hearing from you. I notice you are a local in Wanaka and have only done one review so perhaps you have the wrong place? Once again as a local I look forward to hearing from you as this review is very distressing to all our team . Thank you Anna Arndt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erik's Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Erik's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing