We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ark Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Outspan Hotel(Aberdare National Park)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treetops Lodge(Aberdare National Park)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ark(Aberdare National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
47
45
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
45
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holesalt lickaberdare country clubcape buffalorooms are smallwater holebird feedingone nightgame viewingwatching the animalsherd of elephantsamazing experiencebuffet styleleisurely breakfastview animalsdrink watertheir natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

When we arrived at this hotel we immediately looked out from one of the viewing platforms to see a herd of about fourteen elephants taking a drink from the lake which is central to this place.
The food supplied was excellent but the views of the animals was the most enthralling part of the Aberdare experience.
Although the rooms were somewhat small, they were more than acceptable for our single night stay at The Ark.
Also, we were entertained by the 'bird feeding session' and the genert feeding, as it gave us the option to take many pictures of the local wildlife.
Overall, the Aberdare 'experience' is something we will never forget as this was our introduction to what was an enthralling safari experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frankjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We were a bit nervous when we drove into the ark lodge, as arrived late after a long drive from Amboseli (about 6:30pm). However - we should not have worried! There are floodlights at night and you get an awesome up-close view to elephants, hyenas, african buffalo, and many more gazelles and mongooses and other animals.

The Ark theme is pretty cute - the whole hotel is meant to be a boat and the leader of the hotel is a "captain". Food and rooms are okay.

I would say the only caution is that the watering hole is artificially kept throughout the year and the staff replace the salt to draw in the animals, so if you're a purist for nature this might not be for you.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

a wonderful hotel to stay.. nice cosy room .. good food being served.... amazing hospitality ..and the best part, the deck from where u can see animals.. i saw at least 20 elephants both the nights i stayed.One more thing , you can enjoy the "abadare country club which is few kilometers away and can spend the whole day there with lot of activities . Over all quite satisfied with the stay at the ark.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vikrammalpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

As part of Safari tour organised by Thomas Cook, we spent one night at this Ark shaped hotel. There is a pond at the rear of the hotel and we could see a lot of elephants ,buffelos coming to drink water. You can sit comfortably in chairs facing the animals and watch them while sipping coffee.
The staff is very friendly and goes beyond their duty to make your stay memorable.
Food provided is excellent

Room Tip: choose C block which has better view of the lake and food facility is on same floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirudha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I heard a lot of this place, on going there it was just as I had anticipated, full of adventure, wildlife coming to the water hole, seeing them at eye levels. not a minute wasted. the hide just right for wildlife photography. They have thought about it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, all window open to the wild, morning you wake up to the chirping of the birds.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvind_patole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews