We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best snorkeling on Zanzi :)

Excellent snorkeling trip ! Super staff! Helpful and ... they forgave those who were not woken up... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
anek0921
,
silesia
via mobile
Excellent

I had amazing experience diving with them, My instructor Akash was very kind and patient, i got to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dream657919
Read all 136 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zanzibar Island
from US$51.29
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$34.62
More Info
from US$54.00
More Info
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
97
23
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
23
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone town fish mnemba atoll dive master between dives marine life open water dives dive center great diving great trip underwater experience tapas kind and patient three days great visibility crystal clear water well taken care
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2021

Very professional diving center! I did the open water course along with 2 other friends, while my girlfriend did the scuba diver course.

I haven't got any regrets choosing OneOcean for getting certified. It worth every single penny.

I had done several divings before I got certified, but after you will have done this course you we'll realize how many important things you have to do underwater for your safety and also for your enjoyment. All this, One Ocean will teach you.

We did our course with Mimi (instructor) & Juma (divemaster) and I think we couldn't get any more professional teachers.

Mimi is a great instructor, both gentle and firm. She was very patient with all of us, explaining the skills very clear and simple. Even if we had some struggles with some skills, Mimi 'forced' us until we all did them. She is a calm person and she's trying to do the course in a very fun, both professional, way.
Juma is one of the most positive person I have ever met. The perfect way to describe him is with his own words: 'no rush'. If you ever feel nervous or if you are scared of something, he will calm you like no other will do. In this way, he will manage to teach every one of you every single skill. He's a very funny guy, with a huge sense of humor.

The theory part of the course is very serious, yet understandable. The main purpose isn't to memorize all the information, but to understand the concepts. You will have watch a series of videos and to complete 4 quizes (10 questions each) and a final exam (50 questions).
After that, Mimi and Juma assured that we put in practice all what we learnt in 5 confined pool sessions. The theory and pool sessions are done in 2 days.

The other 2 days you will dive in the ocean (2 dives per day).
Regarding the dives, for me it was the best experience of my life.
On the first 3 dives, we did a couple of skills in the first part of the dive and for the remaining time we just enjoyed our time there exploring the reef.
On the 4th dive, we just enjoyed it, basically putting in practice all that we had learnt.
Mimi and Juma are very good spotters, Mimi showed us a ghost pipefish - a rare fish by her saying (for us looked like a leaf and we couldn't spot it in a million) and Juma shown us many lionfish, an octopus, several moray eels, and much more. The reef is very colourful and healthy.

In conclusion, if you are into diving (certified or not), we recommand choosing One Ocean. Special thanks to Gail, Mimi & Juma.

P.S. Mimi, we wish you a happy birthday, many great underwater moments and all the best!

With love,
Alex, Ioana, George & Cosmin

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank protaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
One O, Owner at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Hello Alex, Ioana, George and Cosmin

We know how carefully you planned your holiday and how much you looked forward to your holiday in Zanzibar and learning to dive.

We are thrilled that it met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of our service. It is as you say very important to learn how to diver properly and for that to happen you need to be taught properly.

We hope you all carry on diving as it adds so much to your holidays and adventures.

Thanks for choosing One Ocean
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

One Ocean is a very professional, friendly and safe diving center. I did my Open Water course with Dale, who was the most patient instructor!! I was a little nervous and he made me feel extremely comfortable! Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank samanthabY6887MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
One O, Owner at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Hello Samantha

Thank you for taking the time to review One Ocean. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone.

Indeed Dale is a very gentle and patient instructor and dive leader. He has nurtured his passion for diving and the ocean over the years and loves sharing it with others. We are very happy to have him as part of our team.

From our nightwatch, to the ladies who cook our lunches, the captains and crew on the boats, the guys who drive our cars, the teams in the offices, our Dive Masters and Instructors - we love working with our customers and sharing our knowledge, experience with them and doing everything we can to make them happy. We are so glad you felt this.

Keep on diving - every holiday from now on will be that much more special.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

One Ocean is a great diving center on Zanzibar with two diving destinations - to Stone Town and to Mnemba Atoll. I took one day diving in Stone Town including a night dive, and 4 days in Mnemba. The team was very professional - thanks to our dive guide Chief, and also Gail, Eva, Mimi, Cheti, Hassan and all the others. It was a pleasure to dive with you, and if I come to Zanzibar again I will certainly dive with you again.

Thank you for your excellent organisation, professionalism and fun that you bring to the dives :)

Alex

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank merithium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
One O, Owner at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Hello Alex

We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself so much.

We always recommend that our divers dive Stone Town as well as Mnemba Atoll. Not all take us up on the opportunity but those who do never regret it.

Stone Town offers quiet, peaceful and very beautiful diving.

The entire team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

The centre was very professional, friendly and accommodating of our different ability levels. We did a refresher/ beginner pool session and then a couple of dives with excellent instructor Mimi. Dolphins!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank N2416TLandrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
One O, Owner at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to review us. Mimi enjoyed introducing you to the wonders of our ocean and we understand you took to it - well like a fish to water. We hope you will go on and do your full course some day so you can continue to enjoy diving as it adds so much to your holiday experience.

We are only too happy to accommodate people with different qualifications and diving experience. We know divers like to be together with their snorkelling partners on the same boat. We also appreciate that very experienced divers prefer to dive with other experienced divers. And inexperienced divers prefer to feel safe and unrushed. That is why on any given day we have a number of Dive Masters on the boat so each and every diver and snorkeller can get the most out of their experience with us. Dolphins are a massive plus!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

I am a advance PADI diver (+300 dives) and I did 4 dives (2 days) with One Ocean. Very good and professional operation. Rental equipment is fine and in good state of maintenance (Scubapro). Diving sites will change dpending on the day but usually close to Mnemba island.

Dive guides are good and all dives were stress free. Very good marine life and corals.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Marcelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
One O, Owner at One Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed taking you both out very much.
Yes we put a great deal of effort, time and money into our gear. Any customer is welcome to come and take a look and see how we service our gear and when it was last serviced and what was done. Diving safe and clean has always been a huge priority for us and never more so than now.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews