We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Vacaton Ever”
other traveller has booked this property
Zanzibari Hamok on our private beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Zanzibari Hamok on our private beach
Veranda and pergola ensuite Resting sofa in the pergola.
Former smaller pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Zanzibari Hamok on our private beach
Veranda and pergola ensuite
Resting sofa in the pergola.
Former smaller pool
Outside lounge and resting area
beach in front of the house @ low tide
Fishermen sailing home !
Samosa\'s and dip saus prepared by Pamela our excellent cook
Sunbeds and laguna at the back
Lunchtable @ seashore on private beach
Famous Mnemba Island
Our boat beached at Mnemba Island
Sofa and the laguna @ the back
Private beach and access to the public beach and laguna !
Just enjoying ...paradise ....
Pergola - veranda
Our private beach !
Juma our (former) chef with the tuna for the BBQ
Back from fishing trip .....
Another bedroom at first floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
McKnightJ...
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Vacaton Ever”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This is a perfect spot for a vacation! The owner was very helpful and the staff were incrediable! The weather, the property, the beach the food, SUPERB! Be sure to coordinate your menus prior to arriving and have the staff shop for as much as possible beforehand. Make a point of having the chef make fresh fish and go down the beach about 200 meters to a really excellent bar/grill. Biggest lobster I've ever had for about 7 USD! If going to Zanzibar, this is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The WHole Experience
Liked least: The Drive, But Tha Can't Be Helped....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabral123
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The house is great, right on the beach and with a small pool to cool down in. Staff is helpful and work hard to make the stay enjoyable. Would recommend this to anyone going to Zanzibar as a great alternative to staying in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda435
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was perfect as expected”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Generous facilities offered by the owner. Nicely furnished large spacious accomodation. Location just by the beach, dining possibilities either on the patio or by the beachs requested. Comfortable sitting facilities on the property either in the sun or shade .
Nice to be able to choose our own menu too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Courtesy and friendliness from the staff. Beautiful accomodation/location
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtgmj
england
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of peaceful paradise”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Loiki is an absolutely beautiful place to stay in Zanzibar. The interior is decorated so authentically and you immediately feel at home the moment you step through the door..You actually felt as if you had walked into a piece of Africa with all the art and paintings being so well placed. It was perfect for my family of 6. Plenty of space both inside and out. The views from the bedrooms are amazing,with each window seeming to have been really thought out about the placing of it because it seems to frame the beach and the sea perfectly. The beach is a few steps away and there are plenty of sun loungers to relax on, even some outdoor beds if you're feeling sleepy. You are made to feel very welcome by Mi anne and her husband who is a mine of information and is always on hand for any questions you have. She pops round everyday just to make sure you are comfortable and is happy to run any errands for you. The staff are wonderful, with Tatu 1 & 2 (the housemaids), being so quiet and discreet yet friendly, you hardly know they are there. Juma the chef should have his own restaurant because his food is amazing. The zuchinni soup should have a michelin star, it is that good. The banana soup is really good too. Some days, we had almost run our supply of food down, but he still managed to cook up some really tasty dishes. Despite the many power cuts, we always had food on the table. Nando the driver of the boat and the car was always on hand to take us anywhere we wanted and the gardeners were very entertaining climbing up the palm trees in the garden to cut the coconuts down. They even provided a bonfire on the beach on our last night.
Matemwe is a very quiet part of Zanzibar and everyone was so friendly and polite, locals included, and you never felt hassled in any way. The villa is so comfortable and chilled, we really did not want to leave. Thankyou to everyone there for making our stay so relaxing. I would thoroughly recommend Villa Loiki. I have posted my review on the restort Matemwe elsewhere.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil_fred...
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Matemwe heaven”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with 4 people in villa Loiki in july 2010. The villa is right on the beach of Matemwe and comes with a pool, beautifull garden, a 4x4 car, a speedboat and a sail/fisher boat.
There are 4 bedrooms with anex bathroom.
Food is prepared by Juma. He is not just a cook, he is a chef. The food was absolutely fantastic during the two weeks we stayed there. The house is ran by Amina and she takes care of everything. She is also very good in massages.
Matemwe has one of the best beaches I've ever seen. The sand is like white powder.
We will return here for sure.

Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing