We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
167
111
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
111
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water blue indian ocean beach lodge small bungalows pancakes kite surfers local food dar es salaam hundred meters low tide asante sana local life would recommend this place to anyone caring staff fresh fruit perfect place cold beer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Place with a lot of Kiters due to vave and wind conditions.
Nice staff. Very good food and reasonable prices. Nice beach! Bungalows standard = a place to sleep without aircon! Need to be early bird to avoid queue

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 97j_rnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaschaEh, Owner at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for the review!! We will be very happy to have you again :) Karibu Sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

- (!!!) They use a horrible exchange rate (TZS to USD) so in total we almost paid 20% more than we were supposed to (including the additional 5% for credit card payments).
(> Be careful & know the currency!!! Or pay cash.) Very inflexible after we told them that this is not today’s currency.....
I’m sure 95% of the guest don’t step over it & pay way more.

+ Besides that it’s a nice place to stay, right at the beach. Very clean rooms, super nice staff! Most of the time the food was good. Breakfast alright. Coffee and tea for free all day long. Nice Massai’s.

- No trash cans at the beach. One could make it so much nicer with a little bit of work. It seems a little shabby / run down.
Fan was right above the mosquito net, no air came through; was super hot at night, I slept horrible until I didn’t use the net anymore.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emmalovestotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaschaEh, Owner at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Emma, We are normally very flexible with exchange rates. In fact just this week we changed the rate due to feedback from a client. We changed it on the spot. I have sent you a private message so we can resolve the above. Again apologies for the above, honestly I don't know why reception did not make the adjustment as require. I hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Just went back after 6 days at Ndame Beach Lodge - A very successful stay.
We booked the same day we arrived - and got a fantastic room, only 70-80 m from the beach.
The Lodge area is beautifully planted around the rustic typical African buildings. Basic but very nice and clean rooms.
A very friendly and serviceminded staff and a nice varied menu with buffet option and a fantastic breakfast made our stay absolutely perfect.
We also enjoyed the very professionel massage offered at Ndame Beach Lodge

Room tip: Room 20 and 21 are closest to the beach and the breeze from the see helps cooling the rooms (no aircondition but ceiling fans)
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janogLoneThrysoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaschaEh, Owner at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you very much for you kind words! :) Karibu Ndame Zanzibar anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We came back for a complimentary meal an I have to say that the service was excellent and the food delicious, we would have gladly paid for the meal and insisted to do so.
Thanks Sascha and Ndame for the beautiful setting and great food! Will definitely be back next year!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaschaEh, Owner at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thanks you very much for the review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

The first impression of the hotel facilities could be not very exciting however after couple of days and feedbacks about over hotels recieved from other tourists on Paje you understand that this hotel is very good in terms of price & value.
I was staying during high season in Christmas and NY holidays. The room was clean with the fan inside (common on Zanzibar) . What is different in a good way: stable hot water and electricity. A double double room I was staying was very nice and big. Cleaning in the room was very good as well. The hotel have a great location (not very far from the main kite surfing schools) and also have it's own beachfront.
Food in the restaurant was OK, especially I liked pizzas there, it was quick and tasty. Visiting Zanzibar you should be prepared to the specific style of service in the restaurants (in average it is 1 hour or even more), locals says they do everything "pole pole" meaning slowly without rush.The overall service in the Ndame restaurant was nice, waiters were very friendly and polite, the manager Moses was very attentive. And if you couldn't wait for a longer time I could always just said that I was very super hungry :).
Wi-Fi was available in the restaurant and surrounding areas, also in the beach front.
The most I loved about the place- the atmosphere, all the staff who knew your name and greeted you with the smile. The manager and the hotel owner were really caring and attentive to a guests. All of these together ensured a pleasant stay at Ndame.

Room tip: Double room is good, the rooms 12-15 have accessible wifi
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa_Wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews